4G93T Problem when Boost Kick In

wirafly

Hi all sifu, wanna get advice from you all, I have the following problem after I have upgrade my fuel pump to walbro.

boost kick in then until 4K rpm suddenly turbo lag for 1K rpm range then boost come in again after 5K rpm, check engine light on it this happen.

Check diagnostic tool, show error knock sensor

What could the reason,

1 knock sensor?
2 Piping Leak?
3 Spark Park?

FYI, engine smooth even around 600rpm with clutch pedal fully released in 1st gear, the car running on 3 plate racing clutch, it only bring problem when check engine light on and the car feel underpower when boost kick in. :banghead:

Have you tried adjusting the fuel pressure regulator..? Though changed to high capacity fuel pump, but how about the pressure..? sufficient kah..? What is your boost now..?

More description on the problem please...

Have you tried adjusting the fuel pressure regulator..? Though changed to high capacity fuel pump, but how about the pressure..? sufficient kah..? What is your boost now..?

More description on the problem please...

I just got my car from used car, before installed fuel pump everything work nice, boost kick in no lag, also no check engine light on, after install walbro problem immediately come when I try to boost a bit on LDP highway.

I think I will follow your advice go and installed on Fuel Pressure Regulator and see how, may I know what is 4G93T fuel pressure setting?

My car dun have any boost meter, only have one APEXI speed meter, plan to install one, my friend advice me buy this
http://www.innovativetuning.com/catalog/images/products/ElectronicsGauges/Miscellaneous/BlitzDualTT.jpg
which have both turbo timer and boost meter, any place recommend to get this device with installation?

I just got my car from used car, before installed fuel pump everything work nice, boost kick in no lag, also no check engine light on, after install walbro problem immediately come when I try to boost a bit on LDP highway.

I think I will follow your advice go and installed on Fuel Pressure Regulator and see how, may I know what is 4G93T fuel pressure setting?

My car dun have any boost meter, only have one APEXI speed meter, plan to install one, my friend advice me buy this
http://www.innovativetuning.com/catalog/images/products/ElectronicsGauges/Miscellaneous/BlitzDualTT.jpg
which have both turbo timer and boost meter, any place recommend to get this device with installation?

Well, I suggest u to install a boost meter first So, that U can see the boost characteristic so that u can further investigate the problem.

Regarding the boost meter, I'll say it's a quite subjective matter depending on personal taste and preference. But I would personally prefer the gauge type for the following reasons:

1) Bright, clear and easy visibility
2) Ability to see the boost characteristic during the boost build
3) Able to realize immediately when there is any boost abnormal circumstances
4) Digital very hard to see when boost spikes. Can only know it spikes, but won;t be able to trace immediately. Have to recheck the memory.
5) Can match with other meters if I plan to install oil press and water temp gauge.

All these problems are due to the small fonts and hard visibility. When boosting, with digital meter, have to concentrate on the meter and lack of concentration on other things.

All these are just my personal opinion and preference.

Well, I suggest u to install a boost meter first So, that U can see the boost characteristic so that u can further investigate the problem.

Regarding the boost meter, I'll say it's a quite subjective matter depending on personal taste and preference. But I would personally prefer the gauge type for the following reasons:

1) Bright, clear and easy visibility
2) Ability to see the boost characteristic during the boost build
3) Able to realize immediately when there is any boost abnormal circumstances
4) Digital very hard to see when boost spikes. Can only know it spikes, but won;t be able to trace immediately. Have to recheck the memory.
5) Can match with other meters if I plan to install oil press and water temp gauge.

All these problems are due to the small fonts and hard visibility. When boosting, with digital meter, have to concentrate on the meter and lack of concentration on other things.

All these are just my personal opinion and preference.

I agree with you, I think I will go source a gauge type boost meter, may I know roughly how much does it cost and normally how much machanic charge for installation? really appreciate advice from you, thanks, :)

THere are different brands and makes in the market like Defi, GREDDY, BLITZ, SARD, Autogauge, Omoris and etc.Defferent brand, different design... Again depends on your personal preference and taste. But the taiwanese brands are not bad at all. I am using Autogauge, personally thinks it's quite good.

I suggest u go for electronic boost meters than mechanical boost meter. They are more precise and responsive.

Some of the merchandiser in zth are quite reasonable.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/interior-and-cockpit/255885-sports-meter-defi-style.html

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/interior-and-cockpit/256450-osiris-meter-offer.html

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...gauge-stepper-motor-swiss-movement-gauge.html

hey bro..wondering if i can get the autogauges meters anywhere...3 pieces..water temp n oil..??

