after ThrottleBody cleaning and retune ...top speed decreased ...help .

K&N filter, you wont feel much. Stay with stock, better filtration. Plus SVDO TB is prone to malfunction when dirty. You are paying RM275 for a filter that filters less then your 10bucks stock filter. Unless your car is pushing 200++ bhp, K&N filters won't really give much of a difference. It's just psychological. Keep the money for exhaust and LCP.For exhaust, I decatted first, then headers, then straight flow muffler. Now I'm saving money for LCP.:biggrin:

ok damone ..dont mind if i ask you another stupid question lol ...you said knn is not suitable for my stock engine because my engine doesn't purchase such horsepower ..then would like to ask what if i go for the zenden drop in air filter that so called replacement of knn ....130 bucks ..i saw alot of feedback from forumers eventhough their engine is still in stock ...coz somehow i still think that cotton filter is still better than paper quality filter wor ...about the extractor ...zenden offer me full set exhaust system for 450 bucks ...4-2-1 tuned extractor ..zenden mid bullet ...and straight flow muffler ...(muffler) not sure is zenden or not ...piping stay stock as he claimed that not neccessary to bigger it the diameter ...coz the stock piping size is suitable for my stock engine ....

A good air filter is needed regardless what displacement your engine is, smoother puff would bring more air for combustion. Open pod only works well with proper tuning and basic mod...

Not sure abt zenden price range, but rm450 for a extractor + piping + muffler is a good deal, just make sure the quality is there will do... enjoy modding...

Go for it. But be warned that when you change to straight flow, your radio will be useless, and conversations at 110km/h will not be heard. Oh, and your heart will skip a beat everytime you see a roadblock. Try to go for s-flow. With straight flow, for me, 4th and 5th gear are weaker at lower rpms as compared to stock s-flow before. Means I need to change often. My headers are from Wai Heng. Not sure if the piping length is the same, can anyone verify? Try going for the headers and bullet first. You will feel instant improvement.

As for air filter. read this http://autospeed.com/cms/A_2232/article.html.

Im using stock paper filter also. A mechanical test shows it all. I also have a vacuum gauge in the car, I have used K&N open pod before, no difference, besides the sound and the loss of low end torque.

Engineers have designed the car to be easily maintained. If SVDO ecu want to use open pod, you have to have a longer piping, meaning having the filter at the bumper area, and a larger reservoir tank for air.

Read more here. A Tribute To Mit 4G92 MIVEC: Flowless Victory : OEM vs K&N

maybe you get me wrong again ? xD ....i said aftermarket drop in filter wor ...not open pod ..coz my car is stock 4g13 ...kinda know open pod is definitely not suitable for my stock engine ...or you mean ... are you trying to tell me stock drop in filter is still better than the aftermarket drop in filter ?

You know what.... i see them ketuk ketuk the throttle during "setting" to adjust the idling...
Like that also can meh... SVDO boleh..... boleh "ba lam ha"
bawah pokok mechanics style... lolz...

You right.
Too smart... always self learning so difficult too tuning.
Myvis also the same..... if incorrect, telan minyak and lack power...
DYI will be difficult without the proper equipments and knowhow.
svdo can reflash rite??.. so the next time it readjust itself, it wont follow the old oem setting... it will readjust to what u've programmed inside... can do??...

K&N filter, you wont feel much. Stay with stock, better filtration. Plus SVDO TB is prone to malfunction when dirty. You are paying RM275 for a filter that filters less then your 10bucks stock filter. Unless your car is pushing 200++ bhp, K&N filters won't really give much of a difference. It's just psychological. Keep the money for exhaust and LCP.For exhaust, I decatted first, then headers, then straight flow muffler. Now I'm saving money for LCP.:biggrin:
oem paper filter is as good as aftermarket performance filter WHEN IT IS CLEAN... oem filter gets clogged up very fast when it starts to get dirty while performance filter (such as k&n) can store more dirt before getting restrictive...

this is true for both open pod and drop in filter...

well ..i juz did a research btw knn filters and oem filters ...lol ...there's so many ppl saying that ..stay back to the stock oem filters is the best ..although it has to be changed due to every 30k-40k mileage ....but it is cheap enough ..its not a problem to change it....if thats the case ...then i think i had made my mind up ...like damone said ...stay back to oem filters is a good choice ....do you agree skywalker ?rather than spending few hundred bucks for a aftermarket filter

Yeah, I mean stock drop in is better in terms of filtration. You never hear Ferarri or Lambo owners sing praises to K&N filter don't you? Did you red the blog post at the bottom? I did not mean open pod also. Looks like you are the one who got me wrong.Again. :rofl:

---------- Post added at 03:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:24 AM ----------

If SVDO can reflash, can intro to me? I want to change my stock mapping.:thefinger: The workshop that can do that con-lan-firm rich already lor. AFAIK, SVDO ecu's cant be reflashed, only works if you have a standalone management.

And, for filter papers that get clogged up, does not impair air flow. It has been tried and tested. Actually it is better if it is covered with dirt, it helps with the filtration, without impairing the air flow. K&N filters are based on the concept also, am I correct? The more the filter is dirtier, the better the filtration. Oxygen molecules are in an atomic scale, do you think a dirty filter will actually stop the passing through of the oxygen molecules?

haha by the way ...i think i will listen to you and stay to stock filter ...juz change it every 30 - 40k mileage ...like this all the way should be no problem right ? xD ...and another thing i wanna know ...straight flow is better for high end rpm or s flow is better for high end rpm ?

