Boost suddenly declined

GTIEVO3

To all the sifus out there,

Need your comments as suddenly my boost declined. FYI im using an EVO3 engine, previously my boost is 0.8 bar min and 1.2 bar max but after a penang trip during the weekends, i realised my boost has gone down to 0.6 bar min and 0.9 bar max, both of which are at 7k rpm. Hope u guys could help me on this. Thanks

Check for leaks.. rubber connectors.. BOV.. turbine, and intercooler caused by stones hitting against it.

Yup dude..check the rubber connectors and the BOV. Happen to me running flat out on my kancil / L2S..the next day..when one to drive to work...no boost...wehn to a mech in klang..told me my turbine koyak....so when to search for a new turbine and got it replace...but the fact is the turbine was ok...it was one of the rubber connector that had a small tear...... :lol:

wah... so u got 2 turbines now? wanna project a twin turbo? hehehehe.

No ler...still running standard boost..not unless can get ball bering turbine..he..he... :lol: but still cannot mar....using auto tranny.... :lol: where u at? Maybe can go yum char one day... :lol:

I see.. i am ib JB. u? I also looking for ball bearing leh.. if u can find another one.. let me know ya. :)

Me in KL lor...but i tot JB easier to find. I bought my L2 turbine in JB..got it quite cheap....the shop i went can't quite remember which taman was it had a lot of stuff. I remember thay had a front bumper for kelisa..but the light were round...anyhow nice sportlight..lor....

cool.. wanna meet this sat? i m going up.. meeting another friend too. :) any idea how much RHF4 will cost?

Nope... :( ...this weekend should not be a problem..give me a call 012 2651833...we can meet up for drinks or something..... :lol:

Okay ill check on my hoses, but FYI previously my vacuum hoses had a small tear but it overboost rather than underboost. U mean a torn hose could either over or under boost?

Torn hoses can lead to boost leakage...thus lowering ur boost level.

vaccum leak u`ll get overboost and then u`ll hit boost cut in the early rpms , thats what i`ve experience before .

Yup. This was what happen to me. My next project is to change all the vacum hoses on my engine....pretty expensive me think....any ideas where to get cheap silicon hoses in Klang Vally? :lol:

Do they hv sizes for this? Coz went to (can't remember the name of the shop) in Carfour Subang..it's a big... :o .....some recommend SS racing? Where is SS racing? ;)

A friend of mine told me that turbine housing might be cracked or something wrong with the actuator valve, isit true?

Originally posted by GTIEVO3@Dec 7 2004, 17:30
A friend of mine told me that turbine housing might be cracked or something wrong with the actuator valve, isit true?
Its possible. My friend's GSR turbine housing cracked. But i suggest u try from the cheapest.. rubber hoses.. then BOV.. then IC.. then only turbine.

u can try to blow air into the actuator ofcos with air gun lah. if u heard leak sound from the valve mean ur ac kong liao...

bro, i dont think thats the problem... could be the housing but CERTAINLY not the actuator...
but the last time i've experienced this problem is b'coz of the small leaking while boosting n also the vacum hose leaking... also try to check your hoses connected to the piping..
e.g, while approaching 1.2 b, the b.o.v leaks at 0.9-1b.. what is your boost meter reading while idling? does your rpm unstable?

**18 inch wheeler from ttdi? remember the red putra?