b20 swap b16

The info you gathered is wrong. Stock B16A can rev up to 8k RPM safely EVERYDAY! But ensure that :

- pistons and rings are in good order
- don't forget the valvetrain components ( cams, valves and valve springs )
- fueling system is in order ( stock fueling system is enuff )

B20B Frankenstein motors is safe between 7 to 8k RPM ( but make sure fueling problems are addressed 1st, via FPR, bigger injectors and at least

hey ace79, i know the b16a can rev up to 8k safely, i currently can rev up to 10 safely, its just that i was looking to use my same pistons while converting to b20 and i heard that b20's have a maximum rpm 8500.

Anyways your info has helped out alot, a few more questions if yu dont mind me asking, if we set the rev limiter up to 8k that would mean that we would have a very short power band?

Also how much horse power gain would u expect from the set up you are talking about and how much of a budget would it take to get a complete set up lik the one yo have just mentioned cost starting from a stock standard b16a?

Thanks alot for your info
Btw that brings me to ask myupgrade whats the set up inside your engine pistons an injectors and so on?

My B16A Goes 9k rpm .... it's nice !! :P

Make sure your car have higher levels of valvetrain components ( like from Jun, Toda, Crower etc ) or not, stop revving your car up to 10k RPM.

A safe RPM limit for B20B conversions is around 7 to 8k RPM.

Why limit rev to 8k RPM : because currently, the max RPM I've tested on a B20B conversion is that, no more. And the powerband can only go that much ( stock components ), so that's why I advise to limit the rev.

Horsepower gain, I think maximum maybe extra 5 whp. But you gain a lot of torque, from as low as 2k RPM onwards.

Budget around at least RM 3000 for a B20B conversion ( as long as u oledi got a B16A inside your Honda.

prelude_b16a said:
hey ace79, i know the b16a can rev up to 8k safely, i currently can rev up to 10 safely, its just that i was looking to use my same pistons while converting to b20 and i heard that b20's have a maximum rpm 8500.

Anyways your info has helped out alot, a few more questions if yu dont mind me asking, if we set the rev limiter up to 8k that would mean that we would have a very short power band?

Also how much horse power gain would u expect from the set up you are talking about and how much of a budget would it take to get a complete set up lik the one yo have just mentioned cost starting from a stock standard b16a?

Thanks alot for your info
Btw that brings me to ask myupgrade whats the set up inside your engine pistons an injectors and so on?

Originally Posted by prelude_b16a

this is where i dont understand?how can you convert to a B20B while using back your B16A pistons?B20B is a 84mm bore while the B16A is a 81mm bore.

B16A and B20B...well i would have to say that if you like to high rev your car then go for B16A cos the B20B cant take the beating.of cos in terms of power the B20B wins hands down.

Im completely new to the b20b engine, i know nothing about it...

Anyway if the gain is less than 5whp i think id rather stick with my b16a and mod that up, what do u guys say? reason being i like being able to stay in power band and reving up high.

its all depands on how you build you engine and how much performance parts you have.i've seen a B16A did around 183whp and i've seen a B20B 170whp.both in malaysia.

any recommendations you got to do up my b16a with bout 2 an a half k, i initially had 5, but my synchromesh went in the gearbox and i gotta get a new gearbox plus i gotta spend on shocks. i was think to go for safc neo as my chip on ecu is screwed up, fuel map is messed up and vtec opening at 4800rpm, after putting on dyno so lag for 1k till 5800rpm, so i might as well sort that out wit the neo first huh? thought of getting a used exhaust manifold to... anyway any suggestions?

with about 2.5k there's not much you can to but since you said you're having problem with your ecu why dont you go and get yourself a second hand blue e-manage which going to cost your around 700 to 800 bucks and then tuning plus installation will cost you around 250.why emanage cos emanage can tune ignition.correct me if i'm wrong but the apexi neo cant rite?then with the balance of money you can get a exhaust manifold.

Oh, sorry, I missed that part. That ( B16A pistons into B20B blocks ) I dunno lah.

Daniel1688 said:
Originally Posted by prelude_b16a

this is where i dont understand?how can you convert to a B20B while using back your B16A pistons?B20B is a 84mm bore while the B16A is a 81mm bore.

B16A and B20B...well i would have to say that if you like to high rev your car then go for B16A cos the B20B cant take the beating.of cos in terms of power the B20B wins hands down.

Yeah daniel you are correct about the emanage, the only reason i dont want the emanage is cos every time i want to change the setting gotta go to the garage and my mechanic doesnt have good reviews on emanage, but the ultimate is a completely different story of course. i dunoo im still thinking bout it. propabably will go for the cheaper and more better solution! thanks alot guys

prelude_b16a said:
Yeah daniel you are correct about the emanage, the only reason i dont want the emanage is cos every time i want to change the setting gotta go to the garage and my mechanic doesnt have good reviews on emanage, but the ultimate is a completely different story of course. i dunoo im still thinking bout it. propabably will go for the cheaper and more better solution! thanks alot guys

well diff mech diff opinion but in the end of the day its up to you.i'm used vafc before and then i've switch to haltech but now i'm using emanage.interm of daily useage and worth your money i have to say emanege is the solution.i have quite a number of frens who are suing emanage on their car.even a 200whp B18cr street car!

hmmm, okay i trust your opinion and it is cheaper to right? do u know anyone selling a used emanage? I just liked the design for the new safc neo... hehe

Can you tell me any upgrades i can be able to do in the future? and say how much i should budget? my modifactions are limited to engine because i drive an 85 honda prelude, so suspension and stuff is hard to come by.

i'm not too familiar with prelude but as for B16A maybe in the future you could get stage 3 cams (make sure you get the valve springs and retainers too!),a complete B18CR intake manifold,CTR pistons,and of cos gearings.with all this your ride would be more fun!

i think we better bring this somewhere else as we are hijacking this tread.my apoologies to the owner of this tread!

no prob man..since we are zthorians..might share useful infos...
by the way, is there anyone know where i could get b18 type R block?or b16b?

you could try ss racing.they should have.i got mine from them

Yeah sorry for high jacking bro! Thanks alot daniel, i think u will be hearing from me again hehe...

no problem...feel free to ask anything.will help you out anyway i can.

hey..is there anyone who know / wanna swap my engine (b20) wif b16b / b18c type R?