Standard is the best. About the muffler, well, i have only tested one setup, which is my current one 4-2-1, bullet and straight flow. Reaching 160km/h is a little slower. But with straight flow, when you 'tarik' is nicer is gears 1,2 and 3. I have never tried an aftermarket s-flow, so I can't say. But for straight flow, i get better low end torque for city driving, and when I want to overtake people, its slightly faster then the stock s-flow I was on. Just be wary of the noise you are going to producela. If you do not want much hassle, go for s-flow.

Yeah, I mean stock drop in is better in terms of filtration. You never hear Ferarri or Lambo owners sing praises to K&N filter don't you? Did you red the blog post at the bottom? I did not mean open pod also. Looks like you are the one who got me wrong.Again. :rofl:

---------- Post added at 03:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:24 AM ----------

If SVDO can reflash, can intro to me? I want to change my stock mapping.:thefinger: The workshop that can do that con-lan-firm rich already lor. AFAIK, SVDO ecu's cant be reflashed, only works if you have a standalone management.

And, for filter papers that get clogged up, does not impair air flow. It has been tried and tested. Actually it is better if it is covered with dirt, it helps with the filtration, without impairing the air flow. K&N filters are based on the concept also, am I correct? The more the filter is dirtier, the better the filtration. Oxygen molecules are in an atomic scale, do you think a dirty filter will actually stop the passing through of the oxygen molecules?

dunno svdo can reflash or not... datz why i'm asking... N1 racing does advertise ecu reflash for satria neo though...

who tried and tested that clogged air filter does not impair air flow??... any links to support ur claim??.... if the dirtier ur filter, the better, why bother to change new air filter??....

k&n air filter is oil based filter... the oil traps dirt inside the filter... due to its filter element design, it is able to hold more dirt inside before getting clogged... stock paper filter is like single layer filtration... once the top layer is blocked by dirt, air flow gets restrictive...

Skywalker, here you go. http://autospeed.com/cms/A_2232/article.html

I guess you don't really understand the level of difference between atomic and microscopic. The molecules are smaller than dirt. Unless you are using a HEPA filter, I doubt paper filter will pose any restrictions to air flow, even when dirty.Even K&N themselves say, the dirtier the filter, the better the filtration. You, I know are one of the many that swears by K&N. But IMHO, stock paper works just fine for a car that pushes out 80++ bhp. Well that's just my opinion.

The amount of air sucking in per cubic meter by my asthmatic 1.3 engine will never fight a monster pushing out 400bhp. The difference of air sucked in by my car is almost nothing compared to those cars. So a stock paper filter will do just fine.

If K&N is really good, why doesn't it comes as a standard filter in all cars? Why does Mitsubishi uses paper filter for all their evo's? And we do share the same filter with other 4g9x series.

Btw, read post #44, the blog link. The main cause of restriction is in the air box itself. Not the filter. So do a CAI, or mod the air box, as most of my friends have done.

damone's explanation sounds logic too xD ....by the way ..guys , my efi 1.3 engine ...whats the most suitable black oil for it ? semi-sen or juz normal black oil will do ?

I'm currently using 15w-40 from Mobil. 6 years using this oil. I will probably change to 10w-40 the next oil change.

so its not neccesary to use semi-sen for my engine ? im currently using win black oil ...from mobil also i guess ...change every 5k mileage ....stay back to this black oil also can ? and another thing is ...whats the meaning of CAT =X

It's up to you really. Can try using semi synth, but not fully synth. Cat is short for catalytic converter. Go google it up. And please don't use the =X. That is a kiss emoticon. :thefinger:

nola ..juz asking for your opinion ma ..if its the same result ..then might as well juz stay back to the current black oil which im using now ...xD

i think each cars also will have their CAT 1 right ? but whats the differents btw the stock 1 and aftermarket 1 ?

Skywalker, here you go. http://autospeed.com/cms/A_2232/article.html

I guess you don't really understand the level of difference between atomic and microscopic. The molecules are smaller than dirt. Unless you are using a HEPA filter, I doubt paper filter will pose any restrictions to air flow, even when dirty.Even K&N themselves say, the dirtier the filter, the better the filtration. You, I know are one of the many that swears by K&N. But IMHO, stock paper works just fine for a car that pushes out 80++ bhp. Well that's just my opinion.

The amount of air sucking in per cubic meter by my asthmatic 1.3 engine will never fight a monster pushing out 400bhp. The difference of air sucked in by my car is almost nothing compared to those cars. So a stock paper filter will do just fine.

If K&N is really good, why doesn't it comes as a standard filter in all cars? Why does Mitsubishi uses paper filter for all their evo's? And we do share the same filter with other 4g9x series.

Btw, read post #44, the blog link. The main cause of restriction is in the air box itself. Not the filter. So do a CAI, or mod the air box, as most of my friends have done.

if stock car all comes with knn then the production cost mah damn high???
when the make car they think of lower cost production also...y not evo comes with stock ball bearing turbine?8 pot brembo rear 6 pot etc etc?

---------- Post added at 08:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:50 PM ----------

btw darren goh...so sad with ur 4g13....my fren 1.3 also running 140kmh top speed after his ori block koyak n chged to a 200k mileage block...

i mean even a kancil 660 can go 120 edi

oh...ok...good to hear tat....so wats the current top speed 'nyek nyek'
now no prob can start mod edi la