Perdana V6 owner...

Ya. I agree with you 4g91. V6 market price now are extreamly cheap. You can get it around 4xk. You will be comfortable if you driving even fetching people. For my car v6, full tank is around RM100 and can drive for 450km/h. But i notice that, even i drive slow or drive around 160km/h for 10 mins everydays the fuel comsuption still same around 430-450km/h per tank. Thanks.

My dad drive a perdana V6. Heard him always complaint about the Fc and when speed above 140km/h u can heard a loud wind noises on the window. cheap material on dashboard so it's very cacat lil bit and v6 headlight are not bright enuff. my dad have to change to HID,so far never heard about the gearbox problem yet. handling is quiet good. others i think ok ok only. not very like the car since he bought it and he's planning changing to Focus, so it's a good news i guess.

gearbox problem is very common...other than that...great engine and car design...

that oil cooler for gearbox (ATF Cooler), you can get at chop shop for rm70.

What I like about my V6,
1. Dem cold air-cond.
2. Smooth engine sound..almost no sound at all on idling.
3. Stable on high speed.
4. The best cheap car to crusing on a long highway IMHO, just switch on your autocruise!!
5. Easy to mod for cosmetic (put in digital air-cond with climax control, galant e84 sunroof, skirting, modified to 5 lugs disc and put bimmer sport rim, etc..etc..
6. For me, its like a cheaper BMW. With right mods, it can be fast & sporty while keeping the executive looks.

What I dont like,
1. High FC, rm50 for 300-350km
but then, mine got twinturbo.
2. Expensive sparepart, well..some part were more expensive than wira. Some part were cheaper. (Electronic sidemirror rm50, but its like rm100 for wira!) lol.

btw, that wind noise, probally due to you've installed door visors. I removed that thing and that sound gone.

agree with arih..
1. cold air cond (damn freezing..)
2. idling low and smooth
3. high speed stable BUT with sports springs and abs (OEM suspension goyang2 and OEM abs easily leaking)
4. big spacious car
5. braking good
6. just lower ur car and it'll look sporty enuff
7. OEM speakers quite good (normal listening la..)
8. the best thing is, i drive V6 and look like important people already.. hahaha..

FC is around RM0.23 to RM0.25 per km for town driving, RM0.19 to RM0.21 per km for town + highway..
if only highway, i've got RM0.15 per km once.. using auto cruise..

Hi all,

I new comer. I also is V6 owner.

Talk frankly,

If you want buy V6, why not?

The V6 common problem is gear boxes. But this problem is occur when you using auto gear like manual gear. The V6 G/B is no design for street racing. He is a family car(Highway cruise). Our V6 gear boxes is use clutch pads to moving the gear. so that will more fast worn. The other japanese car are using steel gear to moving the gear. So that will be more tahan.

But if you compare pick up will honda,toyota and etc ( 2000cc), V6 will be not be loser.

Sharing my experience......
1. Always service gear boxes ( change oil every 20,000km) if you no highway cleaner this will take 9month above to next service.
2. install ATF oil cooler let gear boxes more cool. ( Extend the gasket and pads working hours)
3. But kick down always at traffic light, it will let your gear boxes more fast dead. Only kick down after 3rd gear, the pick up will let you butts stick on your seat.
4. V6 engine is a high rev and smoothing high output engine. Low maintanence. ( i using Castrol 5w-40, cost me RM160)
5. The spacious is more than so many car. The big boot can let three guys go inside.
6. The F/C can't compare with small CC car, you must compare with 2000cc car. If your friend have toyota,honda,hyundai 2000cc car, maybe you can find out the F/C of their car. After that, you will feel V6 F/C is reasonable.

Just my sharing......

If i wrong, pls correct me.

I love my perdana 24 valve and Spacious :shades_smile:

arih said:

What I like about my V6,
1. Dem cold air-cond.
2. Smooth engine sound..almost no sound at all on idling.
3. Stable on high speed.
4. The best cheap car to crusing on a long highway IMHO, just switch on your autocruise!!
5. Easy to mod for cosmetic (put in digital air-cond with climax control, galant e84 sunroof, skirting, modified to 5 lugs disc and put bimmer sport rim, etc..etc..
6. For me, its like a cheaper BMW. With right mods, it can be fast & sporty while keeping the executive looks.

What I dont like,
2. Expensive sparepart, well..some part were more expensive than wira. Some part were cheaper. (Electronic sidemirror rm50, but its like rm100 for wira!) lol.

btw, that wind noise, probally due to you've installed door visors. I removed that thing and that sound gone.

Hello. What you measns by romoved the door visors to avoild the wind noise?

