advice on modding my satria neo

he use all branded 1 mah....

cannot blame....he is a rich guy.....haha!!!

done at speedworks???
they famous for cut throat de ma....
wahahaha.....
normal exhaust system plus drop in filter cost 1.4k right???
yala...they will provide dyno......
but then izzit really important ar???
anyway.....
u just need to b happy after spending the money la...

blac ice....
my car real stock la....
engine stock standard....
oni spray the valve cover.....
1.5 oni......

but my left brain tell my right brain that "it's not stock"

haha...trust u bro...

anywhere it's a nice u have there...

1.4k? are them crazy..... maybe they need 2 pay for the advertisement and the branding they are doing....

Last edited by a moderator:
er....was my post being deleted?
i tot i did reply before, but where it is? lol
hm....never mind

thanks to all the advice from you guys, especialy jinkl :D

however, i already done some modification to my neo, the hotbits full exhaust system, drop in filter, VS plus ground cable,and the crank pulley
spend like rm2.2k on it already

and i done all this way before i read jinkl post, and realy i should use all the money to upgrade my camshaft to r3 stage 2, as after all my money spend on the mod, the power increase is not up to my expectation
if i have the money, i would realy go to install a new camshaft :)

to jinkl:
when you mean reprofiled cams + tuning , does it means that change the camshaft and retune it?

reprofile means, take ur standard cams and then make it to a racing spec one
hope its a lesson learned , do u know the limit of your cars performance
i once was modding a 1.6 wira engine, the day came tht i realise , its nothing compared to changing a bigger engine, n i did, a evo 3. so do u know how much u r expecting , if not u be not satisfied

bro jinkl,

do u know what angle r3 cams is using for their gen.2 stage 2?

thanks....

to blackice:
for the full hotbits system, it cost me rm1k
the crank pulley is the MYTHELOGy light crank pulley

to huakenny:
yeah, quite expensive @@

to calvin9683's :
yeah, its cost rm1.4k for the full exhaust plus drop in filter
at 1st they offer me rm1.3k , but without dyno
i want to do the dyno, just to see the stock bhp and tourqe of my car, and how isit after i mod it :)
just to do it once, just for experience :)

to black ice:
one of the reason speedworks charge so expensive is mayb becoz they do alot of r&d and buy in the car, such as neo and myvi to tune it, so that the exhaust system, and many other stuff is purposely for the car itself
yeah, i do know zenden and everco is way alot cheaper, and performance is same also, but as this is my 1st time modding,and i dont have any frens can bring me to the shop they know to mod my car, tats why i prefer to go some more establish shop

another reason i go to speedworks is at satrianeoclub.com, many of neo owners there went to speedworks, and they recommend it
that time i also ask here, but the response is not that good, so i just go for speedoworks :)

to jinkl :
if i change my cam pulley to hi-cam is also the same as reprofile?
or isit different?
if so how much it cost?

actualy, changing engine is not my choice, therefore i tend to go for some stage 1 mod 1st, threfore after mod so much, the power of the car still dint increase alot :(
however, as when i am modding the car, i do learn alot of new things, and although i am not 100% happy with it, at least still 80% ( i think)

i do have a fren where his car was also a wira, but change the engine to evo1 engine
real power in his car, and only cost rm10k in total
but since changing the engine is not my 1st choice, i wont go for it

but as like ur last post says, reprofile the cams will give better power increase
i shud realy go for that than :(

ok bro....dun mod so kaw le....as it wil cost u huge amount....

to be frank, 1.6 is 1.6 no matter how many things u added.it wont gv u a satisfaction if u really like power or speed.

by saving the money spent for modification,maybe u can go for another faster car liao.....

it just my2cent coz my car all minor mods only.....:_:

• jdm interior.jpg
    jdm interior.jpg
    25.3 KB · Views: 152
Last edited by a moderator:
everyone have their diary of life...

we cant judge do or dont because it's their life...

we throw out advice and share knowledge...and the conclusion is purely depends on individual....

samlee,
thanks for the clarification.... drop some cash in my pocket....

MYTHELOGy light crank pulley- how much do u bought it?
what is the different u felt after changing it?

speedworks are well known for their works with dyno proven...
the exhaust - can u share ur experience after changing it?

thanks....

