2. Maintenance cost (eg: spare parts price, easy to get spare part or not
and so on)
3. Prefer a sedan, but car like kenari/atos type also acceptable

All opinion are highly appreciated since this is the 1st time I'm
planning to get a used car. Also please advice the necessary precaution
if there is any on buying a use car.

Thank you very much....
[snapback]858553[/snapback]​

u can give me a call as i work in a used car dealers.i can explain detail to u. 0162619132 cody.

if u wanna get a fuel consumption car but budget not over than 40k, i think kenari is a good option for u. maybe can affrord to buy a second hand special edition and instead of buyin a 6 years old above car, u might not get a good fuel consumption but also needa spend some $$$ to change car parts... peace :lol:

for my opinion,budget rm40k i will get toyota seg 92~94,which its tail lamp just white n red,this car fullfill ur demand

SEG definitely a good choice.. its reliable and it looks good too.. IMO lar.. but i'm not saying there isn't any other good car out there.. look around, you'll sure find some

Hmmm my suggest is
TOYOTA SEG 92-94 better is 20V...
NISSAN sentra B14
HONDA CIVIC EK 1.6 vtec

but perfect also SEG 20V

JUst my suggest only..

Quote:-
for my opinion,budget rm40k i will get toyota seg 92~94,which its tail lamp just white n red,this car fullfill ur demand

- whats the difference between the tail lamp white n red and orange n red?

my suggestion, Kelisa or Kancil...SEG makan petrol la, sumo the car quite old, if neglect maintanence, or busy man or non car lover....the car will break down often.

keith keat, i don't understand wat's the problem with u, proton=potong? Any car will be good enough if u know how to take care and u're not a clumsy driver or a car abuser. We pay for the price and we get wat we deserves. Wira sedan 47k, kelisa 40+k...kelisa giving better results, why? Cause we pay more. I agree proton does have problems like power windows and stuffs, ppl asking for opinions. Tell everybody then, get a very old car....etc cars like toyotas, nissans, do think about the repairing and maintanence.

Not to say that SEG is not a good car, but it's not a car for u, quite makan petrol and if not taken proper care, there'll be slightly some problems. By that time, u would be thinking, why didn't i get a newer car? By the way, SEG is one of my fav budget car... :D

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/article_198/1.jpg

wait for the new TRM...
its coming out soon..

gor more information http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/article_198/page_m.asp

Originally posted by psyk@Apr 1 2005, 23:17
Quote:-

- whats the difference between the tail lamp white n red and orange n red?
[snapback]860860[/snapback]​
the difference is red n orange is from years 1988~1992,white n red 1 is from 1992~1994 more newer,just get 1.6 efi 16v..oledi enuff..if u wan maintance easier,keep it all original

sori to interrupt but this is actual fact.

1) corolla AE92 1.6 16V carb and EE90 1.3 12V carb
launch in late 1987 with orange signal lamps. known as 1.3GL and 1.6GL
engine 4A-F for 1.6 and 2E for 1.3

facelifted in 1989 with white signal lens. known as 1.3SE and 1.6 SE Limited.

2) corolla AE101 1.6 16V EFI and EE100 1.3 12V carb
launched in 1992 with orange signal lamps. known as 1.3GL and 1.6SE-G
engine 4A-FE for 1.6, 2E for 1.3

facelifted late 1994 with white signal lens. known as 1.3SE (with power steering) and 1.6SE-G

3) corolla AE111 1.616V EFI and EE111 1.3 16V EFI
launched in late 1995 with orange signal lamps. known as 1.3GL and 1.6SE-G. auto model got ABS.
engine still 4A-FE for 1.6, 4E-FE for 1.3

facelifted in 1998 with clear lens signal and multi reflector headlamps, all models have twin airbags.

4) corolla altis 1.6 ZZE121 1.6 16V VVTI and 1.8 ZZE122 1.8 16V VVTI
comes in 1.6E and 1.8G. use 14" and 15" wheels. has ABS, VTC, traction control and twin airbags especially for top spec G model.
engine is 1ZZ-FE and 3ZZ-FE

facelifted in 2004. 1.6 now use 15" wheels while 1.8 use 16". rear taillamps use LED effect.

yup....

toyota is the best choice if u want to used it for long term.... n long distance...

i used cololla ee90... and still good as new wira.... kalo tak caye cubeeelaaaaa...... macam2 ada...

eh, forgot to give respond laa..sori ye cskean.

if u travel a lot...maybe 3000-5000km per month and cannot claim petrol, then it maybe wise to use diesel. ask verticallimit if he can find any diesel car that suits. 8 years old citroen xantia has turbo diesel engine(manual and auto) and may cost juz around 28K. non tiring ride, but not a good handler on winding roads. beware as hydramatic suspension system (magic carpet ride) needs attention and repairs are costly. another one is citroen ZX diesel (sadly no turbo). this one is easier on maintenance, using conventional suspension. with built in passive 4 wheel steering it handles well indeed.

if u drive a lot on outstation A/B trunk roads its best to get a manual. wira is a good rep car in 1.5 trim (with EFI). economical, reliable and easy on maintenance. if u want auto, go for 1.6 millenium (limited edition). 5 years old waja manual is around 40K. auto around 42K.

AE101 corolla SEG is good nevertheless but its getting old. AE111 too small for comparison. but toyota cars are comfortable for long distance ride as their suspension is softer. honda cars ride harder but corners better.

if u need wagon, try AD resort at around 25K. with 15K balance, convert the standard 1.6 carbie for a more powerful version. can dressed it up as sunny california with 17" wheels. nicee....

if u dont carry many equipemtn, u can try satria 1.6. fast and nimble. easy to park and also can wink at gals. ha ha https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' /> expect price around 35K for 6 yrs old sample. if u can stretch ur budget, 1999 satria GTi now has average market value of 48K.

gud luck...

p/s try search auto trader where cars advertised are categorised accordingly for ur convenience.