Air intake modifications

SimonsayZ said:
IC, thx for the reply. What brands are available for twin loop mufflers? I'm interested to get one of those. What do you personally recommend?

twin loop only by mugen

malaysian brand one made by datco..... n i guess there's a few in for sale forum....

yeah...unfamiliar japan tuners usually produce cool n rare stuff...which we are only able to drool to look at it.

about the taggings.. well yeah. there's RO for race use only and SR for street legal.. using the RO's meaning that u are actually breaking the law haha.

anyway i think border 304 speed is nice for vtec..since NA is well know for the sound produced by the engine.. but long distance - its killing me liao. baaaaaaanggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg hahah. so far so good la evrytime bumped with jpj they never asked me abt the exhaust..

there are those nice mufflers where it match very well with vtec engines, but can u tahan the sound over a long distance?

to me either standard type r or twin loop is good enough.... but give nice humm with performance. i can't expect best performance from them, but how often do i race the engine....

yeah some exhaust produce deep bassy sound when at final gear. thats y somtimes tak tahan with this 304. but then again, when in a tunnel, try to get ur vtec kicked-in. steam bai.......hahahahaahha

off course la, i've followed my friends ek9 with rs*r, stimm ooooo all da way, but only short distance travel.... hehehe

Original twin loop.....only by MUGEN

imitations.... by datco, thailand n etc....

i like all sounds made by vtec....haha

but 304, rs*r, HKS, mugen 's sound is very nice.....

J101 said:
i was just flipping the hyper-rev bibles, and i noticed that the small tuners have nice extractors, big ones too but i cant see the jasma tag.... maybe big companies like 5Zigen, Spoon and etc get their stuff stamped. since the small tuners are selling within the country itself that is why they are more like hytechexhaust, rmf and an-r in usa.

that taxation thing something i didnt know about.

i myself using the 304s, not JPJ friendly :p

have a good weekend.

cheers n have a good weekend too...

How about the 5zigen fireball? i find it really bassy....and can get abit loud sometimes....

5Zigen Fireball is nice and okay. it depends on your engine. if you have some strong engine..then it'll be un-friendly to your neighbours and authorities.

J's racing also got full titatnium zorst system for popular performance honda models... costs a Bomb....

hmm, was thinking the same thing..
so, no other alternatives, beside the 2 mentioned above n not replacing the muffler?
guess i'll opt for adding another center bullet, as equipt in silencer may make the fiber burn faster

Any good extractor recommended for Honda City 03 VTEC? :) there is one 4-1 mugen replica in the market now... but not sure if it is good enuff or not... any other recommendation? thanks.

lightningfield said:
as mentioned by our mr. alex xxxx,
wish i could get a complete original piping for the 5zigen border 304...hehe
Woah.. old post!
Haha.. I got one now.. but nobody willing to buy since it's very expensive.. 3K+

If you want for street, forget it! straight pipe! track only.. so if you want it for track, PM me.

chiathau,
A fake will do fine, but make sure the weldings are okay.. might have leaks on the weld spots with regular use. All that matters is how well it flows if you want power.

Still you've got to buy an own an ori one to notice the attention they pay to welding the pipes. I also bought a fake one at first, but the joints started leaking (at the weld seams) after much use. The weldings were not that great. Some people do get lucky and get fakes that have nice welds (in terms of strength, not looks!)

Hi Shiroitensi,

Thanks for the info. BTW, is there anyway for us to know that the welding is good or not? (Sorry pretty newbie in this area). And how do we check if the extractor is not leaking? (usually we will notice this after fix? or we could notice that once we see it). BTW, what will cause a extractor to start leaking?

And you also mention that how well it flow.. u mean internal build of the extractor..? or... the diameter of the extractor..? :"P

Thanks again for all the info. :)

chiathau said:
Hi Shiroitensi,

Thanks for the info. BTW, is there anyway for us to know that the welding is good or not? (Sorry pretty newbie in this area). And how do we check if the extractor is not leaking? (usually we will notice this after fix? or we could notice that once we see it). BTW, what will cause a extractor to start leaking?

And you also mention that how well it flow.. u mean internal build of the extractor..? or... the diameter of the extractor..? :"P

Thanks again for all the info. :)

I myself don't know how to see, since I'm not a welder by trade.. but from what I asked people, the reasons the welds come off is that the welder didn't heat the part they weld properly.

The leaks are sometimes big, and sometimes small. As to how you know it leaks... the exhaust smell (actually petrol-like smell, since carbon monoxide is supposed to be colourless and odourless) usually gets into your aircond, so that's usually a sign.

As for how the extractor leaks.. the weld spots get loose/tear from vibrations of your daily driving. In malaysian roads, even the turbo'ed cars with giant turbine have to fabricate a bracket to hold the turbine so the manifold won't come off at the weld seams (and we're talking branded HKS products here!)

As for the flow.. just make sure there's nothing in the pipes.. I've once seen a beautifully made extractor which was chromed and had quite okay looking welds on top... I looked inside the pipe, and there it was.. a lot of lumps of welds inside the pipe. It's okay for looks, but performance wise.. restrictions oh!