Double-Clutching

differ

did a few rounds on LDP 3rd to 4th upshift and 4th to 3rd downshift... when i get the revs right, the feeling is really nice... the car shifts with absolutely no lurching at all, it's like constant accelaration...

maybe 1 out of 7 times only made a perfect shift, also takes longer than normal... maybe about 2 secs?

does anybody still practice this even with synchro g/b?

i do ..

once get to know the engine's rev on lower gear...voila! clean and fast downshift

yeah I'm doing that too, reason being to practice synchronising my revs better and to protect my clutch coz it's wearing off already.

what car you driving? I think if your car has lightened flywheel it'll be easier to do coz your engine response will be faster, you can rev up faster and kick the gear in.

yup, 4G93T with lightened flywheel. i can blip it to about 3000rpm most of the time with a light but firm touch.

any other tips to perfecting this?

wanna master this than move on to heel/toe driving later...

but... clutchless shifting... now that's an art! :blink:

noobie quest ....
do u do double clutchin only when u downshift?

clutchless shifts helps you shift faster.. and it'll feel like a sequential shifter in place of your H-gate shifter......

however... downside being... it damages your synchromesh if you don't match the revs properly... which most of us wont be able to match it ...

:)

hehe yeah, that's why those who pull it off..... gods!

was reading how these immortal drivers perform clutchless shifting with ease, left-braking, right-throttling, maximum power, maximum control...

B)

awsyeow: you can double-clutch for both up and downshifts.

i thought double clutch is :

when wan to shift, press clutch
then put the gear in neutral, release clutch, rev a bit, let the gearbox spin
then only press clutch again, then engage to gear u want ...

i thought only neede with those old old buses n lorry.. where without double clutch u cant get the shift in..

Originally posted by sam1741@Feb 23 2005, 08:38
i thought double clutch is :

when wan to shift, press clutch
then put the gear in neutral, release clutch, rev a bit, let the gearbox spin
then only press clutch again, then engage to gear u want ...

i thought only neede with those old old buses n lorry.. where without double clutch u cant get the shift in..
you can use the technique for any car/bus/lorry

cars these days are fitted with synchromesh which save you all the trouble to engage a gear... if your synchromesh is worn out, you may find yourself having trouble to engage a gear, double-clutching can help in this case then...

:)

hmm.. with full 3 pluck racing clutch, this method is a bit difficult... coz the clutch is damn heavy.. need a strong left leg..

very confusing...a while a while clutchless shift, a while a while heel and toe.

which one is double-clutching? sifus sifus teach me pls

actually i m oso confused now.....

this topic is about clutchless shifting or double clutching....

differ bro ... thans for the info

If you're using clutch to double clutch the shift, why call it clutchless shifting? confused too.. I think heel and toe should be very useful esp driving round corners

been using this method , but then i really have slow shift time , rather then slamming the gears in . and i notice when i do double clutching , other car's are going much faster then me :lol:

why got clutchless shift & heel toe in here , so confusing la :lol: :rolleyes: