buying 2nd hand

kingkongkecik

Apr 25, 2007
i am currently using a perodua kancil 850 auto but would like to upgrade to a new car as i have just started working. nothing wrong with the kancil except that it is small and i always feel 'not safe' driving it on highways (next to the lorries). i have a few cars that i have listed down (including the mods that i would like to do on the respective cars). since i am new to the local car scene, i am looking for something that i can pay for rm400+ monthly as i will still have some extra money to do up my next car (the 'do up' budget is slightly lower than my monthly installment).i am not one of the turbo-nutter as i categorise myself as a fast driver.the few cars that i have listed down are:-

1) Proton Putra
2) Proton Satria GTI
3) Fiat Punto GT mk1 1.4 Turbo
4) Alfa Romeo 146/145 1.7 (Boxer)
5) Mitsubishi Mirage Mivec 1.6 (2000)
6) Honda Civic EK ($$$)

*pls adv me re the cars that i listed including the pros/cons of the car based on experience
*any extra help is especially appreciated (workshops,loans,spare parts,expertise)
*if you wish to enlight me better (including any cars listed above for sale) please do not hesitate to reply as i will reply back whenever that i am able

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
i would go for putra/satria GTI if i were u,spare part cheap among others & good power for daily drive.

kingkongkecik

Apr 25, 2007
thanks for your reply,i was thinking.but putra/gti is too common on the streets,thats the only downside :)

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
bro,

u wan cheap month payment and dun wan too common in street..i dun think it is available...

since u r just working, u may just start to save money 1st.

y wan to change car since jus get the job? kancil oso car ma, can drive then ok lo.change it aftr u get promoted le

1) Proton Putra
- quite old, many parts need to check n replace...low re-sell values

2) Proton Satria GTI
- its powerful car but alot of converted version.nothing special.

3) Fiat Punto GT mk1 1.4 Turbo
- spare parts maybe hard to get n expensive.

4) Alfa Romeo 146/145 1.7 (Boxer)
- for me, its not so nice. beter get subaru for boxer sounds.

5) Mitsubishi Mirage Mivec 1.6 (2000)
- this car not bad, u may go for tis but i dun think monthly payment is rm400 like tat.

6) Honda Civic EK ($$$)
- alot of things to mod, but not so recommended for fresh graduate or whoever jus started work.unless ur background is good.

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
how about a SEG?not common like putra/satria,even more if u change bodykit to levin...

looking for power?black top 20V is a good choice & cheaper compare to V-tech

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
probably since u just started working just get a putra or satria...but if u really like modifying your car n all then get the civic

kingkongkecik

Apr 25, 2007
i am very interested in the toyota seg 99-onwards.perferably if it comes with the levin blacktop 6 speed.anybody selling?
*anybody can help me re the car and this particular engine(no supercharger)
*everybody's help is most welcome

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
go for an AE101 seg, much cooler than the AE111 !

agree with u bro...like mine :embaressed_smile: haha...it depends la,but honestly u might facing the problem of bodykit sourcing for SEG AE101 or AE111... even there is a FX or wagon bumper,it were goreng till RM300 at least!!!remember,it just bumper kosong,mean no spot light no lips!!!

wth....my ori Evo 3 bumper are now letting go at RM300 only...:Not_Impressed:

Doink

Aug 1, 2004
House
the best advice is buy the car which u can afford without putting urself in heavy debt rather than buying the car which u want to own...i like a gti but i cant own one so i have a 86 which i can maintain and do some modding at the same time...

kingkongkecik

Apr 25, 2007
do u guys have any extra info about the toyota?pics maybe...
how about the maintenance of the car?

imoloq

Nov 1, 2005
the best advice is buy the car which u can afford without putting urself in heavy debt rather than buying the car which u want to own...i like a gti but i cant own one so i have a 86 which i can maintain and do some modding at the same time...
I'll take an 86 over a gti anyday!

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
yeah 86!!....much better than a gti

predator_mania

Mar 7, 2006
why don't u just buy a new car?
1st-repairing u don't to worry bout it...still under warranty(save money to modify it)
2nd-u can drive syok syok till the car is strating to have problems,then only u start to modify it...
3rd-you can have the feeling of new car,the smells of the car!fantastic...
monthly 400++
a kelisa,myvi,wira SE,satria NEO u d can get
but i think kelisa is ok for u...the FC is not high....

but if u really wanna get a 2nd hanh...i will prefer SEG

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
buying 2nd hand wif RM400 monthly:

1.SEG 92-94
2.Accord SV4 94-96
3.Cefiro A32 96-98
4.Civic EK 96-98

all of above is mine choice 2 years back and finally i choose SEG....parts cheap

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
out of the above i would choose the civic ek!

camshaft

Nov 3, 2006
civic EK u gonna pay a lot for down payment if u wanna cut down the monthly payment to 400++ ...the converted EJ or ori EK B series engine should be around 45-60k...while others that ranged around 35-45 are SOHC engine only...i got my 96/99 EK4 for a 45k....i pay 11k down payment and RM840 every month for 4 1/2 years...it's up to u...but i really satisfied with the performance and quality even it's a 10 years old car...worth every penny....

imoloq

Nov 1, 2005
In my opinion, an SEG would be a good choice. Although it's older than the EK, a year 95 model would sell around 30k only depending on mods. It's a great family car and if well maintained, there will be no squeaking or creaking sounds normally associated with old cars. Plus you can drive it safely on the highway without fear of being run over by lorries.

If you want a fast SEG, find those with 20V engines. 0-100 in 8 secs and 200kph (with speedcut of course) no problem.

Guys,

please read this.....

those who have/have not purchases something from him...beware...

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/index....opic=24328&st=0

Tom,
i will remove this if you think it's too much.

rgds