Evo General : Evo I - X

Bro oneshot

I read here, a good guide

SwissCars / Blitz DSBC Installation

My gain set is 5, I think is sufficient, too much gain will cause boost spike. Will test the boost setting. My channel 1 the boost value is 53 = 1.1bar. Will set channel 2 to 1.38 bar i think the value is around 60, right bro oneshot?

---------- Post added at 05:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:32 PM ----------

Guys

I am lookibg for a turbo timer. Anybody have it please offer me a goid price ya. May be alexi pen timer?

bro greenmivec
as what i have read at the Blitz DSBC manual that u post here, i think gain 5 should be enough however u can test whether with gain set 5, ur boost should be stays on the max without boost spike..when checking ur gain, better start with ur lowest channel that should be in channel 1 value is 53 = 1.1bar...u can start increase the gain form 5 to 10 and check whether got boost spike or not...why need to use channel 1?? in channel 1 if lets say boost spike happen, should be around 1.2 to 1.3 that i guess still in safe zone for stock e9....all sifus and evos owner correct me if im wrong:adore:..

for the turbo timer, u can try look around at sunway area...lotsa brand new that i think u can afford to buy and no 'pening kepala' for the 2nd hand item:banghead:..anyway just my 2cents...keep up to date ya...cheers:driver:

guys who knows how to set boost controller for hks evc3? i used that one..i dunno how to set..ehh guys..one more mine is engine evo4 but used a evo8 turbine..what is my stock boost yeahs??

Kher

AYC is not a major proble as far as i have read. Actually i am very new to evo but fro i have read for evo ix, the main problem will be the turbine, clutch and ACD. Please read here at drivetrain section for evo 1 - 9. It is a very good thread to read

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution | Reviews, News, Parts, Owners - EvolutionM.net

AYC not many complaints

Bro evoke,

ACD fluids and all oil shall be changed once u have your car. Because the environment overseas is different from ours. ACD fluids do not need to change as frequent as engine oil. Some says aound 20,000km. I remeber reading about it but dont know which forum. My mechanic also told me to change the oil once it looks dirty. But for me better change it according to milage. Pkease click and read here

Scheduled Maintenance Tables & Fluid Part #'s/Quantities - evolutionm.net

Bro oneshot,

I just want to set like yours. Only 2 setting. Channel 1 low boost around 1.0, channel 2 is 1.4bar. Channel 1 is for city and daily cruising. Channel 2 if suddenly a hot chick overtake me with a sport car hihih. For the gain i will just set it 5.

Bro just to ask how to set the warn mode? Is it same with the boost meter warning light setting? It will flash once we cross the limit, right?when i turn to WARN mode the value is 2.45, can i justbset it to be 1.4?

P3jal, i ll let you know if i find the hks ebc guide yer. Stock boost yer, hmmmm not sure la bro hihih

---------- Post added at 01:03 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:54 PM ----------

Guys check this out, a very very nice building thread.

Akuma Motorsports Drag/show Evo8 build! - evolutionm.net

guys,

I will not liable for anything you guys are doing with the boost thing...i just share the info at my best....

'play' your boost at your own risk..some people enjoy to see the boost needle as high as possible although the true power(for the boost) isnt really there and risk themselves..some people enjoy when ohter people knows how much boost he is running....

in the end of the day....the risk will be a blown engine because of lean a/f mixture.. :) ...and these are facts too...

nice discussion , like the knowledge spreads over here... :proud: i've an airtrek and an evo9, and i don't drive it on high speed all the on the hiway... just cruising it 0n 140 should be nice, huhuhu...:driver: cheers...

Thanks for the advise kariayam,

My real intention is not for increase boost, i just need it to make sure that i am not over boost. Since evo ix really have the reputation to boost spike. Therefore the intention of an ebc is to limit the boost at 1.4bar.

Bro khairul agreed.

I see it is nce to cruise around 140 - 160km/h.

Guys, my next plan is to remove the speed limiter. Mine cut off at 195km/h. I have read that not all rsm can work with evo ix. What is the best method? RSM or ecu reflash? If rsm what is the best and reliable rsm? Apexi rsm? Pivot rsm?

Thanks for the advise kariayam,

My real intention is not for increase boost, i just need it to make sure that i am not over boost. Since evo ix really have the reputation to boost spike. Therefore the intention of an ebc is to limit the boost at 1.4bar.

Bro khairul agreed.

I see it is nce to cruise around 140 - 160km/h.

Guys, my next plan is to remove the speed limiter. Mine cut off at 195km/h. I have read that not all rsm can work with evo ix. What is the best method? RSM or ecu reflash? If rsm what is the best and reliable rsm? Apexi rsm? Pivot rsm?

Just ECU Reflash it
The only reason you need a RSM is because your speedo meter does not display over 180km/h which is not the case in EVO IX

ECU reflash will cost u almost 2k if i m not mistaken while thevrsm is around RM800. yes we are talking about cost here. Or can any body advise the exact cost to reflash the ecu. May be 2k is for more than 1 function like other tuning.my target now is to remove the speed limiter only.

Ecu reflash can be done by ourself. Need to get the cable and download free software. There are a detail forums guiding the ecu reflash. But for me i dont have the confident to do it. In US every body is reflashing their ecu themself.

RSM if i m not mistaken do have the speed cut remover function right? Akthough rsm n s-afc is not the popular method overseas, i think due to cost factor, it still the alternative method in our local scenes right.

guys,

I will not liable for anything you guys are doing with the boost thing...i just share the info at my best....

