Car suggestions/advice.

m a v [3] r i c k;1064607942 said:
Bro ixeo,
No doubt the new Teana is the bomb. I assume STD = Sylphy? I'm trying to find out more info about this car. Unfortunately the new Sylphy doesn't have 2.0L. I'm not sure if the 1.8L has enough power to pull the car.

Bro Izso,
Sorry I'm not familiar with the chassis code of Sylphy, what's the manufactured year for G11? Have you compared your G11 to the current model 1.8L Sylphy?
I haven't sat in the G11 neither in the new City.
Thanks for the detailed explanation. Gotta go for some test drives before I decide. Yeah, unfortunately the City doesn't have 1.8L or 2.0L heart. I'm actually hoping to try the City hybrid but no news on it's launch yet.

Yes the STD = Sylphy. Aren't you buying used? Damn good value on used. If you buy new, Nissan is not a great choice (vs Honda/Toyota) cause you'll be hit pretty hard by the depreciation. Still better than Kimchis. LOL.

The new STD with the 1.8L has an improved CVT that is more efficient or something like that thus it is comparable to the outgoing 2L.

The 2L is the G11 STD.

Hybrid? Forget it unless you do A LOT of distance. ~20,000km per year don't bother. While the City is big for the class, its nowhere near the STD.

pomen,
Hehe...too much potential in scooby. Better keep out.

Ixeo,
I've been surveying for prices now and it appears the new sylphy is going for quite good discounts. May consider new unit if I could get a price. I think 2012-2013 G11 is still going for about 70-80k...new ones are about 105-110k after discount. Considering it is a new model and a new car, I think 30k difference is about acceptable? No? And not to forget lower interest rate too!

m a v [3] r i c k;1064607954 said:
pomen,
Hehe...too much potential in scooby. Better keep out.

Ixeo,
I've been surveying for prices now and it appears the new sylphy is going for quite good discounts. May consider new unit if I could get a price. I think 2012-2013 G11 is still going for about 70-80k...new ones are about 105-110k after discount. Considering it is a new model and a new car, I think 30k difference is about acceptable? No? And not to forget lower interest rate too!

70k-80k? People asking for 80k must be smoking weed.
http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+Sylphy+2+0+A+NEW+FACELIFT+LUXURY+SPEC-33441365.htm
http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+Sylphy+2+0+IMPUL+Full+Spec+Premium+Owner-28053388.htm

6xk, 2012 models.

The benefit is that STDs aren't exactly flying off the used car dealership. It isn't an Altis afterall or a FD Civic.

The other thing is, people who buy STDs probably uncles lah - well off, can afford it, means will take care of the car. If you find car that was owned by a nitpicky uncle, that would be great. The uncles who send car to SC and if there's an oily fingerprint on bonnet also SC kena cucuk. Yup, you want to buy car from those kinda owners.

People who wanna show off they made it in life won't buy STD, probably a Vios TRD. :listen:

Ixeo,

What you said really made sense. I just hope I won't get a car driven by aunty that goes through every single pot hole on the road! Thanks for the links. Will go for test drive in a Honda City first before deciding.

m a v [3] r i c k;1064607942 said:
Bro ixeo,
No doubt the new Teana is the bomb. I assume STD = Sylphy? I'm trying to find out more info about this car. Unfortunately the new Sylphy doesn't have 2.0L. I'm not sure if the 1.8L has enough power to pull the car.

Bro Izso,
Sorry I'm not familiar with the chassis code of Sylphy, what's the manufactured year for G11? Have you compared your G11 to the current model 1.8L Sylphy?
I haven't sat in the G11 neither in the new City.
Thanks for the detailed explanation. Gotta go for some test drives before I decide. Yeah, unfortunately the City doesn't have 1.8L or 2.0L heart. I'm actually hoping to try the City hybrid but no news on it's launch yet.

Mav, go test drive the City first. It's quite an impressive car. If you need more space then consider the STD (sexually transmitted disease cuz Sylphy sounds like Syphillis).

The G11 is this model :

NISSAN_BLUEBIRD_SYLPHY_G11.jpg

Whilst it has very bleh styling, you can spruce it up your own way with or without bodykits. I'm using plastidip and those rubber lips to change the overall outlook of my Sylphy.

attachment.php

m a v [3] r i c k;1064607954 said:

That's expensive mate. I got mine 56k 2010 model just last year with leather seats but not the premium model. Impul suspension is hard so consider carefully which model you want to buy. If possible test drive first. I might be able to hook you up with a reliable salesman if you like. He's an old friend and he's the one who got me my Sylphy.

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    56 KB · Views: 389
Izso,
Did you get your unit from dealer or direct owner? I'm kinda leaning towards the STD now that it has bigger cabin space. I thought I read somewhere that the Sylphy has the most narrow cabin in it's class. Do they mean the G11? The current model STD is like 60mm wider cabin space. Not sure how true this is.

If your friend could hook me up with a good deal, why not? Haha but I'm a fussy ass when it comes to choosing cars.

m a v [3] r i c k;1064607875 said:
6ue5t,
I have driven my friend's Mark X 2011 Sport package model, I must say it's one hell of a car!
If I'm not mistaken, the 2010 Relax model is going for about 120-130k for unregistered units.
But oh well, I really don't wanna get anymore headache from repairs. Btw, the rear legroom was pretty small for a car this size.
It's more of a driver's car than a passenger's car I'd say.

