Advice on buying a adjustable

LucasChng

Sep 17, 2012
DELETED
I'm new here, sorry if posted on the wrong section.

I need some advice on fitting adjustable on my car, Budget is around RM1200 including adjusting and fitting (Preferable cheaper, avoiding eating maggie for the rest of the month :s:) . Saw a few brands out there suitable with my budget but don't know which to fit. Brands like Titan, GAB, Tanabe, HWL, Zerone. (Recommend to me if theres other brands out there which is good)

I'm looking for Hi/Low only. Purpose > Lowered, better stability and handling. Wanted to lower till 1 finger left between tyres and fender, or more than that. (Poison by stance, flush :biggrin:)

I'm driving a Wira 1.6 on 17" wheels and tyre profile 205/40.

Currently Tanabe Sustec with 6k front, 4k rear catches my eye with fully serviceable and 1 year part to part waranty.

So, guys.. Please help/advise me on which brand to choose so i wont regret after fitting it.:stupid:

Thanks in advance.

Tanabe Sustec is asking for RM980.00
HWL is asking for RM1100.00
(No info on warranty)
Zerone SSR500 with body shift asking for RM1200.00
(Warranty 1 year but service back only if leaking.)

All those price include fitting.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
i will go for HWL...
well proven brand over the years...
i'm using a set myself (high/low) for 3 years already... not leaking whatsoever yet...

wira 6k front 5k rear will be nice... if can get bodyshift will be better...

mcdull

Sep 17, 2012
Use ur wira as weekend car or daily use? wira front 6k rear 5k is ok for daily use, comfortable n cornering oso ok. rmb rear need to squat a bit for better handling. i using 8k front n 6k rear. after 3 years dy sound start coming out n need to change bush. i heard hwl quite stiff oso. if u enjoy cornering then should give a try.. dun care bout warranty, wont so fast spoil de.. service is not recommended, if u say using tien then should go service la. normal service 4 adjustable oso nearly rm1k lo including install. oso need replace ori set during servicing adjustable...

LucasChng

Sep 17, 2012
DELETED
Thanks guys, it does helps alot.

i will go for HWL...
well proven brand over the years...
i'm using a set myself (high/low) for 3 years already... not leaking whatsoever yet...

wira 6k front 5k rear will be nice... if can get bodyshift will be better...
if u want flush, go for ones with body shift..
If I'm not wrong, bodyshifs design to lower the car without affecting the spring rate from becoming more stiffer when lowering the car right? Correct me if I'm wrong.

Use ur wira as weekend car or daily use? wira front 6k rear 5k is ok for daily use, comfortable n cornering oso ok. rmb rear need to squat a bit for better handling. i using 8k front n 6k rear. after 3 years dy sound start coming out n need to change bush. i heard hwl quite stiff oso. if u enjoy cornering then should give a try.. dun care bout warranty, wont so fast spoil de.. service is not recommended, if u say using tien then should go service la. normal service 4 adjustable oso nearly rm1k lo including install. oso need replace ori set during servicing adjustable...
Mostly weekend car & back to hometown. What kind of adj abs that you are using? I'm not the extreme one who attacks every corner, just on high speed highway slight corners. Currently using orignial spring and abs on the front, the rear using APM 1.6 abs and 1.5 springs cause 1.6 spring i fix on it, it became like rally car :rofl:. 8k front 6k rear? What about the comfort? And you did mention that sounds coming out, what kind? Undercarriage or suspension busings?

You guys got any friends/formen shop that selling for good prices? I'm worried I'll be slaughter by them lol.

ken yeang

instead of trying discussing about brand of adjustable, try sitting in (frenz, or company test cars) cars that already has adjustable installed.

I believe Titan suspension has a test car, for their customer...I may be wrong

LucasChng

Sep 17, 2012
DELETED
instead of trying discussing about brand of adjustable, try sitting in (frenz, or company test cars) cars that already has adjustable installed.

I believe Titan suspension has a test car, for their customer...I may be wrong
Not everyone around me has a adjustable abs @.@ My working place have 2 people using Seremban Custom made Adjustable which cost nearly to 2k. Ace Suspension if I'm not mistaken. One of their suspension already starting to make noises. By Titan, I'm not so sure cause its price quoted to me is around 800MYR. I think it was the local one made by GAB factory?

i suspect tanabe sustec not fully serviceable...because the damper seal was welded type..not screw lock type...

go for HWL...and with stock engine 6k front is good enough for daily use and occasional fast cornering...i'm using one as well...

but i would suggest u to wait and keep the money pile up a bit for hi-lo/soft hard unit because u can adjust damping and adjust high-low of your car without touching the spring setup instead adjusting by shift the absorber body itself....

the good thing adjusting by the body means u have (short,lowered suspension but with:) long spring travel that would not bottoming out and the damper have full motion that means better handling on bumpy surface.....

mcdull

Sep 17, 2012
I support pomen say, buy soft hard adjs. stiff adjs is exciting at cornering but mus rmb u use tis machine for long journey oso. rear stiff behind ppl sit feel uncomfortable. i use sustec 6k front 6k rear. comfort n cornering ok. once change to 4g93 engine front automatically lowered 1". now d absorber not so gd so it will bounce me once kena hole coz spring tension high. too stiff adjs very fast make bushing n other parts make sound. too stiff=less free play. anyway can sms me 012-9444984.