to huakenny:
yeah, i know that if i use back the same campro 1.6, no matter how many money i spend on it, the power also wont increase so much
but since this is my 1st car, and i really really love it :D
therefore, this time mayb just take it as experience lo, and learn something through it :)
but since the car is just 54k,not much other car in this range, city and vios is like 20k plus, and i dont realy like both of them :p
while swift, jazz those are about like 100k already, so mayb i will just slowly mod, mod 1 by 1, see lo
hehe
thanks btw :)

to black ice:
no problem man :)
this is a forum and we are here to exchange the knowledge we know, hehe

for the crank pulley, i bought it for rm600
i just install it like few days ago
tourqe seems to improve alot, that very much, but quite ok :)
its lighter, about 1kg lighter than the ori crank pulley, so it tends to improve tourge and theoretically will reduce the fuel consumption(haven really see a drop in fuel consumption, as i rev alot these days :p)

when i install the crank pulley, the mechanic have a hard time to take out my ori pulley, seems like proton had fix it too tight (which they say normally they use less than 1minute to take it out, but for my case, they use more than 10minute to do so)
therefore my car seems very underpower before it, therefore after i change it, i find that the car is more powerful now

the exhaust from speedworks is ok, i like the deep bass sound after i change it, and it is not very loud like others thunderbolt exhaust, which is really noisy and seems useless :p

after i change the exhaust, the power of the car does not really improve alot, although the dyno shows theres an improve of abt 10 to 12 in both BHP and tourge , of coz there is an improvement, but not as what i expect :)

however, if u went to speedworks official website, u can see that after change to their exhaust system , it become 2pipe outside instead of 1

what i dont like when i saw it install is, the pipe is too near to the bodykit of the car

and i sked tat the exhaust might be too hot and burn the bodykit
and this really came true when i went up to genting last few days

after come down from genting, i notice there is a burn, and the car bodykit melt abit, i am really dissapointed in it
might go to speedworks tomorow and ask them how, mayb i will change back to neo stock muffler tip (just the tip) ;p

thanks for the info you have provided....

bro what is the setup u use for the exhaust?

421 follow by ---what----......?

do u know that?

crank pulley...very interesting...

got dyno proven for it? how old is ur lovely car?

change the crank pulley will void the warranty or not?

where did u do it?

hotbits extractor is 4-2-1 if not mistaken :p

i buy the crank pulley from drexchan, someone who is posting in ZTH too
no dyno proven :)

i bought my neo last september, so its like about 7monhts d

abt warranty, someone tell me once you mod the car d, all your warranty gone
some told me just the part that u change the warranty is gone, like now for me the pulley and exhaust system pulley waranty sudah tadak

however i think, if u know someone in the SC well, they might still help you de
besides, if you just thinking of changing the pulley, than when your car got prob, just send to any workshop, and fix back your stock pulley, gao dim :D

btw, wat car u driving black ice?

gen.2...

ur exhaust system consist of what?

i mean 421 follow by .....

e.g = 421 - bullet - bullet - muffler

at 1st i thought i wanna buy neo but the height is not suitable enough for me...

overall the car is cool and nice...

warranty is a issue too...but who is going to give a damn....

i cant leave my car without modding...haha...minor...not major mod!!

oh....at 1st i do consider gen2 too, but i hate gen2 interior, so i settle for neo ;p
luckily i am short, so no height prob issue :D

er.....4-2-1 folow by what i am not very sure o

when u get ur car btw? i also dont care about the warranty la, the car too no acceleration power d, canot tahan liao :p

actualy now i love modding car, slowly mod abit by abit, learn something new when modding, but now no money liao, so must stop for quite some time :D

haha...same to me!!!

i knock my head twice when i test drive the car....opsss....

i got my car last year october....

no acceleration and up-hill (hish--zzz) - - really cant stand...

make me headache....once started modding and i become addicted...

very hard to stop...but have to save money for the next mod....

do u know what spark plug is good?

according to denso, it can last 100k km la, but dont know how true it is

to blackice:
haha, also soo fast mod d :p
what had u mod d ar ?
i still want to go for hi-cam and angel eyes, but money is a big prob :(

i also haven change spark plug yet also, at 1st want chiong it de, but than save money 1st la for something that will really improve performance :D

gen.2...

ur exhaust system consist of what?

i mean 421 follow by .....

e.g = 421 - bullet - bullet - muffler

bro,if sam uses hotbits,the exhaust layout should be 4-2-1 then muffler,follow
closely by bullet then muffler then the exhaust tip.this kind off layout cut out
noise good but a bit restrictive.why don't u try this layout.4-2-1 then near the fuel tank,install a muffler then follow by the exhaust tip.should be quite n powerful.try it before n it works.about camshaft,i'm really not sure whether is worth it or not cos my friend just install it on his neo.i don't find it powerful at all.just the sound a bit fierce with the growling hi lo sound.he's using matspeed 264 in/ex with adjustable campulley.he's also customized his exhaust system from front till rear.full s.steel.cost the bomb:_: .maybe there's still more things to do to fully utilized the cam like pnp n increase compression n etc.i agreed with u.the car is nice looking but problem for a guy like us that were tall.i'm 6" tall.when i seated in neo,my head rub the roof.:Not_Impressed: .for sam,u lucky...hehehe:_:

Write your reply...