Cars to buy with a budget of rm90k or less?

Haven't yet. Have you?

Don't dismiss CVT so quickly. I still like my manuals no doubt, but CVT is probably the way to go for "cheaper" autos. Smooth acceleration and when kicking down for extra power it's noticeable and damn it's responsive. No where near as violent as traditional torque convertor. Besides, CVT is more efficient. Always in the right for the right event, ok mah.

And yes I have driven CVT - own one! The Altis is a good looking car, but that's about it. The engine is 3 generations old and everything except the CVT is old. Features wise the new Sylphy beats it and I suspect the driving experience would beat it too (stock vs stock). Not because I'm biased, because the drive for the last 2 generation of Altis was exactly the same.

Don't dismiss CVT so quickly. I still like my manuals no doubt, but CVT is probably the way to go for "cheaper" autos. Smooth acceleration and when kicking down for extra power it's noticeable and damn it's responsive. No where near as violent as traditional torque convertor. Besides, CVT is more efficient. Always in the right for the right event, ok mah.

And yes I have driven CVT - own one! The Altis is a good looking car, but that's about it. The engine is 3 generations old and everything except the CVT is old. Features wise the new Sylphy beats it and I suspect the driving experience would beat it too (stock vs stock). Not because I'm biased, because the drive for the last 2 generation of Altis was exactly the same.

3 generations still using same engine and tech is Vios la bro. Not Altis. :listen:
The same 1NZ-FE with 4 spd AT

Different engine from 10.5 generation onwards. Though Dual VVT-i has already been around for quite sometime before it was used in Altis 10.5 Gen onwards for the 1st time. Only the generation after mine is still using the same 1ZZ-FE engine and 4spd A/T.

10.5 Gen onwards are Dual VVT-i ZR code engine instead of the single VVT-i ZZ code engine. To be exact year 2010 model onwards iinm.

This model started with ZR Engines with Dual VVT-i and CVT gearbox and with variants from 1.8L - 2.0L.

IMG_8382.JPG

Driving experience, not sure for the current one though. No chance to test drive. :frown:

Perhaps that is just my own preference because I prefer the feel of manual especially during gear changes when you release the clutch quickly right after engaging into the next gear. That sudden surge of power.

But I am not implying that CVT and torque converters are not good. Just that for now, I don't feel that it suits me.

As for the engines for Altis, the earlier versions are using the older ZZ series engine with VVT-i on the intake side only. Newer ones are using ZR series engine with VVT-i on both the intake and exhaust side.

3 generations still using same engine and tech is Vios la bro. Not Altis. :listen:
The same 1NZ-FE with 4 spd AT

Different engine from 10.5 generation onwards. Though Dual VVT-i has already been around for quite sometime before it was used in Altis 10.5 Gen onwards for the 1st time. Only the generation after mine is still using the same 1ZZ-FE engine and 4spd A/T.

10.5 Gen onwards are Dual VVT-i ZR code engine instead of the single VVT-i ZZ code engine. To be exact year 2010 model onwards iinm.

This model started with ZR Engines with Dual VVT-i and CVT gearbox and with variants from 1.8L - 2.0L.

IMG_8382.JPG

Driving experience, not sure for the current one though. No chance to test drive. :frown:

I know right. The Dual VVT-i Altis was launched in 2010. I remember that because that time I was starting to get into cars. The noticeable difference would be at the rear where the facelifted models have clear signal lights while the pre facelift version had orange signal lights.

Strictly speaking.. CVT don't lack gearchanges.. it is infinitely changing "gears"...or more accurately, gear ratios.

But those are pseudo or virtual gears. What I mean is CVT lacked real "gearchanging" as it does not have any gears at all.

Yeah, its a belt, or chain, depending on the application... I can't help but get the "rubber band" feel when I drive a CVT.. it does feel disconnected at times.. I guess there's some slack in it.

Sadly all modern cars seems to be going towards CVT.. emissions..fuel efficiency..blah blah..

But CVT picks the right ratio, therefore no lag or less, unlike gear ratio you need correct rpm to drive it...

yo guys,sorry for the late reply. juz got back from kampung and hardly to get a decent internet connection there.

Been reading all the replies,and those were much of help. Thanks again guys.

im not underestimating local brand car,it's a condition that set up by my parents tho. i didnt really fancy a local car but inspira,myvi,preve werent bad at all. especially inspira since it's a lancer even with a proton badge on it and 1.8 not to mention.

for mitsubishi attrage,i hate it more than vios(which i dont really hate it like i was). and yeah,jazz do look like a girlish some sort of car,but the first time i look at it i was like "wow,not bad...ohh,it's jazz..look diff from the previous model". city might be one the best choice here,and it's on my toplist now. but one thing that makes me hesitate on choosing city is,out of 10 my nearest neighbour, there are 3-4 using city(not the new 1,but still).

and yeah,my parents will responsible on the installment myb until i got a decent job or pay. but all the maintenance i guess will be paid by myself as far as it concern.