---------- Post added at 08:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:17 PM ----------

After change engine i change spring to 8k n 6k..

LucasChng

Sep 17, 2012
DELETED
i suspect tanabe sustec not fully serviceable...because the damper seal was welded type..not screw lock type...

go for HWL...and with stock engine 6k front is good enough for daily use and occasional fast cornering...i'm using one as well...

but i would suggest u to wait and keep the money pile up a bit for hi-lo/soft hard unit because u can adjust damping and adjust high-low of your car without touching the spring setup instead adjusting by shift the absorber body itself....

the good thing adjusting by the body means u have (short,lowered suspension but with:) long spring travel that would not bottoming out and the damper have full motion that means better handling on bumpy surface.....
Thanks pomen, but i think now they have the bodyshift thing. I think is something like hi/low/soft/hard concept. But need to adjust from morning till night lol. I don't want to spent too much on suspension, cause my tyres wanna botak d. :banghead:. Now I just want to find a decent hi/lo adjustable which wont give me a headache after I fit on it.

Seems like HWL will be on top of the list then, with all those good feedbacks.

I support pomen say, buy soft hard adjs. stiff adjs is exciting at cornering but mus rmb u use tis machine for long journey oso. rear stiff behind ppl sit feel uncomfortable. i use sustec 6k front 6k rear. comfort n cornering ok. once change to 4g93 engine front automatically lowered 1". now d absorber not so gd so it will bounce me once kena hole coz spring tension high. too stiff adjs very fast make bushing n other parts make sound. too stiff=less free play. anyway can sms me 012-9444984.

---------- Post added at 08:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:17 PM ----------

After change engine i change spring to 8k n 6k..
I think I wont be touching my engine "YET" :rolleyes: cause its still in good cond. Moreover its still a 4G92 =P. Mcdull, you are currently using Tanabe Sustec from Japan or Taiwan? So, what will you choose if you currently wanted to buy a adj abs?:confused:

Lucasng, I didn't see exactly what car you drive but expect to lose all comfort with adjustables. Even hi/lo/soft/hard. But then again comfort is relative.

On my Wira A/B I use 4.5k front and 4k rear with my Hotbits Silver Hi/Lo suspension. I purposely chose softer springs because I wanted some roll (not a lot) to feel the corners and not rely heavily on tyres. But even with this spring rate, I can literally feel every bump on the road, so I think it's the absorber rate that's too fast that's causing the bumpy ride. Wife doesn't mind but my 3 year old daughter calls my car the bumpy roller coaster.

If you have budget, consider the Koni Yellow adjustable dampers paired with Eibach prokit. It's said to be the ultimate in comfort and handling.

SloMo

Aug 23, 2004
been using HWL for quite a while on me waja (I think close to 5 years have serviced it once)... I must say its a stiffer ride but compensated with better handling... changed the spring rate and stiffness of the damper few times to suit my liking... can feel every bumps on the road surface...

mcdull

Sep 17, 2012
Mayb i'll choose cheap adjs around rm6**-7**. i just take absorber onli, spring will use bek.. if choose a better i'll consider hwl brand.. wont spend too much on handling. prefer making higher hp :) guys got any idea?? i using ori drop in stainless steel filter, 4-1 extractor, no center bullet, direct 2.3" piping attach to js muffler. got custom make a silencer to reduce 30% sound n create a bit back pressure.. any suggestion next step??

---------- Post added at 12:22 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:19 AM ----------

im also using hotbits silver hi/lo...not that reliable while attacking corners.

Danz izzit ur engine heavier need higher spring rate??

LucasChng

Sep 17, 2012
DELETED
Lucasng, I didn't see exactly what car you drive but expect to lose all comfort with adjustables. Even hi/lo/soft/hard. But then again comfort is relative.

On my Wira A/B I use 4.5k front and 4k rear with my Hotbits Silver Hi/Lo suspension. I purposely chose softer springs because I wanted some roll (not a lot) to feel the corners and not rely heavily on tyres. But even with this spring rate, I can literally feel every bump on the road, so I think it's the absorber rate that's too fast that's causing the bumpy ride. Wife doesn't mind but my 3 year old daughter calls my car the bumpy roller coaster.

If you have budget, consider the Koni Yellow adjustable dampers paired with Eibach prokit. It's said to be the ultimate in comfort and handling.
Agreed with you, I've always have a second thought on going for performance dampers & springs. But, I'm more to stance & flush moddings, gotta sacrifice the undercarriage and comfort. Because adjustable is the only thing that I can lower my ride to the maximum point and the price doesn't cost alot. Tight budget!! @.@

But thanks for the advice Izso!

You guys never heard of Zerone SSR500? (Hi/Low w/ bodyshift) I went to car show at last weekend at Bukit Jalil, I think it was under FT Innovative, They quoted me at 1200MYR w/ installation, I might consider that or HWL :rolleyes:

hello everyone, i just wanna know whether is it difficult to find spare parts(OEM or aftermarket performance) for gsr terbalik?...hope to get feedbacks from those using this engine or those who knows abt it...thank you