Please advice on engine oil to use..

i thought that's pretty good statistics!

What car model are you driving?

huakenny said:
oil oso got imitation? how to differentiate?

yerp, got many imitation out there. especially castrol magnetec n mobil 1, coz both of this engine oil are famous n common. Hoe to differentiate? i have no idea also, coz they copy almost the same. but heard my foreman said some experienced sifu can differentiate?

cala said:
i thought that's pretty good statistics!

What car model are you driving?

Already mentioned there:-

Toyota Corolla SEG 1.6(A) 1997 - AE111 with 4AFE engine....
most thing still stock only some minor changes:-
1- Drop-in K&N Air Filter
2- Adjustable FPR (EFN items)

:cool:

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicteh
Since your car still new, u can use fully-syn, look for 5w-40.
a lot of brand,depends on your budget, for me castrol and eneos not bad. but beware of castrol n mobil 1, coz a lot of imitation out there.. :mad:

oil oso got imitation? how to differentiate?

its hard to differentiate coz there get back the ori tin from the mechanic shop n just put back lower grade engine oil,now they didnt use recorn oil just get a big drum oil n pump in only,the easy way to get real stuff is buy the engine oil which come with promotion gift,the gift picture stat at the sticker which cant tear off,n the promotion period change every 3month or more to prevent those immitation stuff

I am planning to change my Swift's engine oil at 6000km (shud be 5000km, but not free until now).

Heard of Q8 oil? A man quoted me semi syn 10W-40 for RM86 and RM96. The RM96 being the higher performance version (not fully tho).

Then, check the Q8 history, it's a Kuwait company.
Anyway, I still prefer Castrol, since the Magnatec gave me pretty fine performance for my Terios Turbo, except that, upon reaching the redline, it feels like the engine is hesitating.

For my Swift, I am giving it a special treat. Planning to go for Fully Synthetic Castrol Formula RS 10W-60. The recommended oil for Swift in the manual was 5W-30 but 10W-30 and 10W-40 are fine. How bout 10W-60?

I think it should be fine right? Looking at the chart in the manual, 10W-30 can stand up to 300F (I am not sure if this is the value), and 10W-40 up to 400F. I assume, 10W-60 can stand up to 600F huh? I am not into the temperature. Juz that I am beginning to rev my engine hard, and planning to go for more performance engine mod. Juz want added protection for my new engine.

Please advise.