What is the different between Evo 4 & 5 Engine?

Qke

can anyone share what is the different between Evo 4 & 5 Engine beside the turbine & info found in encycleopedia?

This topic is solely focus on engine of Evo 4 & 5 only.

Pls do kindly share your knowledge if you do know other differences between the both engine.

Thank you.

the block on support center bearing is diff, evo 4 engine center bearing is same as evo1-3 is 1 whole pcs but evo 5 above is using thrust washer type .. dunno how to say..:hmmmm:

Thanks Jerry but which 1 is more reliable and durable?

Engine parts availability?
Roughly what is the price range for changing aftermarket timing belt, necessary belts, water pump?

Do i need to replace the head gasket to metal head gasket as well?

Hope to bring in more questions and brighten this Forum...hehe

aftermarket belt depends on brand...mainly rm500-800 if not mistaken..ori timing belt is below rm200

fan n other belts veli cheap only.

water pump las time i changed my airtrek.forgot how much edi..it wont be expensive :)

Thanks Kenny,
so which should i replace? Ori or Aftermarket? The engine is stock but plan to boost the engine to 1 bar.

As an experience turbo car owner, which is the cost effective ways in getting a stock engine pumping out 330hp on wheel?

What is the essential upgrade should i look into without going thru major mods?

Other turbo car owners pls kindly share as well....

Thanks Kenny,
so which should i replace? Ori or Aftermarket? The engine is stock but plan to boost the engine to 1 bar.

As an experience turbo car owner, which is the cost effective ways in getting a stock engine pumping out 330hp on wheel?

What is the essential upgrade should i look into without going thru major mods?

Other turbo car owners pls kindly share as well....

if basic mod only...stock timing belt oso can edi lo....

basic one is fuel pump, fuel regulator, wastegate/boost controller, intake and ekzos upgrade

evo4 evo5

injector: 510cc 560cc
torque: 36kgf 38kgf
power: 280ps 280ps

evo 5 engine=lighter pistons,crankshaft pins induction hardened,oil cooler bigger,radiator fan not same,etc

it was not advisable to boost more than 1 bar on stock e4 engine,to get 330 whp with stock engine and turbo is quite hard.

stock turbo+engine evo 4,5 or 6 with some minor mods(intake,exhaust)+aftermarket cams and piggyback or standalone ecu vary from 235whp to 310whp.boost no more than 1.2bar

Truly an amazing topic especially for beginners like me....hehe

Thanks Ian Evo,
is it a necessity to change the cams? i try not to touch the cams bcos there is ppls say after u change the cams the idling is difficult to tune...I dont know whether is try or not...

Here is my plan for minor upgrade :
1) Add a Fuel Regulator
2) Change the exhaust Muffler only
3) Add a Boost Controller
4) Install Apexi Power FC
5) Cams if it is not a complicated work and doesnt affect the ecu tuning which i worry that it require frequent re-tune after the cams mod.(Pls correct me if im wrong)

Pls advise if i missed out something.

bro, u might want to change radiator and all hoses too when you start chasing for more horses.

Thanks Ian Evo,
is it a necessity to change the cams? i try not to touch the cams bcos there is ppls say after u change the cams the idling is difficult to tune...I dont know whether is try or not...

Here is my plan for minor upgrade :
1) Add a Fuel Regulator
2) Change the exhaust Muffler only
3) Add a Boost Controller
4) Install Apexi Power FC
5) Cams if it is not a complicated work and doesnt affect the ecu tuning which i worry that it require frequent re-tune after the cams mod.(Pls correct me if im wrong)

Pls advise if i missed out something.

it depends on the lift and cams specs,idling wont too bad..dun worry.u will love how it idle after u change the cam:rofl:

1:change fuel pump(walbro wont cost much nowadays)
2:fuel regulator
3:get a set of injector(evo5,6,7,8 all 560cc)
4:dun increase the boost so much without having piggyback or standalone ecu
5:no need frequent retune after u change cam,unless u go and change other parts and set the cam.if not u dun need frequent retune.u still can drive the car even after u change this and that,just to be on the safe side so advisable to retune after u add on any part

Im speechless....Thanks for yr kind sharing Ian Evo any others who also shared.

Just a little concern abt the engine performance and reliability after changing the cams bcos some typical ppls say once if the mod screwed up, the engine will permanently screwed as well even if you replace back the stock parts...??? True??? False???

Ian,any favourite mechanic to intro to do the minor upgrade and would love to try HKS cams (just change cams only can ah???)

Btw,any comments on the Power FC ecu for Evo 4? Able to cope with major upgrade (example : 450 horses) in future?

dun worry too much,it still can be reliable if everything done right.

just change cam only can,if the cam lift not so high..afaik hks cam lift was 10.2.but advisable to change the valvespring as well.change the pulley as well so can max out the perfomance of the cam.already got the cam why dun get the rest?:biggrin:if budget not allow then buy 1 by 1 then fix it 1 shot when parts complete.try surf evolutionm.net,theres ton of info there regarding cam.read more

no favourite mechanic,everyone will give differ comment.u might try to pm forummer here evokit,theres many mloc guys did their car there

thinks theres no problem for pfc handle till 450 horsie

Write your reply...