Bonnet Hijack

kob3bryant

okay,i saw a lot of ppl hijack their bonnet?so wat is this for?can lure the hot air come out faster?my bro-in-law did hijack before but his alarm spoiled(maybe water flowed in) and luckily under warranty so he undo it and send to claim warranty.

I think its to let hot air out ( not sure) . Maybe in some cases when the do transplant n the bonnet cannot clear the engine the raise the hood.

yes, its for better air circulation so that hot air can flow out... u need to jack up jz enough for hot air to come out while prevent water from seeping in... i see more n more cars are doing it, even stock standard cars... haha... dont know why...

If you mean the bonnet hinge is raised therefore making it look like its not close tightly?

To be really honest, i think it looks weird. And i don't see how does it circulate hot air out.

hijack hood??hijack=car jack=stolen??

i dont understand the language communication.

if as what prodigy also said, a "raised" hood of a hood/bonnet with scoop is "theoretically to allow more air to an intercooler i.e. subaru WRX"

else it hardly assist much as the radiator fans are suppose to be able to cope unless faulty temp sensors/heavily mooded engine/trasplant into a smaller engine bay.

try travelling over 180kmh with a slightly raised hood (unhinged) will most likely see the hood flung open.

at 1st i thot that nowadays ppl like to hijack as in steal bonnets....my friend experienced a stolen bonnet too...slowly scrolled down n found out its 'raised' bonnets...lol

HIJACKED..i thought stolen ...
its JACKED UP..
lot of ppl do it to make it look garang...haha..

Bonnet Hijack? Who's bonnet kena Hijack lah? When and where did it happen? Was it a carbon fibre bonnet?

I also know of somebody whose carbon fibre bonnet got stolen even when his car was parked inside his house. Those thieves climbed into his house and dismantled the CF hood from his car and rode off with it on a motorbike ( CF Hood very light ).

InitialD said:
Bonnet Hijack? Who's bonnet kena Hijack lah? When and where did it happen? Was it a carbon fibre bonnet?

I also know of somebody whose carbon fibre bonnet got stolen even when his car was parked inside his house. Those thieves climbed into his house and dismantled the CF hood from his car and rode off with it on a motorbike ( CF Hood very light ).

reminds me of someone i know as well.. :Not_Impressed:

InitialD said:

now that's the real bonnet hijack.

in my defence...my engine was touching the hood...so i need to raise...a bit only nia :P

Kodiak_gbl said:
I think its to let hot air out ( not sure) . Maybe in some cases when the do transplant n the bonnet cannot clear the engine the raise the hood.

i don't see how raising the hood can let hot air out. when travelling at high speeds an air pocket will form and the hot air will be trapped inside the engine bay so no point. same theory as convertibles. ever tried raising the windows with the top down. it gets really hot. the only thing raising the hood does is create drag (correct me if im wrong).

try sticking a few piece of paper (1cmx5cm) at the end of the hood near the windscreen... slowly accelerate ur car... at first, u will see the papers flying up... as speed increases, the paper will get sucked inside...
demonstrated by ninja_iga before (as he claimed)... i guess that is why aircond ducts (correct ar??.. some kinda lubang la) are located there...

SkYwAlKeR said:
try sticking a few piece of paper (1cmx5cm) at the end of the hood near the windscreen... slowly accelerate ur car... at first, u will see the papers flying up... as speed increases, the paper will get sucked inside...
demonstrated by ninja_iga before (as he claimed)... i guess that is why aircond ducts (correct ar??.. some kinda lubang la) are located there...

not sure wei.....but from what i know...no air enters...same thing in formula one cars...all tho got no roof...its freakin hot inside...because all the air passes on the top in a straight line creating an air pocket inside the car.

Stealing bonnets is not new... since prices of metal have gone up... hell, they even started stealing exhaust tip or steel tire caps!

Write your reply...