any commend

alantan350

all sifu there, let think this way.
if a stock 4afe engine want to do a overhaul, can it change to bt piston? how about the
compression after change it to bt piston? will it the cheaper way to do overhaul? any site effect or not? i think the bt piston will be more hardened then normal 4afe piston. dun ask me just change it to bt engine please, cos no money, some more want to do inspection.

From wat I know..
The BT high comp pistons won't fit into a 4A-FE without tons of mods bro...

The pin is different.. Bore size is bigger.. So its not really worth the mod in my opinion...

the question is qat do u expect to get by changing the piston? increase horse power? or any other benefits?

if u wanna use bt piston on 4afe, even u spend money on fitting it in, i dun think it will bring any huse difference in performance, if u are running on a budget... why dun u try custom supercharged or turbo... i think the cost is lower than connverting a bt, and u get new pistons n almost new engine....

the question is qat do u expect to get by changing the piston? increase horse power? or any other benefits?

if u wanna use bt piston on 4afe, even u spend money on fitting it in, i dun think it will bring any huse difference in performance, if u are running on a budget... why dun u try custom supercharged or turbo... i think the cost is lower than connverting a bt, and u get new pistons n almost new engine....

Sorry disturbing this thread... I think the way upgrade turbo cost is might causing more than buying a BT halfcut kua... :hmmmm:

i try to calculate it roughly...
engine bottom with block supercharge - RM 600
Injector (let say 395cc supercharge) - RM 200
Metal Gasket - RM 200
Piping intercooler - RM 1200
Intercooler - RM 500
Map sensor - RM 250
Piggy back ECU - RM 650
Turbo (maybe AR80) - RM 500

Total are about RM 4100 already... It still haven't calculate the workman fee yet...

From wat I know..
The BT high comp pistons won't fit into a 4A-FE without tons of mods bro...

The pin is different.. Bore size is bigger.. So its not really worth the mod in my opinion...

i think (if i not mistaken:hmmmm:) i have another idea to do it too...:idea:
If i not mistaken, 4AFE and 4AG are sharing the same bottom block (except 7AFE, but it able to interchange with 4AFE or 4AG head)... So why not we may use the 4AG or 7A complete bottom block with 4AFE head? Safe time and work, right?

Cost of part:
4AGE block - RM 600
BT Flywheel & cover (because it different) - RM 300

Total: RM900... still without workman fee...

bro.. i m talking about turbo kit lah.. coz i think below 4k can get already.. bt 5 speed already 4k now...

btw agree with u on 7afe... bro alantan i think u can consider dropping 7afe.. much easier n plug n play.. if dun wan endorse then ketuk engine no loh... 1.8l... sure much better than 4afe... fc i think almost the same lah...may be slightly higher only...

Haha... good choice!

I'm also gonna start 7A project soon..
Hopefully everything run smoothly.
Its one of the more budget conscious ways to mod..

In my humble opinion.. the 4A-FE head actually produces more usable torque at low RPMs..
So for everyday driving if you mate it to a 7A block... hehe. You get the picture..

first of all,
topic starter mentioned, dont want to change block and hassle with puspakom/jpj

im not sure, 4afe is 16v right? blacktop 20v. so how to port 4 valves per piston into 5 valves piston. unless you DIY. how to DIY? hehhehehe im interested to know the technical of it.

first of all,

im not sure, 4afe is 16v right? blacktop 20v. so how to port 4 valves per piston into 5 valves piston. unless you DIY. how to DIY? hehhehehe im interested to know the technical of it.

Haha.. sorry. Got carried away...
Actually I sendiri gatal wan to masuk 7A block..:rofl:
My bad bro..

Anyways..
Bro alantan, like scott mentioned.. its pretty much up to wat you're expecting.
Piston mod alone won't gain you much power increase (I think la..) And the costs to mod might be quite pricey.. So its well worth considering other options..

first of all,

Haha... I didn't see that. Sorry bro

The statement that 5V piston and 4V piston, I logical think 5V should able to put it at 4V, because I saw the BT piston top are flat. Another reason are because another valve is intake valve, so during the process life cycle, the piston is on decompression time, the valve just open up so won't able to hit the piston at all. Even i found local guy also use this method as 20 bottom block + 16V header (4AG) without mod and problem too. Correct me if it is wrong, thanks.

Not worth doin' it, not cheap and almost impossible to fit 20V piston on 16V 4AFE. Better look for 4AGE 16V (140hp) piston instead or other types of hi-comp piston suited for 16V engines (mivec/vtec). Also need to rebore the engine, balancing and customizing the engine to suit the new pistons. Not sure if you can find metal gaskets for 4AFE though. If you do, get thinner metal gasket to further increase the compression. But remember, hi-comp engines tend to have knocking and hi-temperature. So you'll need to use better fuel, cooling and maybe management. Timing is critical on hi-comp setup.
Perhaps the easiest way to "feel more power" on your current engine is to fit a BT 5spd (C56) gearbox.

P/S: You might want to search on some Thai forums for mods on your 4AFE. Those guys have some pretty fast 4AFE on their corolla.. even 4-throttle on 4AFE ;)

Just my 2 cents :driver:

They sifu la..
Haaha.. I'm not any sifu.
I oso cracking my head how to make my car go faster..
At the moment snail oso overtake me!

anywhere my car is local one, no cut rev,top speed will be around 200km/h, i try one time 190km/h at kesas highway, still can go up some more, just searching around how to improve the engine.