Evo X share

Jul 16, 2010
i just get my evo X'09 SST version... can anyone share what engine oil is best for my car...? and where do evo in kl area do their service...?

btw... if i use engine oil like Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40...is it good enough for Turbo engine...?

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
bro,
for evo best go aftermarket engine oil... motul 300v, sunoco.......

Turbohead

Feb 1, 2010
Perak
In my limited knowledge, if your engine is stock, you could just use any oil grade recommended by the manufacturer. However, if there are some upgrades already, especially at engine and turbo, Motul 300v or equivalent would be a better choice.

bryant_kuan

Jul 16, 2010
In my limited knowledge, if your engine is stock, you could just use any oil grade recommended by the manufacturer. However, if there are some upgrades already, especially at engine and turbo, Motul 300v or equivalent would be a better choice.

ic, mine is stock... my friend got ask me to take the amsoil sso 0w-30... but i am not sure about the grade... i know nothing about oil, and turbo engine... 0w-30 better for turbo engine or 15w-50...

Turbohead

Feb 1, 2010
Perak
I have been using Motul 300v Competition for the past 40,000km. I believe the grade is 15W-50. So far so good. In a five-lap track the oil temperature has generally been under 110'C.

Jun_EK9

Nov 20, 2003
I have been using Motul 300v Competition for the past 40,000km. I believe the grade is 15W-50. So far so good. In a five-lap track the oil temperature has generally been under 110'C.

u sure below 110c?
i used b4 but is over 120c after 3laps
sorry to kacau here just curious

Turbohead

Feb 1, 2010
Perak
Yup. On a particularly hot day it may go up to 115'C but has never exceeded 120'C on a 5-lap run. Most other times it's just hovering around 108'C. Maybe my oil temp meter is inaccurate, or my turbo is smaller (GT28), and maybe simply I'm a slow driver. :driver:

bryant_kuan

Jul 16, 2010
my evo X currently using mobil 1.... i heard that is not good enough for it... motul v300 how much its selling in msia...? any cheaper oil recomand...? lolz...

ohya.. .btw.. .what spark plug u guys using for evo X...?

Turbohead

Feb 1, 2010
Perak
bro dun try to save money on little things like motor oil. Later your engine kaboom you're gonna need a whole lot of $$. It may cost you RM5xx per oil change but you know you have a better protection than some RM1xx oil. This is the extra price that we all expect to pay when it comes to owning performance cars.

H22-C

Jul 23, 2007
motul is the right brand to use.
if u think 300v expensive, you can consider motul 4100.

i am using Motul-4100, change every 3000km.
no joke, the oil temp drops significantly since change to Motul-4100. (sorry as i cannot remember how many degree it drops)

there are so many brands in the market. stick to motul, you can't go wrong.

the reason i do not use 300v:
1. very expensive.
2. much much costly if change at every 3000km.
3. it is "thinner" so less power loss. you feel more power. i believe it is expensive because it gives similar protection even though thinner.
4. i found out motul-4100 giving lower oil temp as well, more affortable, thicker means good protection.

btw, mine is evo8mr, not an evo-x ...

Turbohead

Feb 1, 2010
Perak
Oil change every 3000km, you very sayang your car bro... I change mine every 5,000km. If every 3,000km then I kena change every 3-4 weeks as I drive a lot and will go bankrupt sooner than later.

aja

Dec 3, 2003
motul is the right brand to use.
if u think 300v expensive, you can consider motul 4100.

i am using Motul-4100, change every 3000km.
no joke, the oil temp drops significantly since change to Motul-4100. (sorry as i cannot remember how many degree it drops)

there are so many brands in the market. stick to motul, you can't go wrong.

the reason i do not use 300v:
1. very expensive.
2. much much costly if change at every 3000km.
3. it is "thinner" so less power loss. you feel more power. i believe it is expensive because it gives similar protection even though thinner.
4. i found out motul-4100 giving lower oil temp as well, more affortable, thicker means good protection.

btw, mine is evo8mr, not an evo-x ...
Agreed!!