anyone know wat is my civic's problem?

renxun

im driving an EG-8 fully converted to EG9 spec and recently i had a problem. This problem mostly happens at night..sometimes daytime too...

when i switch on my ignition key. of course i have to wait d engine check light to go off n then wait for my beep to finish b4.. i click start it... but when i click i only heard tik-tak sound very soft... i thought it was my battery which was weak ... then i changed a new battery n checked the charging..and it seems to be working perfectly. but then tis happens some of the times.. i try to on the lights and radio to start the car but nothing went dimmed out even my dash board lights are still bright when i click d key... its just tat i heard a soft tik tak sound only.

2nd question is , i had slightly souped up my car... and i would like to upgrade my suspensions.....preferably wif firm ride yet not too uncomfortable..because when i accelerate my car 2d max at corners or even straight i felt its not easy to control d steering....i sent my car for total check everyting regarding my handling assemblies including bushes ,wheel balancing,alignment n even reset d ride height ..it gets better but its still a little bit too dangerous if i continue upgrade the performance without fixing tis matter 1st... any opinion guys? ur help n comments are very much appreciated

if not the battery, and not the alternator.. possibly starter starting to give signs of it's death. (O_o)

a friend of mine had the same problem but he's driving a perdana 2.0 SEi. Anyway he replaced the starter once but the problem stayed... then somehow a mechanic found the culprit... wiring problem involving the alarm system.

he got the wiring problem sorted out and now his perdana can be started without problem. might be the same for you but there are 36 possible causes la so a bit hard to troubleshoot.

anyway for your handling problems... aftermarket sus system might help.
coilovers - TEIN is cool... comfort level quite low though but possible to replace the springs and gas/oil grade
eibach + koni combo - used this one... chun. used to go fast in the exit to MRR2 from KL-seremban hiway
kgmm + eibach - ask hattech
spoon stuff - ask shiro heheh... or maybe mynnDAWG... not sure though what setup he was using

Oh.. didn't notice the suspension question.
The spoon shockers I'm using is the yellow non adjustable ones.
They're a bit stiff, probably a bit more than GAB and Eibach and not likely for the everyday driver..
The car sits approx' 1.5-2cm lower than stock (guesstimate)

Photoes (old pics, before install and during the initial front end work of the car)
The shocks:
spoon-1.jpg

Installed on the car, undergoing front end work due to prev owner's accident damage. Notice that the brake lines are not installed, and there's only 3 lug nuts out of 5 on that wheel.. ROFL! And yeah.. I sanded some parts down to bare metal before finally leaving the work to a pro. That pro charged me 900 bucks for just the engine bay alone because he did the same as I did, sanded it down to bare metal.. ROFL! (cannot lose to a DIYer, mah!)
DSC00275.jpg

Dashboard will shake after the miles accumulate using these stiff shocks (i.e. you drive at the same speed no matter the road's condition), so when reassembling the dashboard (2nd time), I cut some rubber tubes and used them as washers.. no more shake shake.

The sensitivity is great at higher speeds, and you can really sweep corners if you want to.

TIEN is also stiff, even more so than mine.. esp the pillow ball versions, which will also make your dashboard shake after a lot of driving. However, if you opted for the teflon upper versions, and damping control, you can play with it to get the level of comfort or stiffness you like. EDFC you can get for 1.3-1.4K if order direct I think, dunno the local market price. Tien's are on two of kelantan group's EK.

Buddy Club.. not sure what model.. anodized red... aluminium body.
Also considered on par with tien, althought that aluminium body is supposed to offer an even stiffer ride.

Ohlin is the best (previously on an EK sedan with B16B, sold off the car and shocks seperately already) , although seeing the price tag will put A LOT of people off.

IMO, all the branded aftermarkets are really really stiff.. I can honestly say it's not to everyones taste.

Mugen's one... no comment.. I wasn't particularly impressed, but well.. maybe it was just the car.

realli thx alot for d opinions but after doing so searching i found out tat d review for TITAN is good...n obviously i wouldnt prefer my dashboard to shake after some miles of drivings. u know previously i had tis trouble getting d dashboard properly installed when i convert to EG9..u know la kedai potong stuffs...and right now everything is tight like a virgin...hehehe.... but i havent get to know wher can i actually find places which can install n do d work nicely for my sus?

well.. slightly souped up means you don't need super stiff shocks right?

I've no experience with titan.. but if it's not a performance shock, then you're good to go.. real performance shocks aren't for the casual driver. They're just a bit too stiff.

ooh...nope nope .. i dont need super stiff shocks bcuz my car's hp was not even 200hp...yet....as d upgrade been done.. found out tat its time to balance up d handling as well .. cuz it can go very dangerous to sweep mrr2 h'way turns at 160-170... dun feel confident in it...

woah.. 160-170kmh? Daredevil ah you? on what tires?

But seriously, once you go for stiff shocks, you find that steering response is very very good, unlike the stockers, which are comfortable, but steering response.. hehe.. not that good lah. I've lost count how many times the steering response help me steer out of trouble..

Dashboard shake not a major problemlah.. if you mechanic can install the dash properly, sure won't shake even if you use stiff shocks.

eh .. til now i stil havent get to know wher i can do my suspension thingy ek