RD2 Fuel Consumption

Baramunk

Jun 6, 2007
I just bought my 2nd-hand RD2 last week. I filled in RM96 worth of petrol then drive around til 388km and today filled in RM105.

My walllet burned 1 hole already. Is that fuel consumption normal or something is wrong with the car...

It's 1.6cc...

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Never come across FC for 1600cc. I can only tell you that my experience for 1800cc, with original rim, you can ride 480KM per tank (city drive) without any issue.

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Baramunk,
I am riding a 1.8L RD2. A full tank of RM 100 can last me 500km on average. Yours seems to be a bit on the high side. But as what one of our members said, sometimes it's your right leg which cause the high fuel consumption.

BS,
How's your FC with 17" rims?

gumball

Feb 8, 2006
Wah...my car consume 90bucks for onli 380 km...
it is becoz it is auto?
please advise

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
I am using auto as well.. Maybe it's bcoz of your right foot?

Mine is 500km on average. When I floor pedal kao kao, it will last me more than 400km at least. Of course, it lasts for more than 500km on highway. Are you driving city area which requires a lot of braking?

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Looks tempting with Honda FC and low interest rate leh.. Hmm.. I m sure Toyota will follow up soon...

ektony

Apr 23, 2006
My 1.8 auto RD2 can only travel 350km on one full tank in city driving. Very economical on out-station drive - consumes only about half tank for drive from KL to Penang. In city driving fuel consumption is where the Koreans lose out to the Japanese. Main reason why I down graded from 17" rims to 15" (original rim size as in my spare is only 14" !!)

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
I'm not sure how far my car can go with a tank full of petrol because I seldom pump full tank.
But RM25 worth of fuel can take me 135km.
More kilometers with Shell... hehehe...

ken3182

May 9, 2007
My car comes with 16' rms, but the FC quite high as full tank can only brings me 380km.

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
ken, did you floor your accelerator everytime you drive?
16" rims? That should be the rims that the previous owner changed.
RD1 ori rims are only available in 14" and 15" sizes.

i cant believe it when someone try break into my 2 month old SGTI at my office basement carpark. Blady bastard tried to use wires and screwdriver to unlock my passenger door.Thank god i had the safety metal plate installed when i got the car. I can see the safety metal plate is dented . God bless me coz the bastard didnt manage to get in but my door handle lock is broken and my passenger door lower corner has some minor scratches and dent. :( :( :( . He must be trying to pry the door with...