4g91 ajer,

bro,

perdana v6 is a good car....

ok, in fact my bro has a sei version previously, but due to the problematic gr/box, he changed the car to the new sentra..

like all sifu said here, better install the oil cooler...

the rest no problem

very comfortable ca, i luv it too when i drives to study many yrs back, can fetch 5 chick inside..

haha

tat was last time la...keke

Hahaha....I like this one, can fetch 5 chick lorr :)

andy_lka said:
4g91 ajer,

very comfortable ca, i luv it too when i drives to study many yrs back, can fetch 5 chick inside..

haha

for the v6 gear-box problem depent on the car owner weather they maintain ornot
neet to frash the gear-box every 3 mths.

arih said:

What I dont like,

rm50 for 300-350km.. i ask my fren ,, all said around rm100 for 400-500km .. not much different for v6 stock or v6 tt .

i just planning to buy a v6 tt,, e owner told me FC around rm100 for 400km,,

just wan to know why ur car FC so low????? !!!!!!!

Bro, I'm a V6 owner, It’s a great car to drive for the price u pay. Are u getting a new V6 or 2nd hand? If it’s a 2nd hand more then 4 years old I would say forget it!

Fuel consumption wise for long distance the savings are good. For 55 liters I get close to 650 KM. City driving offcause bad lah for 2.0 so don’t expect much.

I see lot of ppl complaining abt the gearbox. Proton gives u 3-5 years extended warranty for Perdana V6, so why bother? Send it back to them they will replace it!!

If you are looking for a saloon 2.0, V6 is a great car to drive plus the acceleration is great. All you need to do is change the suspension, that its.

Bro, have u change u r shocks for u r V6? I'm planning to change mine but wanted some sort of comfort as well. I'm looking at GAB and HKS. What do guys think?

what i like bout my ride
1. the v6 sounds..hehehe..so garang like impreza's sound
2. spare part easy to find n not so expensive ...just go to the chop shop..lots of mitsubishi parts
3. powerfull engine...high top speed...mine is V6TT with MT
4. FC better than my previous SEI AT with normal drive
5. executive look but can oso make up look like monster
6. smooth breeze cold air cond...my son sure fall a sleep after 5 min ride hahaha
7. good handling....
8. spacious..
9. good braking...
10. becoz of v6 i get a lots of frens from the club n activities, knowledge bout the car :)

what i dont like
1. too much body roll when take high speed corner..have to change to bigger anti roll bar especially rear one.
2. car too heavy
3. changing timing belt & spark plug...a bit expensive coz got 2 timing belt

for me i bought the car not becoz of the 2nd hand value...but because i love the car....if u want to buy the car becoz of the 2nd hand value, i advise dont buy the perdana....buy the good 2nd hand value car....the gearbox is common problem for perdana...but not all perdana having a gearbox problem...u can solve it by install the ATF cooler...good maintainance & good driving style...remember this is not a performance car...change to MT if u want the performance..

just my 2 cents...cheers!!

Well, it's actually the style of driving. Some may drive his/her perdana for 4-5 yrs without any gearbox problem. Servicing of Oil Change is important. Adding in an ATF tranny cooler is a bonus. Drive to control your gearbox ECU, dont let your Gearbox ECU drive you. This is what i got from a member who drives his perdana for 5 yrs without any gearbox problem even went to track and trashing his car at Time Attack.

Just my 1 cents.. ahaha..

Changing to Manual best option..!

hello, i m really new overhere! i just brough a unit of v6 which low mileage 66xxxkm for 7yrs car!!! which i need some information after read the forum here from beginning pages!

the car is brough from brunei which selling B$7000! so i need to do servicing on my new car!!! all xpert and sifu v6 pls let me know wat should i do on my virgin v6 service?????

my plan on this car is going to upgrade
=HID,
=disc PAD for high temp for high speed at brunei,
=audio system which clarion player is not function- maybe get alpine disc player,
=tyre change to Bridgestone G3 x4 pcs- sayang my rim is original but plan future change 17 or 18inches,

pls give me more information which very important for me in ALARM system! cause my ex-ae100 been stolen!!!!!!!!!!

thanx for every xpert n sifu v6!!!!!!!!!!!!

i'm a proton salesman..currently a V6 (m) owner now.....worth of $$$.......nice ride!...cheerz

yy

ya,i just bought my v6 last few months ago.then i just feel very comfortable to ride on it.n the FC is just standard la,coz bro it was a 2000cc car la.dun compare with the low cc car la.u can bought a v6 sure u can afford the fuel la.by the way i was just wondering y the front headlight was so expensive la...i havent add the oil cooler la.but soon will looking for it.

i need to upgrade my v6dana, which can get some information from u guy!!
v6dana 1999 rear lamp and the middle part can be upgrade to latest version??? it cost how much????
head lamp upgrade to HID for which brand prefer???? it cost how much???
original cd changer still good but my player is problem so any other clarion model can match the changer?????

thanx for reply to all sifu n expert v6dana

u might wanna drop by at Eneos.. they are selling the latest OEM perdana lamp.. not sure how much would it cost.. alternatively, u might wanna visit chop shop dealer to have a great bargain! cheers!