Engine need to warm up or just a myth?

so how?

Those got money, buy a car with all the gauges on the dash.
Those got no money, buy the same car, without gauges...

New car sold in malaysia should have offer more options to buyers.

Malaysian buyers are often "tricked" to ticked extra, or optional features on their cars, while these extra/options were actually standard in other countries like US. MAlaysina buy cars with less gadget, but pay more that other ppl with the same car but with more features inside....hahahah

---------- Post added at 07:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:30 AM ----------

Lights cheaper mah...

hahahah, ppl are fascinated with lights mar.
Like Ah Beng handphone last time. Even attenna oso got blinking lights when the caller talks...

The more lights, the better the product sells...No wonder undercarriage, footwell, doorsill, car door handles, tyre air valves oso pasang lampu..... :biggrin:

hahahah, ppl are fascinated with lights mar.
Like Ah Beng handphone last time. Even attenna oso got blinking lights when the caller talks...

The more lights, the better the product sells...No wonder undercarriage, footwell, doorsill, car door handles, tyre air valves oso pasang lampu..... :biggrin:

Ya lor. Someday cars are gonna be sold with neons as options.

oh, dont forget......lamps that are connected to the speakers/sound sys...

bum, bum, bum, sound.....lights oso flashing-flashing...

i believe warming up the engine for less than a minute is sufficient, depends on how cold was the night before,
it takes me only 30 secs for warm up after that drive off, but of course drive below 3k rpm till engine fully heated up.

Ever seen cold days engine starting (like in Genting Highland), one could see water vapour and tiny water droplets at the edge of tail pipe?? I guess that may need a long idling time to warm up the engine...

My fren's car engine last time was left out really cold at night in the GH open car park. Next early morning, the car was much more difficult to start, semput, choked a while before the could engine idle. Engine cranking was oso difficult as the battery was effected by the low temp.

Ever seen cold days engine starting (like in Genting Highland), one could see water vapour and tiny water droplets at the edge of tail pipe?? I guess that may need a long idling time to warm up the engine...

My fren's car engine last time was left out really cold at night in the GH open car park. Next early morning, the car was much more difficult to start, semput, choked a while before the could engine idle. Engine cranking was oso difficult as the battery was effected by the low temp.

definately....

in extreme winter country/place...the have to put battery warmer@trickle charger and often with oil pan warmer to easier cold start...especially the battery....

I read that Artic vehicles has to runs heaters on their engine fluids to prevent freezing.....
Some may leave the engine idle even not using the vehicle to prevent frozen fluids.

I read that Artic vehicles has to runs heaters on their engine fluids to prevent freezing.....
Some may leave the engine idle even not using the vehicle to prevent frozen fluids.

But you are in Malaysia, coldest I have been is Cameron Highlands on Rainy morning at 15 Celsius, but no problem starting and warming up....:driver:

Cameron hardly gets 15c these days...Sometimes, yes....

a car engine shouldn't be that fussy or fragile but I think allowing a few moments after a cold start before operating the car would be beneficial in the long run. Just to allow the fluids to circulate / seep / do its thing before going full steam ahead.

Though the engine itself is pretty straightforward where it mostly involve the lubricant and coolant

These days, with more complex transmissions, automatic or dual clutch determining a huge aspect of the drive, Its probably a good idea to keep in mind to take care of it whenever possible.

but by all means drive/use it like it's meant to be

Actually its a routine for me to start the engine, then I put my handphone aside, my wallet at side door, buckle up seat belt and on the radio - already 1 min - ready to go..doesn't hurt the car nor the environment...use to warm up for quite long - 3-5mins, but eventually realizes that our car comes with fuel injection, which should regulate the engine well..

Maybe rainy morning in Genting.....hahaha

His registered location Austin, so Austin US or Austin Heights.......lol

It depends on what climatic conditions you live inj.. it is advisable to warm up the engine if you live in a cold place

Unless it's a Rotary, I humbly disagree. Modern oils like the 0W30 oils and all those thinner oils were designed to work in cold temps like that. A gentle drive off from standstill until it warms up should be good enough.

That is why once the oil is in circulation can drive off slowly already......