Fuel Consumption Advice

Well, you are wrong on this, as petrol can absorb back the gas, my cousin work in a refinery, so he knows about this. This cannot work is when the cover is leaking. How do we know is the cover leaking? Very simple, expose your car under hot sun with half tank full, then open the cover, if all the gas comes out mean the cover not leak, if no gas coming out means there is a leak. The lost is around 2-3% only depend which brand used during pumping. We pump fast or slow is not diff vapour lost is still there. To stop this the only way is to chill down the petrol to 10°c or lower, then only is considered save petrol.

haha...well...my 2 cents anyway =P
but the way to test for leaks is true...read that from sumwhere...4got where

lets all start installing coolers to cool our fuel tank :P

hi newbie here..

my wira a/b 1.5 auto can go to 250KM for rm50

city driving with previous fuel price (rm1.62)

consider eat petrol??? pls advice...

ways to keep your car drink less fuel

keep your air filter clean (use recommended or stock filter)
tyre in recommended pressure
fuel lines out of blockage/ leakage (get a STP or equivalent fuel injector/fuel system cleaner)
proper spark plug for your engine (proper heat range)
no leakge in combustion/ air flow passage/ exhaust (do not simply mod the exhaust/intake system unless you pretty sure it dosent affect the mpg)
carburettor cleaned using carb cleaner
timing properly tuned
proper engine/ gearbox oil level

Fuel injection models
as all the above besides some fuel injection system cannot be tuned manually
so make sure all your sensors are working in perfect condition...clean all the gums n soots.
use diagnostic computer to determine the faulty sensor and hav it replaced.
common sensor fault that leads to excessive fuel consumption is 02 sensor and CTS(coolant temp sensor)

other factors would be from driving attitude

opel,
coolant temp sensor?? y would that affect it? =)

ccc8910,
sounds like my b16a engine's consumption liao =PP
consider low leh
=)

ccc8910 said:
hi newbie here..

my wira a/b 1.5 auto can go to 250KM for rm50

city driving with previous fuel price (rm1.62)

consider eat petrol??? pls advice...

hmm.. actually considered eat petrol bro.. but couldn help it.. wira auto gear has only 3 speed so of course consume more fuel lo.. :regular_smile:

COOLANT SENSOR. Usually located on the cylinder head or intake manifold, this sensor is used to monitor the temperature of the engine’s coolant. Its resistance changes in proportion to coolant temperature. Input from the coolant sensor tells the computer when the engine is warm so the PCM can go into closed loop feedback fuel control and handle other emission functions (EGR, canister purge, etc.) that may be temperature dependent.

Coolant Sensor Strategies: The coolant sensor is a pretty reliable sensor, but if it fails it can prevent the engine control system from going into closed loop. This will result in a rich fuel mixture, excessive fuel consumption and elevated carbon monoxide (CO) emissions - which may cause the vehicle to fail an emissions test.

A bad sensor can be diagnosed by measuring its resistance and watching for a change as the engine warms up. No change, or an open or closed reading would indicate a bad sensor.

quoted from http://www.migweb.co.uk

[s]UpErNoVa said:
hmm.. actually considered eat petrol bro.. but couldn help it.. wira auto gear has only 3 speed so of course consume more fuel lo.. :regular_smile:

emm yarlor.. i try my best to maintain my rpm lioa....but still eat fuel like hell...sumore petrol price keep increasing...:cry_smile:

ccc8910,
change to manual 5-speed gearbox lor =PPP

opel,
oh...that
i think the easiest way to check is when u just on ur car...the rpm should be high coz of the rich mixture...
after warming up...the rpm slowly drops back to normal idling...means the ecu knows the engine has warmed up

and yea...making sure u are always driving in closed loop is one of the best way to save fuel =)

LilKev84

warrr change gearbox arr...kenot lerr bro...still studying..no income also...petrol price alaredi make me half dead... hehe...

cari makan susah nowdays

haha
that oso must find good workshop/service center lor...
i tried a honda service center...they oso dunno can reprogram or not TT
maybe go buy programmable ecu...hmm... =P

hi guys.. juz wanna ask u guys...i'm driving a proton saga (the very old type) 1.5...auto (3-gears).... a 14 yr old car... n it can go about 9.5km/litre... is it normal for an old car??? mostly city driving n wif an average driving speed of 90 - 110...

carrera,
you mean this!!!
http://www.autoglobalzone.com/home/fuelsaver.php

good stuff yeah??? can give a free trial? *joking

Opel said:
ways to keep your car drink less fuel

keep your air filter clean (use recommended or stock filter)
tyre in recommended pressure
fuel lines out of blockage/ leakage (get a STP or equivalent fuel injector/fuel system cleaner)
proper spark plug for your engine (proper heat range)
no leakge in combustion/ air flow passage/ exhaust (do not simply mod the exhaust/intake system unless you pretty sure it dosent affect the mpg)
carburettor cleaned using carb cleaner
timing properly tuned
proper engine/ gearbox oil level

Fuel injection models
as all the above besides some fuel injection system cannot be tuned manually
so make sure all your sensors are working in perfect condition...clean all the gums n soots.
use diagnostic computer to determine the faulty sensor and hav it replaced.
common sensor fault that leads to excessive fuel consumption is 02 sensor and CTS(coolant temp sensor)

other factors would be from driving attitude

good advice! you should have implement this with ur vectra/zafira!
ok: how to know the o2 sensor not 100% works intead of fault code?this is ain't cheap thing.NTK produces this with almost jdm car line up.
cts?i put 1 liter and more toyota life coolant inside and its better cooling temp.
you miss this:afs (ir flow sensor) detects the air temp and send signal to ecu for lean/rich fuel.guess what?try revs your car in the morning.you'll find better respond! this is due to afs and rich o2 inside air..this is how CAI important...

Should give more info on your car, but for a skyline I think is like thatlah... If Wira then FC very high liao.