BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

ky fei - wat boost u running? btw, the turbo was fresh rebuilt. at same boost levels, will produce more hp than a dying chop shop turbo. this is a fact

ky fei,

how u know the turbo still good? no white smoke dont mean its 100% good.
the td04 used was fresh rebuilt by turbo tong. means its 99% close to ori spec.

maybe its the tuning. overly rich i suppose? too much also can kill power....

um.. whats the setup for proton turbo kit? I mean from the i.c,turbine,pistons n etc.. anyone know?

n can a 4G93NA withstand a 4G93T turbo parts?
providing using Low Comp Piston,Gsr injector,manifold,turbine n a bigger IC... will a PiggyBack Ecu or E.manage needed? for boost at 0.7...

plz advised...

proton turbo kit runs a TD025 turbo, boost 0.35 bar... small intercooler only. Its bolt on, doesn't require any changes in internals. The kit i think costs around 8k brand new... and if not mistaken, they don't sell it anymore. Got the word PROTON on the turbo manifold wan. happening!

4G93 n/a..yes, you can drop in internals from a GSR... but for all the work required, and for all the cast that will be spent... think its more economical and reliable if u just get a GSR and transplant in straight. No matter what GSR block will still be better for turbo applications.

Turbo specs won't "CHANGE" in time. If you don't rebuild it and use the 2nd hand turbo doesn't mean its specs are different from ori spec also.

If the turbo fin is balanced, un-chipped and there is no leak... then its good enuff to be used. IT wouldn't make much of a difference whether or not u rebuild it in that condition.

How i know? Coz' i used my 2nd hand turbo for over half a year... then rebuilt it in tong turbo... no difference la. Then a couple months later I hybrid my turbo again at tong turbo. That one obviously got difference lar... hybrid it with something bigger mah. =Þ

compression ratio

hi all sifu here. i want to ask abou how u ppl do to lower the compression ratio? buy a metal gasket? if no metal gasket? buy 2 gasket n just screw it? o u ppl modify the gasket urself?

speedlover_2005,

u can lower ur compression ratio by using thick metal gasket or low-compression pistons....

if u cant get 1 of da shelf, get a custom metal gasket... wat engine r u using??? stacking metal gasket can be done but its not recommended cuz it will easily leak... 2 stack metal gasket, u wud ave 2 take out all da clips and then stack dem together n clip them back...

ALVIN 24
-so.. if i were to source a td025 turbine how would i match with a manifold that fits a 4G93P? mivec manifold is good.. can it be custom to fit with a turbine.. izit advisable? since its not a turbo manifold..

-meaning using turbo set up similar to Proton BOT kit doest not need to change the Pistons right?

-What about d gasket? need 2 change?
-is stock gsr i/c is enogh? or need a bigger i/c
-What about Blow/off valve can install too or do not need it? running below 0.4

I knew sum1 using a proton turbo kit to his S.GTi.. he claims he has no problem of reliability or Fuel consumption.. He maintain sevicing just like when the car was stock (NA) means sevice 5000km.. n no problem of wacking it so far..

what do you think would be the pros n cons doing this BOT similar to proton BOT specs.. but using used chop shops parts...

i've been learning about FI n S.charge a lot.. cant say im a newbie.. but.. im kinda scared to go the dark side (FI)

Plz advise..

aiks.... if u aren't a newbie... then u should know very well n/a and turbo manifolds are different rite? =Þ So no... u can't use mivec manifold of course. Best is to take GSR's manifold... but u'll need to mod the brackets to mount the turbo on... unless u use TD04 then u won't need to mod anything...

U could run low boost at 0.3 bar without changing ur internals and all... but its still more advisable to plonk in a management.

If i were u... i'd go for something slightly bigger than a GSR... perhaps one from the perdana twin turbo... where u can mount it on the middle of the front of the car (rather than GSR's side mount). GSR's one quite small lar. And of course u'll need a BOV...

if u're running 0.3... i think dun change thicker gasket also never mind.

engine management/piggyback n electronics ecu cost a lot...

N it needs to be properly tuned on a Lamda.. which where i live dont actually have one...

what would be an appropriate spec of BOT that the current 4G93P ECU can with stand... can it go with tdo4?

or would it be better to get Gsr Electronics ecu/wiring/sensors instead.. to go with the gSR td04+Turbomanifold+Intake Manifold+i/c...

does the ems specs runs on the stock ECU or replaced? with aftermarket/rechipped/etc

alvin24 said:
aiks.... if u aren't a newbie... then u should know very well n/a and turbo manifolds are different rite? =Þ So no... u can't use mivec manifold of course. Best is to take GSR's manifold... but u'll need to mod the brackets to mount the turbo on... unless u use TD04 then u won't need to mod anything...

U could run low boost at 0.3 bar without changing ur internals and all... but its still more advisable to plonk in a management.

If i were u... i'd go for something slightly bigger than a GSR... perhaps one from the perdana twin turbo... where u can mount it on the middle of the front of the car (rather than GSR's side mount). GSR's one quite small lar. And of course u'll need a BOV...

if u're running 0.3... i think dun change thicker gasket also never mind.

But we always discuss bolt-on with fren, if boost 0.3 , rather dun boost it!
no feeling de......

0.3 boost no kick la wei.... i can almost guarantee u will be dissapointed with the amount of money u spend, get back so little, or almost no kick. whahahaha.

unless u r super duper sensitif person, thn maybe can la.. can feel the 0.3 G force...

Different peopel different lar... if you're planning to go all out power, better just transplant an EVO lar.

