New Honda user here

i cant comment on XH bro coz ive never been there before...im actually in KL.

ex-owner of my car did the car at XH and Tung Chun.

no more monster la bro... all the go fast bits taken out when i bought the car. now car is stock liao.

eh bro... the sideplant exhaust on my car XH did right?

hahaha .. every owner also say the same la...but the fact is ...some "stock" car still can run leh..

yup.. sideplant did at our place.

mind to tell where i will feel the strong vibration? i need detailed explanation cuz i m still learning...

---------- Post added at 10:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:31 PM ----------

mine also passed puspakom when i sent it for inspection b4 buying it. mind to share whats ur ride?

---------- Post added at 10:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:33 PM ----------

bro, u r in rosmerah? i m so near u. i should just pay u a visit. maybe u can advice me on this ride and check if its really a b20 block. for free? can ah? haha. maybe u can tune my car in future to make it like the one i saw in ur blog. n i can also test power at pasir gudang track with u all. lol..

---------- Post added at 10:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:38 PM ----------

Hi bro,

Of course.. You can come over to check FOC.. didn't know u were located in jb.. If not would have offered at the beginning... Come over.. Look for the boss Ah Tiong, say u r Ah Dev friend.. Tell and ask him what u need.. We even open on Sunday. Will be happy to have another teg in the family

Hehehehehe yup.. This car is a monster....

sure bro, might be dropping in this Saturday afternoon. just hope u would be thr because i am a very shy person. haha. to start the whole thing with ah tiong the boss is gonna be very difficult for me.

---------- Post added at 10:26 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:23 PM ----------

i cant comment on XH bro coz ive never been there before...im actually in KL.

ex-owner of my car did the car at XH and Tung Chun.?

ok bro. Tung Chun is also in jb and quite famous too. but wil be visiting xh since got invitation from ad_eg. haha.

---------- Post added at 10:27 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:26 PM ----------

I am converting a dc2 front end with b18cr.. previously was lampu bulat.. :driver:

wishing u luck bro. i also dont like the round light for integras be it dc or db.

---------- Post added at 10:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:27 PM ----------

people, i have done a few researches to why they use b20 block with b16 head. its because they get the torque of the b20 block but why b16 head? why not b18 head? i wouldnt ask why not b20 head cuz then its the same as using a crv engine. m i right to ssy that?

for my case, b20 block and b16 head, what cams should i use? b16 type r cams or b20 type r cams? whats the difference between these type r cams and aftermarket cams? what is the price range for a used type r cam or aftermarket cam? i need to know this as i am planning to do what tc told. but need to source out for other cams as the cam he is charging 4k n way too high for me. thanks.

theres no B20 type r cams bro... B18C got la... but u should use the B16B type r cams they have a higher lift on one of the cams compared to B18C. forgot which one.

price range for aftermarket can go about 2k+ for cams only... not inclusive installation, valve springs, retainers etc etc...but type r i not sure... forgot already...

oh, i must have got confused with one of the threads here. Someone was asking bout b20 type r cams how much hp or smtg like that. if i choose to go with after market cams, does it come with higher maintenance compared to type r cams? is it better than type r cams? type r cams are more expensive or cheaper than aftermarket cams? i got an offer for b18 type r cams with valve springs and retainers for 1.1k. is it reasonable?

i was also adviced to only install vafc for my car for now. then drive it to see what i think. if i m unhappy, then only upgrade other things. what do u think bout this?

1.1k for B18C cams, retainers and springs sounds like a reasonable offer...but i cant be sure coz i dunno the price. can check in mudah for the market price.

aftermarket cams at most give u higher fuel consumption as it enables more fuel and air to go into the combustion chamber.... in terms of maintenance and servicing.. its about the same....engine oil etc same only. and aftermarket are more expensive than type r...in terms of horsepower.. aftermarket cams can get more horsepower than type r cams if tuned properly...so in that aspect, yes theyre better.

vafc bang for buck imho..just enough for wat u need if u on low budget... my car oso type r cams with chipped ecu and vafc... its sufficient...but next planning on hondata

thanks bro for the info. right now i'll be installing a vafc n tune first. then i'll drive around to see if i like the setting.

i came across another thread about b20 blocks not being reliable especially those hybrid ones. which is what i have under the hood. what is ur stand on this? what are the do's and dont's for this setup. its important for me to know to make sure ntg bad happens to my car.

yeah B20 is a lil "sensitive".

just dont rev too high..mebbe 8k rpm max.. like me... and i dont do it daily oso.

just make sure oils etc are in good condition and the other normal stuff la

B20s are more reliable now as most tuners have learnt from experience how to build one.

bro, u r in rosmerah? i m so near u. i should just pay u a visit. maybe u can advice me on this ride and check if its really a b20 block. for free? can ah? haha. maybe u can tune my car in future to make it like the one i saw in ur blog. n i can also test power at pasir gudang track with u all. lol..