Yes, 2009-2010 GRX130 price range starts around 115-120k. Older 2007-2009 GRX120 is Like I said, it's a reliable car actually. Most of the time only those very old 2004-2006 cars starting to have some problems with steering rack and some sensors, but nothing much.
Yes the car is actually slightly smaller than Teana/Camry etc2. and it's RWD so it has that big transaxle hump in the middle which reduces some space. But for normal height people still ok unless very tall ones like those 190cm or taller. Anyway the driver is more important, right? :driver:

m a v [3] r i c k;1064608002 said:
Izso,
Did you get your unit from dealer or direct owner? I'm kinda leaning towards the STD now that it has bigger cabin space. I thought I read somewhere that the Sylphy has the most narrow cabin in it's class. Do they mean the G11? The current model STD is like 60mm wider cabin space. Not sure how true this is.

If your friend could hook me up with a good deal, why not? Haha but I'm a fussy ass when it comes to choosing cars.

Being 6 foot 1, I sat in Izso's STD before and a lot of space in the rear, but best to test and see for yourself...:driver:

m a v [3] r i c k;1064608002 said:
Izso,

My friend hooked me up with his customer who was selling his Sylphy to buy a new car off him. So direct to seller. I can ask him again for this sort of lubang. PM me your contact details and I'll forward it to him.

Sylphy narrow? Erm. Perhaps if you compare with Camry. But it doesn't feel narrow inside. And I normally have a baby seat at the back and another in the front. I can comfortably sit two more medium sized adults like my wife and mom-in-law at the back.

Anyway, perhaps after CNY we could meetup and you have a look see at my car. Then can decide between the City and this Sylphy.

Btw, last I asked the Nissan in PJ there - they had new G11 models for clearance sale. They were throwing in full leather seats, full touchscreen and tint with bodykit too for RM113k. That's not too bad.

My friend hooked me up with his customer who was selling his Sylphy to buy a new car off him. So direct to seller. I can ask him again for this sort of lubang. PM me your contact details and I'll forward it to him.

Sylphy narrow? Erm. Perhaps if you compare with Camry. But it doesn't feel narrow inside. And I normally have a baby seat at the back and another in the front. I can comfortably sit two more medium sized adults like my wife and mom-in-law at the back.

Anyway, perhaps after CNY we could meetup and you have a look see at my car. Then can decide between the City and this Sylphy.

Btw, last I asked the Nissan in PJ there - they had new G11 models for clearance sale. They were throwing in full leather seats, full touchscreen and tint with bodykit too for RM113k. That's not too bad.

Is your friend a Nissan dealer? About the narrow part, I just read it from paultan.org if I remember it correctly. That would be great to meet up after CNY but first I'll go test drive the City first. I don't think they still have the G11 now right? Kinda hard to find 2013 made G11 on mudah too. Is 2013 the last production year for G11?

I have asked a Nissan dealer on current Sylphy VL with IMPUL bodykit for RM119k otr...I think that is pretty out of my comfort budget.

PM-ed you some details.

Anyway, go test drive some of your other interests. I'm not saying Sylphy is the best and is the god-car. I'm just more enthusiastic about it because I own one. Personally I never in a million years would've imagined myself driving one, I bought it out of necessity and it's kinda grown on me.

Having spent a lot of time with the new City as well, I'm fond of that car too. But nothing beats the 2.0L pull when flooring it... except for a 2.5L or 3L pull. Or turbo. :thefinger:

PM-ed you some details.

Anyway, go test drive some of your other interests. I'm not saying Sylphy is the best and is the god-car. I'm just more enthusiastic about it because I own one. Personally I never in a million years would've imagined myself driving one, I bought it out of necessity and it's kinda grown on me.

Having spent a lot of time with the new City as well, I'm fond of that car too. But nothing beats the 2.0L pull when flooring it... except for a 2.5L or 3L pull. Or turbo. :thefinger:

It is not the god-car. That title belongs to Altis and Camry in its respective class. Sylphy is the super uncle car, cause want to be budget but not lose too much face to his uncle friend driving the Altis god car.

In reality, used Sylphy is the super bang for bucks, same with most Nissan.

It is not the god-car. That title belongs to Altis and Camry in its respective class. Sylphy is the super uncle car, cause want to be budget but not lose too much face to his uncle friend driving the Altis god car.

In reality, used Sylphy is the super bang for bucks, same with most Nissan.

haha, Bro. Izso coming of Unker age mah!.....:rofl::rofl:

I'm trying to undo the uncleness of the car by adding my own bodykits, plastidip and all. Cut me some slack already!

4 pots brakes, 17" rims, 45 series low profile tyres......hhahahhahahahhaha:rofl:

Hmm, got into this late but I sat in my friend's new City fully loaded 5 person.
All are quite heavy. 60-100kg. LOL.
Surprisingly not bumpy and won't scrape. NVH is superb. I would say around the same as Izso's Sylphy.
Acceleration was decent as well, very impressed from the iVtec 1.5.
Persona has none of them :rofl:
If u like a new car, get this. But I still hate the looks eventho I don't own one.

Mid life crisis? :biggrin:

I'm nearly there mate.. nearly there. I bought the car out of necessity though, not out of passion for the car. I only started truly liking it after I started understanding it.

4 pots brakes, 17" rims, 45 series low profile tyres......hhahahhahahahhaha:rofl:

black grill, front splitter, soon to come orange ears and stripes to go with my red coloured hair. LOL! :lol: