BMW E36, Perdana V6, Honda CF4

MrHan said:
I think these facts are not quite the truth... I mean, how could a beemer E36 be less powerful than the other 2??

FYI, E36 (318i) the worst power to weight ever. Of course due to the 1.8cc, as compared with CF4 (2.0cc DOHC vtec) or V6 (2.0cc V6 engine)... not considering other factors yet.

aja said:
FYI, E36 (318i) the worst power to weight ever. Of course due to the 1.8cc, as compared with CF4 (2.0cc DOHC vtec) or V6 (2.0cc V6 engine)... not considering other factors yet.

Dont agree much with you

Did u touch on handling?
the class, reputation?
between the three, bmw has the lowest possibility of having a faulthy g/box

Be fair,
Honda has the least reliable engine
Perdana V6 is early 1990's technology, has the least class
BMW 318 (y must only take 318 not 325) has an unbalance weight to power

see the good part,
honda has alot of parts although expensive and it is a japs car
v6 cost wise maintainance wise parts wise
Bimmer has healthy top speed the looks and the reputation

btw im now driving a 180sx and running on a project bmw individual throttle turbocharged

get bmw.. i guess u don race everyday right?
actually v6's maintanance quite high also.. it depends on how u look at it.. bimmers parts always quality guarantee..

rps13_R said:
Dont agree much with you

Did u touch on handling? *****
the class, reputation?
between the three, bmw has the lowest possibility of having a faulthy g/box ****

Be fair,
Honda has the least reliable engine ***
Perdana V6 is early 1990's technology, has the least class
BMW 318 (y must only take 318 not 325) has an unbalance weight to power *

see the good part,
honda has alot of parts although expensive and it is a japs car
v6 cost wise maintainance wise parts wise
Bimmer has healthy top speed the looks and the reputation**

btw im now driving a 180sx and running on a project bmw individual throttle turbocharged

*This survey based on E36 318,as requested by the surveyor to respondent. That y e36 318 was nominated. If E36 325, then it's different story already.

** If we are talking about e36 318, then your data would be mistaken. If e36 325, the different story liao. Even for E36 325, the topspeed would be around max 240kmh only. very rare can go more than that!! FYI, BMW e46 328 topped at around 248kmh and X5 4.6xx topped at around 255kmh (stock standard)

*** Agree with u. BTW, my response based on the gearbox, not the engine cause assuming u keep the engine stock std, by right it won't give much problem on realibility except for wear & tear. Gearbox does.

**** FYI, most of AB E46 325/328 (especially 328) has the worst quality gearbox ever. That y, i u notice, not many E46 328 around. Only a few 325. But since the survey looks into e36 318, the problem exposure is lesser.

***** Updated on Handling & Comfortability :-
Low = V6
Medium = CF4, E36 318
High = None

rps13_R said:
in the end i will choose bmw for its comfortness

Yeah, u are right. Or other option for comfortness is go for CF4.

rps13_R said:

If u intend to go for BMW turbo-charging, be prepared at least RM24k for the turbo-charging kit, if i'm not mistaken. Realibility is another issue to be foreseen.

..well as the budget is around 70k..and u want a good car..i would suggest u forget the V6 perdana..as it is plagued with problems...just the other day i saw a V6 getting its engine mounting changed and was hardly 2 year old. we all know that it has gearbox problems as well..

if want the bmw..try to go for 328 or 325..both also fit into ur budget..
the accord CF4 is a good car..and reliable as well...its got a great package..and loads of extra on the inside..i think the most modern of all three cars here...

maybe u wanna try other cars that u can get for 70k...u are looking for a comfortable sedan rite??...u can try the camry as well..

perdanav6 maint quite high...definitely higher then e36 318.
the last 2 batch of e36 comes with digital aircond and more electronic which is end of 96 above.power wise compare to older year e36 is better.as for e46,...u seldom see 328 is because it came out year 1999 and ended at year 2000 because they came out with the new engine.the 328 is replaced by 325 which is only 1hp different.the 318 is replaced in 2002 if im not mistaken by a 2liter valve tronic engine,power much better then the previous 318.now the latest bmw has the latest generation engine which provide more then 200hp in the 325(thats what i heard).
dont flame ya..just what i know

hi guys..

wow, what a reply i received from all of you, especially all the senior member's. thx bro.. anyway, as i c all the coment, i little bit confius, cos, for me, e36, v6 and cf4 all the same interm of maintenance and etc. r there is true..
and, how much the cost for roadtax for 325 ? and how bout the fuel, thirsty or same as the rest. and how bout the part's? r there expensive and difficult to find or what..

ok, for honda, which one the best, inspire or legend and cf4? in terms of parts?

and for v6, e36 and cf4 the parts price are the same or what?

when we plan to use a 2 litre car or of bigger size, parts and maintenance wud be least asked, as our wallet and bank accountell must be well prepared. :D same goes if we wanna play turbo and such

to me, of all honda sedan, i like Inspire the best. the most luxurious accord. 2nd best wud be Vigor. Legend is not an Accord, its the largest Honda Sedan. the present one if not mistaken is using a detuned 3.2 V6 from NSX.