But if u're just looking for a small addition of power... bolt on at 0.3bar is damn good liau lor. And what's best about it is that it doesn't effect your drivabiliy... it just feels like you're driving a more powerful n/a... with an intercooler in front, and BOV sounds to go with it!! I loved driving my 4G91 at 0.5 bar... rather than having to lower the compression to boost 0.8 bar. NO doubt at 0.8 bar its more powerful... but it effects drivability. The engine is not as responsive as an n/a anymore... not so nice to drive liauz.

From n/a... to bolting on a 0.3 bar boost turbo kit... confirm surely can FEEL la. C'mon... from n/a to turbo... obviously u'll feel a BIG difference lar. U must look at things from HIS perspective, not OURS (whom have tasted high boost before) maa...!! Aiseh... =Þ

LuKa,
If you're going to buy a full set of GSR turbo kit... and then buy its airflow, wiring, ECU... and then u'd probably change low compression pistons.. etc... aledi like fully rebuilding engine... you might as well just transplant a full GSR and sell your 4G93 away la fren. No point doing it this way... 4G93 halfcut has so much more... block got oil squirters, engine head ports bigger, shorter intake manifold, stronger internals, GSR brake calipers has bigger pistons, stronger lower arms and crossmember, dashboard+GSR meter with turbo light, bigger flywheel+clutch... and not to mention GSR gearbox. Without the bigger flywheel, your 4G93 turbo will slip easily... and not to mention the 4G93 n/a gearbox won't be able to take that much torture coming from the turbo.... oh, and not forgetting reliability issues.

On top of that... you'll STILL NEED a piggy back ECU to control it no matter whut... else the tuning confirm sure run.
And besides... 9/10 people who do rojak jobs end up with very very very bad fuel consumption.

I had a friend who did that... die die dowan to transplant coz' dowan to go thru registration and all... he bought a complete GSR halfcut, and throw everything into his GTi... end up, fuel consumption on normal driving, can't even touch 300km on 40litres petrol.
After months of trying different things and going to different workshops... he decided... FARK IT! Transplant GSR oni.
I have yet to ask him how much $$$ was spent in this very expensive lesson learnt.
hehehe

Alvin24..

Yes in deed.. having most parts from gsr would not be an economical or a better choice for BOT... since transplant from 1.8-1.8t is no problem at all.. just plug n play JPJ approval also easy..

but im not looking for a trans plant.. just a lil bit boost of power from the NA 4G93 engine.. hmm.. guess have to think bout it first.. id like the car to be running on current ecu n not much hassle of tweaking here n there for its brain..

since there isnt much performance/aftermarket shops from where i live.. i would want to avoid using those engine management... coz no proper lamda/dyno machine to tune it correctly...

even going to find a workshop wanna bolt on also hard.. most of them dont wanna do, they just rather transplant job.. custom jobs they all malas..

the super charger from dragger racing is another option.. but,i find it too expensive... but the response u get is good, like riding a bigger cc engine car.. no lags..

so.. any more suggestion?

jep3003 said:
speedlover_2005,

u can lower ur compression ratio by using thick metal gasket or low-compression pistons....

if u cant get 1 of da shelf, get a custom metal gasket... wat engine r u using??? stacking metal gasket can be done but its not recommended cuz it will easily leak... 2 stack metal gasket, u wud ave 2 take out all da clips and then stack dem together n clip them back...
i am using proton 1.3. how to stacking the metal gasket? where to get the metal gasket?

LuKa said:
Alvin24..

Yes in deed.. having most parts from gsr would not be an economical or a better choice for BOT... since transplant from 1.8-1.8t is no problem at all.. just plug n play JPJ approval also easy..

but im not looking for a trans plant.. just a lil bit boost of power from the NA 4G93 engine.. hmm.. guess have to think bout it first.. id like the car to be running on current ecu n not much hassle of tweaking here n there for its brain..

since there isnt much performance/aftermarket shops from where i live.. i would want to avoid using those engine management... coz no proper lamda/dyno machine to tune it correctly...

even going to find a workshop wanna bolt on also hard.. most of them dont wanna do, they just rather transplant job.. custom jobs they all malas..

the super charger from dragger racing is another option.. but,i find it too expensive... but the response u get is good, like riding a bigger cc engine car.. no lags..

so.. any more suggestion?

yes... i got suggestion... from what you have to say... I would strongly suggest u go for a transplant.

REason being... if like what u said is true... a lot dun do bolt on, and there's no proper tuning tools available at your area... then its better to transplant a GSR and run it stock. OEM setup is of course better. If u bolt on... no matter how low u boost also, you'll still need to have an engine management to compensate the extra fuel needed. And u'll almost certainly need to retard your timing as well for high end... else it'll ping.

STock GSRs on stock setup feels like driving a bigger cc car... coz' there isn't much boost lag (if any at all).

Reason being i wouldn't suggest u get the supercharger kit also is... coz' we've all heard about it... since God knows when... but until today... if u ask them... they'll still tell you their kit is still under R+D. =Þ

alvin24 said:
Reason being i wouldn't suggest u get the supercharger kit also is... coz' we've all heard about it... since God knows when... but until today... if u ask them... they'll still tell you their kit is still under R+D. =Þ

Wakakakaka. i like this phrase

how u know no diff bro?

did u re-dyno?

i have dynoed bad condition (but on outside looks fairly good) turbo wif rebuilt turbo (same turbo but rebuilt) and made 5 'free' hp. same boost same tuning. so there.