Why is the newer Honda engine block lack of hp compare to older engines??

jeff_ong

i am just curious how come Honda engine blocks in newer models are lack in hp and torque compared to older engines like those b16a, b16b, b16c and b18's.
i have seen the review in the latest coupe model launched in u.s. where the honda civic coupe is fitted with a 1.8cc engine block but it only produces 140hp. it is so dissapointing to see so few hp in a 1.8cc honda engine unlike the prime time of the v-tec in the b16's , and b18's engine block....

is it becoz that honda is looking for fuel efficient engine with power rather than just powerful engine with high fuel consumption???

*by the way i still love the roars of the honda blocks of B's like b16's and b18's...
=)

bcoz the must take care of this planet too mah.................

& give more change to after market parts maker more change to earn money......:X-:

u forgot H22A .. 200HP or H22A Type S / R (Red Top) 220HP .. N/A ..

Different country.....petrol also different rate wooo.....Japan uses Ron 100....i dun think USA same lor....

I think japanese version of civic has higher hp compare to USA version or europe version !~

Sato said:
Different country.....petrol also different rate wooo.....Japan uses Ron 100....i dun think USA same lor....

I think japanese version of civic has higher hp compare to USA version or europe version !~

malaysia use RON 97 rite...???

U have the test result? How much HP gain after installed that one?

The system itself how much leh? I think no one know how to install in B series engine locally.