20V without thermostat

TauhuTauhu

my engine is now running without the thermostat. and my radiator fan is connected to the 'on' in the ignition switch. tat means once the key is turned to on, the fan starts working.

effect: idling damn 9 high, water temp damn 9 low.

a mech told me tht i must install a thermostat. or else the engine will be always in 'starting condition'. just like whn u start the engine early in the morning. too cold, then afr will be richer. whn rev up, the rich afr will kill the engine...

abt idling higher i noe lah, engine warm up needs more time. but abt afr richer...how true it is?
whn engine cold, idling high is because of the idling control valve rite...
only letting more air into the combustion chamber...not pumping more fuel rite?

so how can this affect the AFR?
or maybe in cold condition, the engine will pump more fuel, decreasing AFR. then O2 sensor will not compenstate to reduce fuel coz engine cold even if the afr is rich?

yes, install the thermostat. I also got. normal one lah.

yes, my fan also on max when starting, engine warm up also long, except for afternoon.

AFR rich, I think is true,

O2 sensor will not behave properly under 600 celcius. So imagine lah.

ECU will know O2 not yet wake up hence will not accept it's result.

IMO its not worth it, especially if we got driving at nite. tried it (forced to) for one nite and it was THE most uncool driving experience...

ECU and AFR issues aside, i have a simpler more fundamental point to ponder regarding this matter.

1. It took forever to warm up.
2. The engine doesnt rev very willingly at low end bcoz of the cold temperature.
3. Not nice to drive at nite.

it is a known fact that even under aggressive driving, the continuous unchecked flow of the coolant system will cause the passing water to reduce its heat absorbant capabilities (the water will flow by too fast for all the heat to fully dissipate from inside the engine. furthermore, water that flows thru the radiator without thermostat WILL NOT cool down efficiently enuff before going back into the engine; meaning that it still carries some (not all) of the heat from the last circuit thru the engine. this leads to again.. less efficient heat absorbency from the engine. over time, on very aggresive driving, this will eventually (not instantly) lead to an overheat anyway.

Installing a big, many layered, aluminium radiator with many fans may help, but in my opinion its still a waste bcoz i feel that the altho the cooling is adequate and will not fail... we are not using the cooling potential to its fullest. think of it like this; you buy a 20V but never rev it beyond 4k RPM. Rugi or not?

when u force drive with the un'thermostat'ed temperature (mostly below 1/4 at nite), it will speed up (not by much) the wear and tear of ur internals, bcoz the engine is now "tighter" from the reduced temperature. i dont know whether the cylinder walls shrink or expand under heat, but my engine felt very heavy and not syiok driving at nite without thermostat.

common sense. i'm with the "keep the thermostat" side. use a lower temp racing one if u like, but use a thermostat.

Yah......tauhu, u need to install it lar, if u don't have the normal one, i can give u my original one also, got extra mar...