Perdana or BMW?

Lol i agree. BMW maintainance is high but the Perdana V6 also is no exception but you be able to get spare parts cheaper for the Perdana V6 rather than the bimmer. If you want a car to take you from point A to point B with lower maintainance I would suggest the Perdana V6 cause power and torque also ok. But beware with the Perdana's gearbox. It might cause some problems. But anyway is up to you to decide. I'm jusgiving my opinion. Haha. Good Luck in choosing your daily ride.:driver:

Can i give you an honest opinion?
I have driven 2 perdanas...both V6.......very very very very bad experience.
So "Kau" that every time i see a perdana, i feel so angry!!!! :(

First one, new car, engine blew......
2nd one...new car...2006....gearbox pecah......spent RM 3K plus to fix it......3 months later.....it blew again..........now i'm so fed up with it that i decided to throw it away -_-;

No offense to anyone, just wanted to share my opinion heh
haven't done any modifications on it, cuz it's not my daily car, but with the petrol consumption so bad, i'm getting a BM this month hahaha hopefully, just hopefully!! it won't make me bankrupt from fixing it all the time :(

I dont understand why you had such a bad experience with the v6 , perhaps a more agressive driving style , then a sports car would suit better. I agree that the perdana v6 has no power but the petrol consumption is very good . A full tank of Rm [email protected]/litre can easily clock me 450km to 500 town driving (10L/100km ) . If its highway driving ( 120-140km/h ) it would clock at least 650km. KL - Penang would take less than half tank of fuel.

the perdana is already 9 years old and its still the original Gearbox and engine. it really ain't a high maintenance car. ( compared to a BMW of course )

In comparison with the E60 525i ... my average would be 11.9L/100km ( measured by the trip computer ) , older beemers fare much worse in fuel consumption . ( compare e34 and e39 , not sure bout the e36 . e46 )

If u compare perdana wif e36,perdana more reliable, the spare parts is easier to find new or second hand.Even some 2nd hand perdana parts are cheaper than wira/satria parts, for example steering rack,suspension set.(I know coz I am using this 2 cars now)

The spare parts also cheaper tahn e36,for example,lower arm for perdana cost u around 120-150,but for e36 will cost u around 400-500.

If yr gbox failed,u also can find perdana gbox easily for recond or 2nd hand and recond price around 1.5k - 2k.But for bmw,u must spend around 2.5k-3k for recond or 2nd hand.

If u want to buy 2nd perdana, I suggest better u change all the drive train and suspension include all upper arm,lower arm,bearing,ball joint,drive shaft,brake pad,gbox oil to make sure that car will be in good condition.

Anyway the choice is in yr hands...Good luck bro..

- budget around 30K
- daily car
- fuel consumption acceptable
- maintenance not too pricey
- reliable car
- use to drive long distance back to hometown
- car muz have better HP & Torque too.

Please help me... in dilemma now...

based on above estimations : perdana

why?
:listen: "
maintenance not too pricey" & "budget around 30K"

ok guys, seriously, coming from another perspective.. i asked my colleague about this topic, he is a total NON-CAR enthusiast.. he just got 1 thing to say... satu kereta melayu, satu kereta india

which he got fucked from me coz i drive a bmw.. and he got fucked from another dude who drives a perdana....

wat's with this kinda perception? betul ke?

*don flame me - coz i alim, just saying wat i heard from an ignorant racist bastard*

and the racist bastard drove wat car? iseyyy.. 2009 ady, stil got people wit knee brain.. aiyaa..

i think e38 coz BMW is more elegance than proton , about yr eng . maybe you can convert into SR20 or more bigger RB20det :biggrin:

Bump: i think BMW laaa, can convert into SR20 or RB20det:biggrin:

i also want to buy a new car ..
my budget is around 50k ..
my choice is e36 ..
is it the maintenance is high compared to other car ? newbie here .. :itsme:

if compared the power, is it perdana bikin is more power or e36 woith minimum bikin is better ?

BM maintenance cheap for e36/34/38, later model are a bit more expensive. Although bmw spare parts are pricey but it has long life span, hardly breakdown.
If perdana convert engine either 63t or 12tt/13tt, it will definitely win during pick up but come to high speed period is totally different.
Last but not least why i vote for bmw is the BODY & CHASIS... stability, safety, quietness & etc way better than perdana.

Bump: BM maintenance cheap for e36/34/38, later model are a bit more expensive. Although bmw spare parts are pricey but it has long life span, hardly breakdown.
If perdana convert engine either 63t or 12tt/13tt, it will definitely win during pick up but come to high speed period is totally different.
Last but not least why i vote for bmw is the BODY & CHASIS... stability, safety, quietness & etc way better than perdana.

hi, this is my first post in this forum.
e36 maintenance is very cheap if u are using 318(thats my fren told-& i believe him,coz his uncle is owner of workshop specialized in BMW).if starts to use 325 & above....then high maintenance already

is this for real maintenance of e36 is cheap coz i am selling my car now and i am looking to buy a bmw preferably e36 as well but i am super scared of the maintenance costs as i am just a student
but the reason i am thinking about bmw its coz i heard its a durable car meaning the parts are all long lasting
can anyone please help me with my queries

u better think twice as u still a student bro......
remember, all the parts are continental...means overseas mari punya....:)
if u wan a beemer, go for e30, i still dreamt about the car.....
wish to buy it soon....

u better think twice as u still a student bro......
remember, all the parts are continental...means overseas mari punya....:)
if u wan a beemer, go for e30, i still dreamt about the car.....
wish to buy it soon....

hmmm.... e30 isnt that older than e36 ??
im assuming since its older the parts will be harder to source(not sure at all)
why u suggest e30 bro danz??:adore::adore::adore:

yes, e30 is 1984 model, there are quite a few on the road,
but there are aftermarket parts for that car. u could source 1 wid sr20 or rb20 inside.
to me, id prefer a rare car......till today i still like that car.

yes, e30 is 1984 model, there are quite a few on the road,
but there are aftermarket parts for that car. u could source 1 wid sr20 or rb20 inside.
to me, id prefer a rare car......till today i still like that car.

yeah i know what u mean bro i also love rare cars :biggrin:
but i am looking for a daily drive car at the moment so im not sure whther the e30 would be a suitable daily drive car
coz i scared later the car will be in the workshop most of the time :banghead:

Beside E36,wat car do u have in ur mind?as u said,u r student,financial would be a prob when maintaining car oso depend on how u maintain,but if got 'FAMA' to help abit,den why not get E36...hehe...if not,juz get some local car or jap car if maintainance is a big issue...hehe