To All PERDANA Users....

hi. i am not a perdana owner, but just curious about the auto box problem which seemd to be so common.

1. i have 4 friends driving Perdana, 3 V6 and 1 SEI manual. we will leave the manual alone.

2. 1st car is a 2000 Oct V6. low mileage, only 62,000 kms. no modification to autobox, trouble free since day 1.

3. 2nd car is 2001 V6, mileage is 190,000, also nevr had any gearbox problem, bougth new.

4. 3rd, 2001 V6, 110,000, gearbox kong once during 80,000, changed to anothr, added a oil cooler....

is the problem due to heat? will adding the cooler solve the problem? what type of cooling the Perdana V6 using in the gearboxes?

the radiator doubles as an ATF cooler...u'll see the 2 hoses coming from the gearbox going into the bottom of the radiator...

firstly, we must bear in our mind that automatic transmissions rely 100% on hydraulics to function. so, when ATF quality is low, efficiency will be low too. load on the gearbox will be higher, in effect wil crate metal fetigue.

why do manufacturers recommend ATF change at certain period? because they had already done research and testing. these simple maintenance must be done to avoid damage and costly repairs. proton recommends ATF fluid every 20,000km. toyota recommends 40,000 km change including flush.

the problem with 2nd hand cars are we do not know the service history, whether previous owner kind enuff to maintain their cars or keep on using as long as can jalan. when they neglect service maintenance and repairs getting more often, best thing to do is sell the car. this wont happen when u buy new cars..what more got warranty. the chances when u buy any 2nd hand automatic cars are 50-50. its either the gbox ok or condemned.

a simple way to check is see the ATF dipstick whether oil dirty or not. normaly, dealers will change them before selling so u can have one more test. start the engine and apply footbrake. shift lever from N to D (or N to R) and try noticing how fast the gbox engaged gear. if more than 1 second, leave the car. dont buy becoz it looks nice but later regret.. :angry:

i looking second hand old perdanav6 relector. anyone know where can get? :D :ph34r:

demonz,
my advise...
if you're getting a perdana...
first things first...
ditch the the autobox for a manual...
if its an 4G63 engine then the gearbox wont be as costly n rare as the 6A12's manual tranny...
besides, you can feel better power from the car too...
either that or don't buy the car...
autobox will sure to give you hell very much sooner than you think...
2nd hand car mah...

aircooled,
Mitsubishi's always had a problem with their old auto tranny...
which is very much evident in our wira/perdanas....
they tend to give up on you if you don't service them regularly...
best advise of service as according to my president....
change the ATF every 20K regardless of condition...
flush every 40K... costly but effective...
he hasn't had problems wif his auto tranny ever since he bought the car...
and for those who knows my president EJ... u'll know how he drives his car.. ;)

Originally posted by normality78@Mar 2 2005, 02:01
5 yrs 1 gearbox still ok. i only scared every year 1 gearbox. whahahah
taikor....
ur tranny giving u problems already??
come muar la..
my place the manual tranny cheap..
if u wan call me before hand.. i help u source the tranny n parts..
price gerenti u happy.. if not happy den i quit as V-Sixers gearbox advisor liaoz...
:lol:

Wahahah, u diff lor. U now change to latest accord mar. wahahaha. status also upgrade lioa lor

Originally posted by normality78@Mar 7 2005, 13:55
Wahahah, u diff lor. U now change to latest accord mar. wahahaha. status also upgrade lioa lor
iya la sub. ur status diff lor from us. even normality also drives a 199997 proton. so advance one! :D

Thankx for the advice guyz...

Can anybody tell me what is the market price for perdana 95 or 96....
And also what is the loan like...?

Cheers...

Oops, I'm abit late but I wanna share my experience with you guys about my perdana.

1997 Perdana SEi.

After 5 years, the car really started to give problems.

Really have to agree about the gearbox problem. There was once my dad changed 3 gearboxes in about... 4-5months. Made all sort of funny sounds. Like squeeks and shit. But the problem may lie in the replacements. So... Early morning when the car is cool, the tranny jerks pretty harsh. But once the fluids are well circulated, its smooth.

I'm kinda unlucky, cause the car is dark dark blue in colour. So it gets pretty hot under the sun and the interior started to bubble. Power window breaks down. First it was the rear left window. Then it was the front left passenger window. Center console has the dark wood finishing, and that's held on by double sided tape (originally). The console became loose after approx 5 years of use. Note: No major accidents.

No engine problems... yet. Major headache is the auto transmission. Go for a manual. Bad gearbox problems led to bad fuel consumptions. During highway driving, it's possible to make 400+km (North-South highway - avrg 140km/h). City driving... uh...
Handling though is sharp. Yep. Quite good actually. ABS is not very good.

All in all. Recommended not to get one. Steer clear of it.

p/s: I remembered the SEi on Autocar Malaysia stated that it had 150bhp wor... kena con ke... :blink:

Originally posted by Hayvern@Mar 10 2005, 00:31
cause the car is dark dark blue in colour. So it gets pretty hot under the sun and the interior started to bubble.
yeah, same like mine. buble inside. damn F88king sien

MY Perdana SEi problems...

1) Thirsty car...
2) Gearbox for auto
3) Suspension so bumpy
4) Interior bubble bubble...hahahah same same...
5) Problem to start sometimes... must twist the key few times then only can start..PANIC woooo...

Hmmm... so anybody know where to get cheap brand new branded suspension and lowering coils for perdana? Cheap branded brand new open pod airfilter for perdana? hehehhee... thank you... PM me for the best price... :D

guys, i am currently looking around to buy a perdana v6 convert.
saw 1 last night, to my surprise the guy fitted in a V6 engine, but SOHC one, not the same as perdana DOHC V6.

he said the engine code is the same, 6A12. I couldn't find any info on this, is the engine really available?

it looks like this one:
6G74diamjapan-3.jpeg

taken from:
http://robskorner.freehomepage.com/faqs/othermotors/othermotors.html

That is a SOHC version yes. Not common but can be found too.

EJ, really appreciate that :), what with your V6 club big day today, u still spent some time to reply. Thanks!

My further question:
1. Is this SOHC underpowered compared to DOHC?
2. Possible to change head to DOHC? is it easy and cheap?
3. Fuel consumption?
4. Maintenance issue - are the parts easily available and compatible with the DOHC one?
5. What is the engine code? is it 6G** or 6A12 (the guy insist it is 6A12)

Thanks all!

Since we talk back abt this....

i was wondering, since the Vr4 and Evo 1/2/3 engine was also code 4G63 which is the same as Perdana Sei engine, can i retain the auto tranny on those engine?