shiroitenshi said:Thing is.. that's what head porting is for.. to make power above all the mods you made.. but of course, since head porting here is 'probably' lacking.. (prove me wrong on this, I'd love to be, since then I'll know where to get my head ported.. no, not the one on my neck.. or near my crotch area.. :P)
So you're saying that even the more 'engrossed' race teams here are still trying to make power by just parts combinations only.. For me, that should be the realm of enthusiasts lah.. (>.
I'd thought they'd go scientific and play with ignition timing, cc reshaping, porting and polishing.. etc. Advanced theories to play with engine flow, etc.
Damn... (>.quote]
FYI head porting is a must,,,especially if you use aggresive cams + high comp pistons. Eventhough we dont have a flow bench/flow machine, experience mechanic knows how to port a good head. For those who use parts without porting is completely misleading,,,or i can say amature.
FYI,,,there are many good porters ive seen especially in KL. Most of them are drag teams, dont generalize and think ppl with lack of scientific gadgets will lack of ideas too. If you played this game for a long time,,,you can see which one is good or bad, just by seeing the port size, chamber volume, valve stem, valve seal & such. One day you will know if you think hard enough.
There is no secret bout head porting,, for cc rechaping you can go to machine shop either to "bukak chamber" or welding for "kecikkan chamber". For port reshaping there a 2 ways,,,reduce the radius of bending or do straight ports to the head (ZC engine can do this mod but not on b series).
For the ignition timing,,it will base on your engine knocking tolerence, normally tuner will retard 2 deg before knocking occurs, start by gihg numbers to low numbers.
These are the things you will not find by reading performance magazines,,,it comes through experience, im fortunate enough that my mechanics a crazy to do all those weird mods, so i can learn first hand from him.