Do a boost leak test to find any boost leak. what mod have u done to your car? still using SMIC? or FMIC? what about your injectors? the walbro FP feed to much fuel inside your engine, you should buy an adjustable fuel regulator for the fuel ratio to be in correct order ( i dont know base fuel pressure for GSR so it is best you search, for VR4 is 37 psi and 43 psi for EVO). please list down all your mods so that we can help. the best is to get SAFC or other management that could help in the tuning. i hate knock , if the knock happen while we are on the run, better raise the white flag. :biggrin:

I suggest u go for electronic boost meters than mechanical boost meter. They are more precise and responsive.

Yes, I am think get Autogauge electronic boost meter, may I know how much labour workshop will charge on the installation? how to differentiate am electronic and machanical meter? :)

Do a boost leak test to find any boost leak. what mod have u done to your car? still using SMIC? or FMIC? what about your injectors? the walbro FP feed to much fuel inside your engine, you should buy an adjustable fuel regulator for the fuel ratio to be in correct order ( i dont know base fuel pressure for GSR so it is best you search, for VR4 is 37 psi and 43 psi for EVO). please list down all your mods so that we can help. the best is to get SAFC or other management that could help in the tuning. i hate knock , if the knock happen while we are on the run, better raise the white flag. :biggrin:

My car stock standard, first upgrade is walbro fuel pump, before upgrade everything working fine, so now have to narrow down the problem to know what is the cause, but I think could be the fuel pressure problem, will try to get an after market fuel pressure regulator after chinese new year, see whether able to solve the problem.

Any sifu here can share with me what is the stock fuel pressure for 4G93T?

Yes, I am think get Autogauge electronic boost meter, may I know how much labour workshop will charge on the installation? how to differentiate am electronic and machanical meter? :)

The electronic boost meter comes with a sensor/solenoid... Most obvious is signal wire that goes to the gauge. Not vacumn hose. No Vacumn hose to be connected on the gauge. Gauge will not work without DC supply.

The mechanical gauge, blow the hose connector on the gauge, can see reading without DC supply.

The installation <RM100. Depending on shop. Bro, easy lar... manual given. DIY lor..

The electronic boost meter comes with a sensor/solenoid... Most obvious is signal wire that goes to the gauge. Not vacumn hose. No Vacumn hose to be connected on the gauge. Gauge will not work without DC supply.

The mechanical gauge, blow the hose connector on the gauge, can see reading without DC supply.

The installation quote]

:biggrin:, it sound easy to install and I also those people prefer DIY, I will try to source one and install, good luck to me, :biggrin:

make sure the walbro u installed is an genuine item, theres imitation walbros selling out there, if ur problem out from no where....i guess the prob shub be based on ur fuelpump, scare u running lean now which can make u lag is one of the reason...!!

THere are different brands and makes in the market like Defi, GREDDY, BLITZ, SARD, Autogauge, Omoris and etc.Defferent brand, different design... Again depends on your personal preference and taste. But the taiwanese brands are not bad at all. I am using Autogauge, personally thinks it's quite good.

Some of the merchandiser in zth are quite reasonable.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/interior-and-cockpit/255885-sports-meter-defi-style.html

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/interior-and-cockpit/256450-osiris-meter-offer.html

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...gauge-stepper-motor-swiss-movement-gauge.html
precision of boost meter dont have anything to do with being electronic or mechanical, its calibration that matters, but heck, no body even bother to calibrate their boost meter..
A manual boost meter is independent, hence no electrical or related issues.. an electronic one is neater as u dont need to run a hose to the meter, onli wires which are easier to manage. and it usually looks better in design.

a case of overfueling, me thinks..

y did u have to go and change things when everything was working find? y did u changed the fuel pump?

try our Ps-powersport Air fuel enhancer type 2 and Ps-powersport Fuel flow stabilizer.
this will definitely solve all ur problems. With these items, ur car will get perfect tuning and ull response. for more info, pls log in into our website:www.ps-powersport.com or call sam 016-8121121.

You will amazed and shock once u use Ps-powersport Products.
Ps-powersport will provide every response u need. once u get the response, ur hp will definitely automatically increased.I gurantee.

Walbro fuel pump is good and too good. When boosting, it will pump in lots more
fuel into your system. The problem is, you are having a oem system intact and
there is no way to alte the fuelling.

Get yourself the E-manage at least and those problem can be sorted out. It's
just a normal issue when using walbro with oem.

Can be easily rectified.