'play' your boost at your own risk..some people enjoy to see the boost needle as high as possible although the true power(for the boost) isnt really there and risk themselves..some people enjoy when ohter people knows how much boost he is running....

in the end of the day....the risk will be a blown engine because of lean a/f mixture.. :) ...and these are facts too...

yup thats true...we cannot blame other ppl la since our ride is our risk...the main point is sharing only...just take a good precautions when doing all those thing...anyway u have post very good information then:top:...keep it up:rock:...cheers

guys

if i am to install the apexi rsm or greddy rsm or any rsm, does it eliminate the speed cut completely?

or still have any some speed limit. since my meter is 260km/h i love to try around 240km/h.

anybody has experience or own this gadget? what are other benefits of this rsm?

ECU reflash will cost u almost 2k if i m not mistaken while thevrsm is around RM800. yes we are talking about cost here. Or can any body advise the exact cost to reflash the ecu. May be 2k is for more than 1 function like other tuning.my target now is to remove the speed limiter only.

Ecu reflash can be done by ourself. Need to get the cable and download free software. There are a detail forums guiding the ecu reflash. But for me i dont have the confident to do it. In US every body is reflashing their ecu themself.

RSM if i m not mistaken do have the speed cut remover function right? Akthough rsm n s-afc is not the popular method overseas, i think due to cost factor, it still the alternative method in our local scenes right.

Get the cable and software,quite useful actually even if you don't tune
You can datalog,flash new ROM/map with it etc
There are even step by step guide on youtube nowadays
If you are familiar with fooling around with gadget,i am sure you can do it(Jailbreak I Devices,Custom ROM for Windows Mobile/Andriod devices for example)
And no,no need to fork out 2k for a reflash yet cause your car are almost stock
Something interesting nowadays is remote tune but i am not sure if i will trust someone tuning my car far away but i guess it's a good alternative to 2k Reflash(Mellon Tuning,Dynoflash etc all offer e-mail tune)

Yes agree with u bro evofans. Reflash ecu can do so many things even the launch control

Bynthe way guys, i set my ebc at 60 and the peak is 1.21 bar while bro aycy setting gets him to 1.3 something bar, so ismdifferent car different setting? I need tomncrease the value?

The ebc has the off mode. Can i just switch it to off to make it set to factory boost setting? Or it needs to remve something in order for it to function as standard setting.

Bro greenmivec,

If u don't want the hassle to have another gauge fixed on your dash.. you can opt for the HKS SLD or Pivot Speed Meter-V..
I've done mine with the Pivot, works great.. there is 2 additional function G-meter and the Acceleration measurement thou i seldom use this 2 function.. since our meter is over 180km/h we don't really need to mount it on top of our steering column can just hide it somewhere else...

Bro evoke

The pivot speed meter looks nice with the small size. Bro my question and curious is, after i install the meter or rsm,at my speedo meter, will it sticks to 195km/h and the speed after that will continue at the rsm or speed meter?

Or

My at my speedo meter, the needle will no longer stop at 195km/h, it will go further to 200++km/h ?

Apexi rsm i believe is the same function but only the display is more to make it attractive. With that big size i prefer the pivot.

And is the pivot meter works with evo ix?

Bro evoke

The pivot speed meter looks nice with the small size. Bro my question and curious is, after i install the meter or rsm,at my speedo meter, will it sticks to 195km/h and the speed after that will continue at the rsm or speed meter?

Or

My at my speedo meter, the needle will no longer stop at 195km/h, it will go further to 200++km/h ?

Apexi rsm i believe is the same function but only the display is more to make it attractive. With that big size i prefer the pivot.

And is the pivot meter works with evo ix?

Bro,
Pivot Speed Meter works fine on my IX. Just have your mechanic tap to the ecu wiring it should be good. Both your Speedometer and Pivot will keep on going even you reach the cut limit of > 195km/h. One more thing is that pivot will able to show the last top speed you had but after you switch off ignition it will reset. It won't store permanently. Hope this explains.. :burnout:

bro evoke i am thinking of getting the pivot speed meter. the small size is easy to place. if the apexi rsm will be to attractive to thieft besides i dont find why need to spend more for the same function which you can get cheaper

---------- Post added at 02:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:56 AM ----------

Bro evoke

I read something saying about the soeed at speedometer and the pivot speed meter is not the same. How about yours? Is it accurate?

And there is some setting needed in order to remove the soeed cut right? I look at the wiring diagram, the speed limiter is cut and connected to the speed meter, so what is i just cut tne wire to removethe speed cut? No need to istall rsm or speed meter? Does it works?

Or evo ix dont have the speed limiter wire?

bro evoke i am thinking of getting the pivot speed meter. the small size is easy to place. if the apexi rsm will be to attractive to thieft besides i dont find why need to spend more for the same function which you can get cheaper

---------- Post added at 02:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:56 AM ----------

Bro evoke

I read something saying about the soeed at speedometer and the pivot speed meter is not the same. How about yours? Is it accurate?

And there is some setting needed in order to remove the soeed cut right? I look at the wiring diagram, the speed limiter is cut and connected to the speed meter, so what is i just cut tne wire to removethe speed cut? No need to istall rsm or speed meter? Does it works?

Or evo ix dont have the speed limiter wire?

Bro greenmivec,

For me the speed is like +-1km/h. On my speedometer it shows 120km/h and at Pivot it will show like 119km/h.. so it not much difference for me.. I guess there will be difference if you have changed your rims to a bigger size.

About the wiring cut, not sure if its work or not.. I wouldn't cut anything from there since our car depends on the ecu much better not take the risk..

Bro i jst confuse abit with the pivot manual.

For our evo ix, do we need to cut the speed wire and conne t to the speed meter or the speed meter can tap to the speed wire with out it cut?

In the manual got to wiring type A and B. If A the speed wire will be removed and B is not. Just to make sure the wireman not doing it wrongly.

By the way bro evoke, what is your topspeed after it is removed?