Air intake modifications

xxxx said:
wah, u hav one ar? but u say u've never seen one o....haha

tried to smooth the inner part? where? too bad....the imitations of extractor.....better get urself a used japan one....haha

i have a mugen imitation only...not a titanium exhaust...

yep...the welding quality was really sucks...so bulky and u can even see that the diameter of the inner pipe (wherever welded) are absolutely smaller than the rest..and of coz its not mandrel bended....:Not_Impressed:

yep, until i found myself a good genuine used branded extractor, i'll stick to the std cast iron one..heheh..

lightningfield said:
ahhhhh... nice..................................

nice? i have even more nice nice ones......pics only la......haha
held in hand n touched!!! but not mine.....cis!:Not_Impressed:

oderf,

i know....

ya, better take ur time n get a nice one.....

lightingfield again,
tat rs*r is really nice man......haha....

very well said by the sifus here :regular_smile:

but the topic should be "exhaust manifold/extractors modification", not "intake".... :cyclops:

another thing i would like to add based what i saw in the marketplace is ppl
seems to be hyped up about the JASMA tag. I noticed they do not prefer, rsr, 5-zigen or mugen but prefer JASMA. Too many misleading information about the JASMA safety procedures and noise control tag. I guess no JASMA, no sell. Please do check www.jasma.org

not forgetting that extractors do not make power, power comes from the engine. it exhales what u have produced from the engine. power may differ on dyno and setups.

when u have good power from the engine u need a good extractor to flow it out..toda and hytech is the choice..ehehe

wat i think is, the power of ur engine is ALREADY there, it's just tat it is being restricted by all kind of factors & one of the factors is the exhaust system.
So, making a better flow of gas out of ur engine will release the potential HP tat is there all the time. so u dun make new HP, but u freed the the HP tat is locked/blocked.

TODA ka? i want also want la....but no money n hard to get used ones. Plus, i dun think that there's a model of toda for small V.

J101 said:
another thing i would like to add based what i saw in the marketplace is ppl
seems to be hyped up about the JASMA tag. I noticed they do not prefer, rsr, 5-zigen or mugen but prefer JASMA. Too many misleading information about the JASMA safety procedures and noise control tag. I guess no JASMA, no sell. Please do check http://www.jasma.org
quote]

bro, we gotta explain to them. JASMA is like SIRIM. they r not a brand.

BUT, normally those branded stuffs like rsr, 5-zigen or mugen WILL
HAVE the JASMA tag on them. those with jasma tag but no brand tag is just certified stuff made by dunno wat company....

i have a feeling that few high end versions do not have the tag. worst scenario you will see a sticker outside the box having the "race use onry". by then, that wouldnt be consider a jasma-stamped product since its gonna be loud and not for street use. i dunno. maybe they have another SIRIM back there which we dont know about which probably has a tiny QC sticker.

xxxx said:
bro, we gotta explain to them. JASMA is like SIRIM. they r not a brand.

BUT, normally those branded stuffs like rsr, 5-zigen or mugen WILL
HAVE the JASMA tag on them. those with jasma tag but no brand tag is just certified stuff made by dunno wat company....

How come Piping + Extractor without muffler is for race use and piping + extractor+muffler is for street use?Whats the difference with or without muffler?Why cant use piping + extractor with no muffler for street?And why cant use muffler for race?Confused...=)

it can be used here in malaysia regardless its for race spec or street use. only in japan if the muffler got RO (Race Only) tag, mean its illegal to be used on the road. in other word, they will get summon if using RO muffler for street use.

J101 said:
i have a feeling that few high end versions do not have the tag. worst scenario you will see a sticker outside the box having the "race use onry". by then, that wouldnt be consider a jasma-stamped product since its gonna be loud and not for street use. i dunno. maybe they have another SIRIM back there which we dont know about which probably has a tiny QC sticker.

bro, high end version? how high is ur high end version?
normally those that u r refering to r those specially tuned for race use. so, do u think they will use stock engine for race use? Of course no rite?
so, those tuned ones r for race prepared engines. unless ur engine is heaily modded like tat, do u think it is suitable to use a "for race only" stuff for a stock engine?
most ppl r using stock or lightly modded engines.so, those with a jasma tag would be fine but if ur engine is heavily modded, then u should opted for a race use only stuff.
even 5-zigen's border max 304 "RO" has a jasma tag stating tat it's for race use only.

last time, an exhaust shop owner told me tat those without jasma tag r meant for countries outside japan because if u export the stuffs ,they'll be charged with a high tax.

HanJackaL said:
How come Piping + Extractor without muffler is for race use and piping + extractor+muffler is for street use?Whats the difference with or without muffler?Why cant use piping + extractor with no muffler for street?And why cant use muffler for race?Confused...=)

the MAIN purpose of a muffler is to reduce the noise level produce by the exhaust gas. therefore, it'll restrict some HP.(a little bit only la).
so, our government doesn't allow noisy cars on the road rite?
therefore, we hav to use muffler la.
FOR Example, do u see F1 cars or NASCAR car's exhaust using a muffler?
OF COURSE NO rite? it'll be very noisy without the muffler but less restriction.

u can use any setup tat u want for ur car....as long as u like it la....
but i dun think the noise level of a car without muffler will be on the allowed level......haha

Hi all and Happy Chinese New Year!

What about those twin loop or S-flow type muffler (dunno what it's called)? I know those are not noisy but do they produce good power? I seen so many hatchback civics using those so I was wondering why? Is there any difference between the cheap ones and the branded ones? :_:

SimonsayZ said:
Hi all and Happy Chinese New Year!

What about those twin loop or S-flow type muffler (dunno what it's called)? I know those are not noisy but do they produce good power? I seen so many hatchback civics using those so I was wondering why? Is there any difference between the cheap ones and the branded ones? :_:

as mentioned by our mr. alex xxxx,

the quality of the branded stuff surpasses the quality of the cheap ones. yes, the material may be the same, but the build will be totally different. im not makin fun of those cap ayam brands, but u can see and compare say their welding with the originals.

for me, it would be better to get USED, branded items, rather than buying brand new, fake items.

wish i could get a complete original piping for the 5zigen border 304...hehe

IC, thx for the reply. What brands are available for twin loop mufflers? I'm interested to get one of those. What do you personally recommend?

i was just flipping the hyper-rev bibles, and i noticed that the small tuners have nice extractors, big ones too but i cant see the jasma tag.... maybe big companies like 5Zigen, Spoon and etc get their stuff stamped. since the small tuners are selling within the country itself that is why they are more like hytechexhaust, rmf and an-r in usa.

that taxation thing something i didnt know about.

i myself using the 304s, not JPJ friendly :p

have a good weekend.

xxxx said:
bro, high end version? how high is ur high end version?
normally those that u r refering to r those specially tuned for race use. so, do u think they will use stock engine for race use? Of course no rite?
so, those tuned ones r for race prepared engines. unless ur engine is heaily modded like tat, do u think it is suitable to use a "for race only" stuff for a stock engine?
most ppl r using stock or lightly modded engines.so, those with a jasma tag would be fine but if ur engine is heavily modded, then u should opted for a race use only stuff.
even 5-zigen's border max 304 "RO" has a jasma tag stating tat it's for race use only.

last time, an exhaust shop owner told me tat those without jasma tag r meant for countries outside japan because if u export the stuffs ,they'll be charged with a high tax.