Throttle and intake manifold upgrade

ARTA

Is there any big difference between B16A's intake manifold and that of an ITR's? So, when upgrading, issit recommended that the intake manifold to be changed/upgraded along with the throttle body of an ITR's? Or by upgrading the throttle body is good enough? Anyone care to share some opinion on this? :)

Lemme see if i can answer this...

1. Price: ITR = >rm1500, b16a = el cheapo grunde...
2. TB size: ITR = 62mm, b16a= 60mm but can go up to 64mm for RM200 at sg besi
3. Intake manifold: Both have the same single plennum and not the dual plennum like b18c...single plennum good for high rpm but loss a bit of torque at 5000rpm and below..thats where the dual plennum is good for...so plus with B20B block, kereta pi depan, tayaq tinggal belakang...haha...
4. Intake manifold: length of runners = same...both short and large...B18C runners panjang to accomodate the dual plannum and for torque
5. Tapiiii....jeng jeng....itu Type r punye IM sudah port and polish...B16A taraaaa...so less restriction and more velocity....Vrommmmm...weeeenggggggg (VTEC masyukkk)....
6. Name sake wise: Nanti org tanye...lu punye IM and TB apa? Type r ka???? Bukan type r nanti saham jatuh skittt....

'Macam macam adaaaaa'....

Originally posted by basahboy@Apr 5 2005, 12:53
Lemme see if i can answer this...

1. Price: ITR = >rm1500, b16a = el cheapo grunde...
2. TB size: ITR = 62mm, b16a= 60mm but can go up to 64mm for RM200 at sg besi
3. Intake manifold: Both have the same single plennum and not the dual plennum like b18c...single plennum good for high rpm but loss a bit of torque at 5000rpm and below..thats where the dual plennum is good for...so plus with B20B block, kereta pi depan, tayaq tinggal belakang...haha...
4. Intake manifold: length of runners = same...both short and large...B18C runners panjang to accomodate the dual plannum and for torque
5. Tapiiii....jeng jeng....itu Type r punye IM sudah port and polish...B16A taraaaa...so less restriction and more velocity....Vrommmmm...weeeenggggggg (VTEC masyukkk)....
6. Name sake wise: Nanti org tanye...lu punye IM and TB apa? Type r ka???? Bukan type r nanti saham jatuh skittt....

'Macam macam adaaaaa'....
[snapback]870036[/snapback]​

Sorry ya, the B18c i mentioned issit the GSR's or the B18CR ? And when u say both same, u mean both B16a's and ITR's have same lenght? And also, u were saying ori ITR IM already port and polished? abit confused :huh: sorry yaa :P

Originally posted by ARTA@Apr 5 2005, 12:12
Is there any big difference between B16A's intake manifold and that of an ITR's? So, when upgrading, issit recommended that the intake manifold to be changed/upgraded along with the throttle body of an ITR's? Or by upgrading the throttle body is good enough? Anyone care to share some opinion on this? https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />
[snapback]869907[/snapback]​

My 2 cents:

Upgrading to the ITR intake will definitely be different compared to B16A. Size is definitely different. As for performance wise, it also depends on what mods you have. If you are running standard B16A, then maybe not so suitable if you simply use ITR intake. CTR intake seems to be the choice of most modders. But again, it would require your engine to have some significant modifications to optimise the use of the intake. No use taking in so much air, if your engine cannot use and do not need the extra air.

As for upgrading the TB, to me the power difference is not very significant on low RPM. The slight power comes during mid-range and top-end power. This is when more air is required and an oversized TB will be able to supply this. But again, the difference is not very significant, still there is some difference.

And to answer your question whether to upgrade just the TB or intake, well the price difference is very much different. An oversized TB for B16A would cost you around RM300 + trade-in of old TB. The price of the intake.. well that's much more expensive. Got the budget, go for it. Would be useful if you mod your engine in the future. If not, go step by step. Feel the TB power first, then later upgrade your intake and feel the power difference there.

Originally posted by Riezal-R+Apr 5 2005, 15:06 -->
QUOTE(Riezal-R @ Apr 5 2005, 15:06 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />
[snapback]869907[/snapback]​
[/b]

My 2 cents:

Upgrading to the ITR intake will definitely be different compared to B16A. Size is definitely different. As for performance wise, it also depends on what mods you have. If you are running standard B16A, then maybe not so suitable if you simply use ITR intake. CTR intake seems to be the choice of most modders. But again, it would require your engine to have some significant modifications to optimise the use of the intake. No use taking in so much air, if your engine cannot use and do not need the extra air.

As for upgrading the TB, to me the power difference is not very significant on low RPM. The slight power comes during mid-range and top-end power. This is when more air is required and an oversized TB will be able to supply this. But again, the difference is not very significant, still there is some difference.

And to answer your question whether to upgrade just the TB or intake, well the price difference is very much different. An oversized TB for B16A would cost you around RM300 + trade-in of old TB. The price of the intake.. well that's much more expensive. Got the budget, go for it. Would be useful if you mod your engine in the future. If not, go step by step. Feel the TB power first, then later upgrade your intake and feel the power difference there.
[snapback]870517[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanx bro , Riezal-R. :D How if B20's wif ITR cam using the ITR intake manifold wif the throttle along?

B20 I also not very sure. Mostly I see ppl using B20 block + B16 head + CTR intake. Most common recipe around here. But don't take my word for it.

I think if you already use B20 block, surely can use ITR intake and TB already. Your engine would definitely optimise the use of a larger intake and TB. But how the power compares to a CTR intake and TB, I dunno. I once read in Honda Tuning magazine, that a CTR intake provides more top-end power when used on a B18C engine.