Clutch chatter???

Enthusiast

recently put in oem honda clutch and oem honda gear oil....gearbox is b16a fitted with dunno wat LSD.........

situation 1st gear launch fine.........once shift 2nd gear when hit 8k rpm and full throttle again got 'kang kang kang' sound....like very harsh vibration from gearbox.....3rd 4th 5th no problem......is this wat they call clutch chatter? where the clutch is struggling to grip, and only manage to get a grip after several attempt?

u mean u got dis "kang kang kang" in straight line n ONLY in 2nd gear?now dis is strange...lemme digest ur situation n get back 2 u.....
brain jam,its Sunday morning lar!!
ahhahahahahah

Yeah straight line drag...only second gear......well sometimes first gear when launching or going slow then suddenly rembat full throttle also got lar.........any diagnose?

yeap....strange..coz AFAIK,if ders dis KANG KANG KANG sound coming frm d gbox,its usually d full lock LSD @ work....but not whn ur drag racing in a STRAIGHT line...cud it b ur LSD is faulty?just a guess..wat gb r u using n wat sort of LSD?
n wats ur ride?EF/EG/EK?

recently put in oem honda clutch and oem honda gear oil....gearbox is b16a fitted with dunno wat LSD.........

situation 1st gear launch fine.........once shift 2nd gear when hit 8k rpm and full throttle again got 'kang kang kang' sound....like very harsh vibration from gearbox.....3rd 4th 5th no problem......is this wat they call clutch chatter? where the clutch is struggling to grip, and only manage to get a grip after several attempt?

I had this clutch chatter when I installed a new clutch.. but no sound though.. more like I felt it at the pedals.

once it worns.. no more chatter.

b16a hydro gearbox....donno wat lsd is inside larrr......came with car........its like....very rough vibrations u know......can feel it on my dashboard and stuff....stress larrr......now launching make me scared to tekan on second gear hahhaha

Maybe something came loose in your g/box, or the flywheel bearing 'kong' already.. but as with guessing, nothing is for sure until it's felt, heard and seen visually.

bearing also new mar.....came with oem clutch set...
hmm... the bearing I meant is on the flywheel.. did you replace that too?

My clutch slipping has no sound (I'm oso on stock clutch)

for me, can just hear the engine revving up, but the car isn't going.. or more accurately, not 'powderfully' accelerating in 2nd :P

If the sound is loud, then it's probably at the clutch area.. could be the pads, or could be something else.

if it's dull, then something is in your g/box like the differential/LSD (it's muted cause the thing is IN a few litres of oil, anyway)

One more thing you might note is that 'some' aftermarket LSD require special g/box oils depending on the type.. (I assume you didn't put in some random g/box oil).. I doubt this is the cause of your problems though.

shiro,
d "vibration" u described is whn u run-in new clutches,right?dat sorta vibration is normal..but dis fella's problem is only in 2nd gear.....i'm stunned....

shiro,
d "vibration" u described is whn u run-in new clutches,right?dat sorta vibration is normal..but dis fella's problem is only in 2nd gear.....i'm stunned....

hmm.. yeah.. I meant the run-in of new clutches' vibration.. Just thought that that might be the case.. but the fact is that there's usually not much sound (if at all).

anyway.. could be uneven pressure plates on the flywheel or the clutch cover... resulting in vibration, clutch slips etc? You think?

shiro,
d biggest catch here is,d owner mention its only happening in 2nd gear....ini yg pening ni.if uneven pressure plate,definitely all gears wud b affected,no?

shiro,
d biggest catch here is,d owner mention its only happening in 2nd gear....ini yg pening ni.if uneven pressure plate,definitely all gears wud b affected,no?

True... :P

Go pening by yourself.. I lari first.. :P
Hard to know by the description lah..

probably occuring at all the gears, but just not so severe on the others?

if its happening to other gears then i feel 1st gear shud be the most severe wat right or not........now its only 2nd gear..........hmm..........its really very very harsh vibrations.........could it be my main shaft bengkok adi? gearbox shaft i mean...