Car suggestions/advice.

I'm trying to undo the uncleness of the car by adding my own bodykits, plastidip and all. Cut me some slack already!

The only way to undo uncle-ness is with a GT Wing. While you're installing the GT Wing go get your hair dyed green.

See!
8yLwbSR.jpg

Wing on the way. Just not a GT wing. I may not want to look uncle, but sure as heck don't want to look ah beng either

Just done test drive the City V and Civic 1.8s. I must say I'm very impressed with the City in terms of everything except for the sluggish CVT. The Civic is obviously much faster in terms of pick up but NVH and cabin space wise, it feels about the same as City.

Another concern is the price of cars after GST. Anyone knows exactly if it will go up or down? Almost every car maker is throwing discounts now. Anyone has a solid answer whether the price will go upward or downward?

m a v [3] r i c k;1064610779 said:
Just done test drive the City V and Civic 1.8s. I must say I'm very impressed with the City in terms of everything except for the sluggish CVT. The Civic is obviously much faster in terms of pick up but NVH and cabin space wise, it feels about the same as City.

Another concern is the price of cars after GST. Anyone knows exactly if it will go up or down? Almost every car maker is throwing discounts now. Anyone has a solid answer whether the price will go upward or downward?

It's hard to say. Take advantage of the discounts now. Even with the 5% GST the final price of the car won't be too far away. After all, other things are going up like transportation services and all that shit. So whatever went down is offset with something else.

It is whether they take away Excise duty and whatever other taxes, before adding GST....:banghead:

I think of all the cars u picked, the city is the best choice considering it to be a new car, there is much lesser risk of it giving u headaches in terms of reliability (not saying other cars are not reliable, no offence), and also imho the city drives the best in its class and as u said just now I assume that u will have passengers oftenly in your car, my recommendation is to get the top spec one which is still within your budget and comes with safety features such as 6 airbags and also VSQ for both spec E and V not to mention stuff like paddle shift and touch screen in the top spec car, driven the previous gen and the current gen, its far cry compared to my vios....TT
btw, pick any cars u want but just avoid kimchi especially second hands one, if u are considering one then may the force be with u bro

SUV lover,
Thanks for the advice bro. Pretty set with getting the City V. Just waiting for the price after GST.
The new City doesn't have paddle shift but doesn't matter much anyways.
Did consider the Vios too but dropped it after considering the stone aged engine and tranny.
I am actually considering the Mazda 3 1.6 too. They are throwing a very good discount but afraid it may be under power for it's size. Yet to go for test drive for that one.

y never consider the HRV? price quite attractive but dunno how long is the waiting list.

m a v [3] r i c k;1064612039 said:
SUV lover,
Thanks for the advice bro. Pretty set with getting the City V. Just waiting for the price after GST.
The new City doesn't have paddle shift but doesn't matter much anyways.
Did consider the Vios too but dropped it after considering the stone aged engine and tranny.
I am actually considering the Mazda 3 1.6 too. They are throwing a very good discount but afraid it may be under power for it's size. Yet to go for test drive for that one.

City V is very well spec. Looked at new Sylphy with the discounts thrown in? Vios is a no-no unless you want God Car®.

Mazda 3 1.6 is a good choice, go test drive it. Skyactiv?

A lot of times for a passenger vehicle, torque curve is more important than peak power -- which is why Campro engines are rubbish.

pwhyze,
RM10k off for a 2014 car.

Danz,
Parents find it a little uncomfortable getting in and out of the car due to the height. Waiting period last I heard was 4 months.

ixeo,
New Sylphy but 2014 car is giving RM9k discount. No idea on the 2015 car.

Will wait for post GST price since there is a 1 month waiting period for the City.

I wonder why Nissan discontinued the VQ25DE on the new teana? They have a direct injection VQ25DD (158 kW; 212 hp) @6400 rpm or but instead it's using a QR25DE. Anyone mind explaining why are they doing this? taking away the silky smooth v6 with a 4 pot?

I wish they would step up the game, use a DSG with their VQ25HR (173 kW; 232 hp) @6,800 rpm, not a fan of CVT

I think because CVT is cheaper cost than the other type of transmission.....

Apparently from what I gather is that the fuel consumption of the V6 engine is really high. Teana's rival the Accord and Camry is giving better mileage. But heck, I'd go with the V6 unit anytime.

Personal opinion is DSG is not suitable as the car is made for comfort so CVT is the right way to go.

m a v [3] r i c k;1064612747 said:
Apparently from what I gather is that the fuel consumption of the V6 engine is really high. Teana's rival the Accord and Camry is giving better mileage. But heck, I'd go with the V6 unit anytime.

Personal opinion is DSG is not suitable as the car is made for comfort so CVT is the right way to go.

If the V6 is GDi engine then it should still return good FC, easily rivaling those conventional 4 cylinder engines.