B20vtec

Check it out:
http://www.mudah.my/A+Spec+Hi+Rev+B20B+Type+R-13693448.htm

What you think for the price and specs that come with that price?

Check it out:
http://www.mudah.my/A+Spec+Hi+Rev+B20B+Type+R-13693448.htm

What you think for the price and specs that come with that price?

RM28,000, the 'Feel's Performance formulated B20 block' itself might count for 1/3 of the total cost.

Looks like a project done proper, with breather box retained. I like it when they opt for stock bore. With postal fees thrown in individually (not grouped items discounted postage fees), the figures should be somewhere along the following:

*ARP Head Stud - RM450++
*Crank 3 points girdle - RM1,500++
*ACL Race Bearing - RM300++
*ARP Block Stud - RM250++
*B20 H-Beam Forged Conrod with 84mm forged piston - RM2,500++
*Breather & adapter - RM400++ (breather looks OEM, adapter looks from machine shop)
= RM5,400

*Skunk2 Pro 3 racing camshaft
*Skunk2 valve spring & retainer
*Skunk2 adjustable cam pulley
*Block fitting sleeves
*Block guard
*Racing water pump
*Racing oil pump
*Oil squirters
*Stroke =>89mm, made in Australia

89mm is stock B20B stroke. Not sure which part is made in Australia.

A quick look at Honda's high-revving engines, the stroke is highest in B18C Type R:

1. B18C Type R JDM: Bore x Stroke = 81mm x 87.2mm, Redline = 8,700rpm
2. K20A Type R: Bore x Stroke = 86mm x 86mm, Redline = 8,400rpm
3. F20C: Bore x Stroke = 87mm x 84mm, Redline = 9,000rpm
4. B16B: Bore x Stroke = 81mm x 77.4mm, Redline = 8,600rpm

Not sure about high-revving with a stroke as long as 89mm. Uncle Wiki says:

Formula 1 engines use short-stroke designs because it allows the engine to rev higher. Because of this, they are capable of generating greater horsepower compared to a long-stroke engine with the same displacement.

Sportsbikes and their racing version use short-stroke engines.

http://www.ford-trucks.com/articles/november2002/compress_image002.gif

not something i would bother with... RM28k for a maxed out B20B...

whereas with that amount of money u can get K20A (which has the best bore:stroke ratio) transplant and still have money for hondata and mebbe cams...good for about 250whp. and still as reliable as the stock engine (depending on tuner)

engine is newer, technology is newer and still have alot of room to play with.

btw deacon... where u got the price for the ACL bearings? way too cheap. theyre around RM550 everywhere ive asked

---------- Post added at 02:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:31 PM ----------

A quick look at Honda's high-revving engines, the stroke is highest in B18C Type R:

1. B18C Type R JDM: Bore x Stroke = 81mm x 87.2mm, Redline = 8,700rpm
2. K20A Type R: Bore x Stroke = 86mm x 86mm, Redline = 8,400rpm
3. F20C: Bore x Stroke = 87mm x 84mm, Redline = 9,000rpm
4. B16B: Bore x Stroke = 81mm x 77.4mm, Redline = 8,600rpm

Not sure about high-revving with a stroke as long as 89mm. Uncle Wiki says:

notice that among the list... the one with the highest redline is the F20C @ 9krpm. 84mm stroke only and its a 2L

btw deacon... where u got the price for the ACL bearings? way too cheap. theyre around RM550 everywhere ive asked

Is this the correct part bro? USD59.99 = RM181.59 not including shipping. But the company ships worldwide though.

ACL 4B1946HX-STD - Honda B20B / B20Z Race Series Rod Bearing Set, .025mm / .001" Extra Clearance

notice that among the list... the one with the highest redline is the F20C @ 9krpm. 84mm stroke only and its a 2L

Yes bro, stroke 84mm only. B20B's stroke is 89mm, less 1mm than H22A (90mm). For H22A, redline is a mere 7600rpm. I guess the longer the stroke, the lower the redline.

not sure about the part number... but: http://www.mudah.my/ACL+RACE+Engine+Bearing+Set+B16+B18+B20+4G63+4G93-12414057.htm

i got mine for my B20 oso around that price at my workshop

Deacon: May I know what brand of pistons and conrod?

Supertech stock bore, 11.5:1 for B20B block + B16A head:
http://www.nolimitmotorsport.com/prod/SUP-P4-H84-P1

USD80.75 x 4 units = USD323 = RM983.54

Supertech piston rings GNH8400:
http://www.nolimitmotorsport.com/prod/SUP-GNH8400

USD16.85 = RM51.31

Eagle H-Beam Conrod CRS5394A3D:
http://www.nolimitmotorsport.com/prod/CRS5394A3D

USD330 = RM1,005.51

RM983.54 + RM51.31 + RM1,005.51 = RM2040.36

I personally never ordered any parts from the US. But when I ordered a fascia for my Fiat from the UK, it took 2 weeks to arrive. But UK shops are generally reputable, US must check in forums first lah.