Hi bro,

Of course.. You can come over to check FOC.. didn't know u were located in jb.. If not would have offered at the beginning... Come over.. Look for the boss Ah Tiong, say u r Ah Dev friend.. Tell and ask him what u need.. We even open on Sunday. Will be happy to have another teg in the family
Hehehehehe yup.. This car is a monster....

bro, u do ur car at XH racing ?? ah tiong nickname is call monkey ??

yeah B20 is a lil "sensitive".

just dont rev too high..mebbe 8k rpm max.. like me... and i dont do it daily oso.

just make sure oils etc are in good condition and the other normal stuff la

B20s are more reliable now as most tuners have learnt from experience how to build one.

"sensitive". this scares me. i seldom rev till that high. seldom let the vtec kicks in as well. just once in a while when i feel like going fast. so i should not be worrying? u mentioned about oils have to be in good condition, i suppose u meant engine oil, gear oil, power steering oil right? is there anything else that i m missing?

n how come u reply to my questions that quick. haha

---------- Post added at 01:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:09 AM ----------

just found out that something is wrong with my throtle body. everytime vtec kicks in, the rpm goes higher than usual. i have to turn off and start again to get the rpm back to normal. why is it like that? is it really cuz of the throtle body.

"sensitive". this scares me. i seldom rev till that high. seldom let the vtec kicks in as well. just once in a while when i feel like going fast. so i should not be worrying? u mentioned about oils have to be in good condition, i suppose u meant engine oil, gear oil, power steering oil right? is there anything else that i m missing?

n how come u reply to my questions that quick. haha

---------- Post added at 01:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:09 AM ----------

just found out that something is wrong with my throtle body. everytime vtec kicks in, the rpm goes higher than usual. i have to turn off and start again to get the rpm back to normal. why is it like that? is it really cuz of the throtle body.

yeah i meant engine oil gear oil etc etc etc...the typical servicing oils la.

TB? check IACV oso...might be an issue with that...i recently had to have mine change coz of idle issues oso...mine was extremely low (at around 450rpm) and after kick in VTEC then only it goes up to 700-1k depending on her mood. cost me RM80 for a used unit.

i reply fast coz im bored...:driver:

but my rpm when idling is normal bout 900rpm. only when vtec kicks in, then idling becomes bout 1500rpm.

another issue is my idling is not stable. it moves a little up n down. sometimes its goes very high then comes back to normal for a few times continuously. aany idea?

yeah...also had the same issue with the 1500rpm.. changed IACV then ok now

as for unstable idle...could also be map sensor...best to have it checked.

thanks bro. will do as u say. appreciate it.

---------- Post added at 10:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:30 PM ----------

any one knows a reliable honda mechanic in jb? or do i have to go to TC or HV to get it checked?

[/COLOR]any one knows a reliable honda mechanic in jb? or do i have to go to TC or HV to get it checked?[/QUOTE]

bro..recommend u 1 w/shop called Xtreme Motorsports near Jusco Permas Jaya..the foreman named Ah Boi..i can gv u his contact no.if u want..

i think i saw this shop this morning when i was there. how is his work and pricing? honest? i can gimme his number? maybe tom afternoon, i'll go check it out.

thanks bro. will do as u say. appreciate it.

---------- Post added at 10:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:30 PM ----------

any one knows a reliable honda mechanic in jb? or do i have to go to TC or HV to get it checked?

i think i saw this shop this morning when i was there. how is his work and pricing? honest? i can gimme his number? maybe tom afternoon, i'll go check it out.

the pomen a.k.a towkay is my fren la bro..last time his w/shop at kota putri there, normally he use to go n drag at pasir gudang circuit on saturday nite when got honda open wit his black CRX, won 1st place 1 time long time ago..got trophy at his shop as prove..i pm u his contact no.

i'll check it out tom. need to hold on to my vafc installation if im gonna need to fork out a lot of $$ for this.