BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

the tuning was perfect ^^, fine tune at a dyno @ speedworks. yeah, maybe u r rite, the turbo.

coz i getting 139.6 and urs is 145, juz around 5hp diff, maybe its the turbo. time for bigger ! =P

nope....not bigger turbo. u will suffer from lag. just rebuild it. or get a garett gt25 ball bearing. that would be better. i hear from joeker that turbo tong is selling that under rm1k. that would be excellent!

btw, the 5hp was quite consistant thru the upper rev range. usually a 'butt dyno' wont give a prominent difference in 'pull', only a dyno or g-tech or rsm will tell u the difference....so, alvin, u are right in a way..

btw, if i had the 1k to spare, i would keep the turbo, shave my pistons, install a thick head gasket, up the boost. wait for the turbo to really kong. that would be more fun. and still have some cash to spare (for the new turbo)...

didnt suffer much lag with current setting,juz jk bout the bigger turbo, for nw la, future ..hmmm dunno ! =P will try at 0.8 ltr and c bout the hp that gonna produce, hahaha

hws ur machine? everything running fine?

at the rate we 'talking', might as well exchange in msn haha...but then we here to share right?

0.8 bar stock engine u r asking for trouble. hehe. dats my opinion. u try
1st ...heheh...then after 3 month let me know how.....heheh.....i also planning to go 0.75bar or 0.8 bar, but only after my 1.5 block is ready...just remember, after u up the boost, better go for another dyno tune....i know, i know, more $$$.....

dats y i tune my emanage based on boost, not tps. then even after i detune boost, i still get good a/f at wot, and can up boost still mantain safe a/f ratio and power.

my machine, so far so good...testing out a revised diy boost controller the other day, spike to 1 bar....scary scary.....tried a few runs still spike to 1 bar...very scared my pistons melt heheh...then after few tweaks the controller working fine now at 0.6 bar.

eh... u guys 1.3 running in siemens or mitsu? As in.. MAP or MAF arr?? just curious... MAP would be much easier to tune... and can tune more accurately.

Anywayz... come to think of it... yeah... i never dynoed after installing the turbo. But a plus minus 5hp is normal lar... its not like u dyno your car 10 times, all 10 times its going to give u the exact same HP figures... especially for turbo. N/A's readings are slightly more consistent lar. As a matter of fact... my 4G91 dynoed over 180hp at the wheels lar at stoichometric... then detuned to 170 for everyday drive oni mar. =Þ Turbo sure must run richer wan...

Further more 5hp is not gonna be something u can actually feel much off during 'butt dynoes'... haha. Not worth the money spent. =Þ

hahaha 140db : maybe we shall chat in msn also =P but what the heck, we are here to share, u changine to 1.5 block? gud gud, at least i got kaki on 1.5 block, btw, what u mean by ur 1.5 block ready? got any special ingredient ? from what i heard, as long as u lower ur compression, u can boost higher(dun shoot me , juz what i heard) but i also afraid piston melt :S

u diy boost controller? 1 bar !? omg, thats muz be alot of juices from a .13 le ! of coz if u wanna boost higher nid retune everything ma :S hehehe , i 1st meh, come la try together .. hahahah hw much is 1.5 block btw ? XD

alvin24 : was running on mitsu ecu for my case ^^ +-5hp got differet 1 =P can tell ppl my car 5hp more , hahaha juz jk ^^ when mau race ? oops, TT =P

still waiting for u to bring me for a ride marr... when u starting class?? Buzz me laa... aiyoo.

canot la... if all of u talk private in msn, bloodyhell how do we learn wor.... banned msn... whahahaha

normality78 : hahahaha chill la, sharing is caring ma , got girls fren contact to share a ? oops, off topic =P nice to meet u btw !

like i said, the 5hp was thru the rev range and not a peak reading.

there was a consistent 5hp all thru the upper rev range. very nice. cos its free. like a pnp or a well built exhaust....

the confirmation point was that the torque curve also registered a similar increase.

this was further confirmed when comparing the before and after turbo rebuild curves

in my books, definitely not a one off 5hp increase.

Alvin..
hm.. izzit.. i thought the super charger from dragger is a success.. been in a lot of mag,hypertune,kereta etc..

hm.. looks like i hv to stick to NA for now.. n opt for Gsr in the future.. or maybe sumthing else pops up in the futere.. nyways thanks 4 the advise..

i'm currently driving a 1.6 getz.. would like to bolt on a TD04..

after reading through 22 pages, i've finally got some idea on how turbocharging works.. ;)

here's some question..

1. i'd like to boost to ard 0.5bar.. how to make sure i do not overboost? install a wastegate?

2. i want to make use of my current safc temporarily to control my fuel.. how is the settings like? after 3kRPM + lots of fuel?

3. is it true that fuel will be cut off once it detects boost? cannot full throttle? how to solve this?

4. are injectors universal? cant seem to find bigger injectors for hyundai makes.. can use other brand's?

5. how long is the installation time usually? not inclusive of customisation.. can it be done in 1 day?

Getz... if turbocharged it, damn kao nice. ok, here is some info

1. most of the turbo came with actuator. u can use the actuator to set ur min boost level. u do no really need wastegate for it.

2. SAFC if u can see, there is a low throttle setting and high throttle setting. AFAIK, low throttle setting is for slow or cruising fuel mapping use where as high throttle setting is whn u floor it. for example, while u cruise, it will run the low setting. thn whn u sudden floor it, it will jump to high setting. so its now just tat easy to + fuel on which rpm.

3. this is more on ur car current system. like running map or air/flow. on stock car, these sensor are not meant to recv boost signal or even so, its up to a limit only. so once u exceed its capability, thn it will goes haywire and hence on the stock safety measurement, it will cut off fuel to avoid further damage. for map, u will need to change a map sensor.

4. nop, not all injector r universal. there r side feed, top feed, low impendance and so on. so u need to find out wat type of injector ur car is using thn only look for compatible one regardless its frm hyundai or other brand make. actually for this, its not hard to solve.

5. no way for 1 day. for a proper job. at least 1 week to 2 week. i would to say 2 weeks is more realistic

thanks bro :) you're really helpful.. how bout map sensors? are they universal too?

can also recommend a setup? e.g. list out the parts i should look out for? which turbo, intercooler n stuff.. and the breakdown of their costs.

sorry for the trouble..

a veri informative website..

http://www.overboost.com/story.asp?id=115

er... according to one of the thread posted, yes, its "almost" universal. why almost? coz not all compatible with the stock car ecu. so its much more on trial and error part.

as for parts to look out, its very much depends on what you want and how high u wanna boost. same go for the costing.

i wan bolt on turbo or super charge to my vios...
can any1 give some idea or opinion?
i got no any idea at all...

I wasn't referring to peak... i said on average it gives a plus minus 5 hp readings... most turbo cars don't give the exact same readings every time... almost the same yes, but not entirely the same... which is why i said plus minus 5hp lor. Turbos are very sensitive, the ambient temperature effects the readings quite a bit which is why it is hard to get exactly the same dyno figures.

punktuichea said:
i wan bolt on turbo or super charge to my vios...
can any1 give some idea or opinion?
i got no any idea at all...

read back frm the start and u will know