One time I went to Racing Fit in Sunway, wanting to buy a turbo manifold for my Airtrek. I told them I want this this design, with wastegate outlet, wastegate how big size. Then they told me can come back in 3 days time (I think it was 3 days). When I came back, the manifold came in a box, ordered from Taiwan. Well, they said it was from Taiwan, but I know you can order bulk items from China via Alibaba.com.

I thought: next time I want to buy stuffs, better I order myself. I can read the Internet also what?

The good thing is: it came ceramic-coated. I didn't want to take the item at first, because it looks dull and not stainless steel, but Racing Fit told me this is the new fad. I thought "what kind of new fad is this?" Then I went to install at JFA, and JFA told me "bang, ini ceramic-coated bang." I thought to myself: this is my day.

I think you can get these here as well but it will cost more. If you order from overseas, you would also be charged with import duties and so on. Thanks Deacon.

Well, the import duty depends on the value of the particular parcel:

Penerimaan bungkusan pos melalui udara yang berduti/cukai bernilai melebihi RM1,000.00 (CIF) hendaklah diikrar dalam borang Kastam no 1. Bagi barang yang bernilai melebihi RM500.00 (CIF) dan kurang RM1000.00 (CIF) taksiran duti/cukai dibuat atas JK78.

Penerimaan bungkusan pos melalui udara yang tidak bercukai bernilai melebihi RM 2,000.00 (CIF) hendaklah diikrar dalam borang Kastam no 1. Penerimaan bungkusan pos melalui laut dan darat yang bernilai melebihi RM 200.00 (CIF) hendaklah diikrar dalam borang Kastam no 1. Bagi barang yang bernilai kurang RM 200.00. taksiran duti/cukai dibuat atas JK78.

http://www.customs.gov.my/index.php/bm/prosedur-a-garis-panduan/kastam/pelbagai/847-panduan-penerimaan-a-penghantaran-bungkusan-pos-melalui-pos-malaysia-berhad-pmb

My relative ordered exhaust muffler and whole set of wheels through:

http://www.zerotohundred.com/2010/auto-features/easybid-is-your-pathway-to-japan-yahoo-auction-success/

But of course, the book value of used, second hand items can depreciate to next to nothing.

supertech pistons RM1.4k (depending where u buy)

BC Racing conrods is RM1.2k (not sure H or I Beam)

total 2.6k....thats how much i got mine iirc.

supertech pistons RM1.4k (depending where u buy)

BC Racing conrods is RM1.2k (not sure H or I Beam)

total 2.6k....thats how much i got mine iirc.

This price not bad actually, mind to share where you got them?

from my mechanic...

fast autoworks in sri muda, shah alam

Its cheap compared to the ones advertised in mudah.

BC is cheaper than Duratech? Duratech also RM1.5k already. Shall I also get my stuff from Fast Autoworks? Hehehe

my mech said BC conrods are the cheapest aftermarket conrods around.

One shop in JB quoted me RM2.4k for BC conrods. That was about 6 or 7 months ago. That's why I was shocked with the price you got it for. Only lately, I knew that shop, quite famous in JB, is actually quite pricey. Luckily, I didn't fall for it.

BC as in Brian Crower right?

yup...brian crower.

have u tried checking prices in singapore? i heard there might be cheaper

Not for the conrods. I asked my friend who works there to survey the price of S2 IM and the price is more expensive there. If can, I'll check the price there. But from what I heard from my friends, car parts there are more expensive, that's why Singaporeans come to JB to do up their cars.

S90 Racing is now selling custom B20 blocks. They can also re-sleeve the block.

What do you think? Let's say if we re-sleeve our current stock b20 blocks, will it be safe to run 86mm pistons?

Also, if we use pistons of different size, lets say 84mm or 86mm but the compression is the same, leys say 12.5 CR, will it produce the same power?

i think the S90 block is about RM4k+ iirc...sleeved or not....86mm i scared man..hehehhe

and no...i think it will make different amount of power... with the bigger pistons ur total displacement is increased...

and no replacement for displacement :P

I thought it was about 3k for their block.
http://www.mudah.my/Super90+Honda+B20+Racing+Block-13936302.htm

So, I reckon the sleeve job should be about 1.5k?? Just a wild estimation. Lol...
How much does sleeving cost usually?