Suits campro I've to say. Because it lacks low end grunt.
For FC and city drivability, def good.

Ya, that's why glad Preve and Suprima are using the CVTs. Pick up powderful.

yo guys,sorry for the late reply. juz got back from kampung and hardly to get a decent internet connection there.

im not underestimating local brand car,it's a condition that set up by my parents tho. i didnt really fancy a local car but inspira,myvi,preve werent bad at all. especially inspira since it's a lancer even with a proton badge on it and 1.8 not to mention.

for mitsubishi attrage,i hate it more than vios(which i dont really hate it like i was). and yeah,jazz do look like a girlish some sort of car,but the first time i look at it i was like "wow,not bad...ohh,it's jazz..look diff from the previous model". city might be one the best choice here,and it's on my toplist now. but one thing that makes me hesitate on choosing city is,out of 10 my nearest neighbour, there are 3-4 using city(not the new 1,but still).

and yeah,my parents will responsible on the installment myb until i got a decent job or pay. but all the maintenance i guess will be paid by myself as far as it concern.

That's something u have to accept. A daily car is quite common everywhere.

If you dun want to look the same as others have to get 2nd hand performance car.
Such cars like Vios, City, Almera, Myvi or affordable family cars are quite common.

Only performance cars especially 2nd hand ones like a few examples Altezza, Skyline, Supra, MR2, MR-S, S2000, and etcs are not that common.

Kia Rio lo, still not too many on the road :biggrin:

When u have the cash the time, just make your City look different by modding la. Rims, Bodykits, Vinyl designs and etcs

cytsae3z0 Don't dismiss the attrage so quickly. Go test drive it then test drive all the other cars you're interested in. You'll realise the Attrage is super ultra lightweight and way more agile. Like I said, a little suspension mods, nicer wheels and the car will look pretty good. Even better since the car is very low maintenance (manual gear one la)

Forget everything. Wait for this, end of story.

QWwUOlp.jpg

Interesting. New Mazda 2. Interior looks premium for its category. But rumored it will cost over 100k...

Could be because CVT are the cheapest compared to other gear boxes.....:smokin:

Manual would be cheaper. In fact, it can bring out the engine's potential even better than CVT.

Forget everything. Wait for this, end of story.

QWwUOlp.jpg

This one is the competitor to go head on with Fiesta Ecoboost wor. Won't be cheap :love:

Could be because CVT are the cheapest compared to other gear boxes.....:smokin:

But CVT gear oil banyak expensive wor and repair, wont it cost more than traditional gearbox?
Also CVT gear change more accurate ma

Interesting. New Mazda 2. Interior looks premium for its category. But rumored it will cost over 100k...

Manual would be cheaper. In fact, it can bring out the engine's potential even better than CVT.

Because it aint a normal Mazda 2. Might gonna be Mazda 2 MPS :love:

Bro. Are u comfort oriented or performance oriented?
Preve can outrun Inspira probably. :biggrin:
210nm ftw!!!

Bro. Are u comfort oriented or performance oriented?
Preve can outrun Inspira probably. :biggrin:
210nm ftw!!!

Yeah, can outrun I guess, probably without air con though cause the button on the Preve will fall out. HA HA HA.

Because of CVT? Lack of gearchanges?

You're pretty damn one-sided in your replies aren't you? Whats wrong with a CVT & the lack of gearchanges? Honestly not every person in the world is about all out drivers feel 24/7. New CVT's are so efficient. Why do you need to have a gearbox that dips in and out of a powerband when you drive around town puttering about during a jam? The thread starter didn't exactly ask for the best drivers car to touge with within a 90k budget. :joyman:

Last edited by a moderator:
Because of CVT? Lack of gearchanges?[/quo

You're pretty damn one-sided in your replies aren't you? Whats wrong with a CVT & the lack of gearchanges? Honestly not every person in the world is about all out drivers feel 24/7. New CVT's are so efficient. Why do you need to have a gearbox that dips in and out of a powerband when you drive around town puttering about during a jam? The thread starter didn't exactly ask for the best drivers car to touge with within a 90k budget. :joyman:

I mentioned that it was 'not my cup of tea' in case you missed that one out. I'm not downgrading or dismissing CVT neither am I telling anyone to stay away from it. It was in my own opinion and preference that I am not fond of CVT. I din't force my opinion or views into others or TS. Is is stated here that I have no rights or what soever to voice out my own opinion?