Buying a used car direct from owner

jebatdex

Known Member

jebatdex

Known Member
Jun 19, 2011
Skudai, Johor
Guys

Im planning to buy a 2010 Toyota car direct from owner. Since this is my first time buying car, i tried to google for some info and found this: http://nextimelah.blogspot.com/2014/02/buying-used-car-in-malaysia-from-direct.html

If anyone has epxerience buying used car from owner, can you please advice since this writing is 2014, maybe some changes recently on the processes, or things that not covered by the writer of the blog. or maybe, if anyone can simply advise me point by point what should be done from checking my loan eligibility to getting the car key. Thanks in advance

6UE5t

6,000 RPM

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Oct 8, 2010
Kuala Lumpur
Guys

Im planning to buy a 2010 Toyota car direct from owner. Since this is my first time buying car, i tried to google for some info and found this: http://nextimelah.blogspot.com/2014/02/buying-used-car-in-malaysia-from-direct.html

If anyone has epxerience buying used car from owner, can you please advice since this writing is 2014, maybe some changes recently on the processes, or things that not covered by the writer of the blog. or maybe, if anyone can simply advise me point by point what should be done from checking my loan eligibility to getting the car key. Thanks in advance
Well last month I just bought a car for my son direct from an owner. The process was pretty straight forward but I bought cash, so there's no loan application involved. My process was as follows:
1. After cross checking the car and the title, I bargain until we agree on the price.
2. I checked on any outstanding summons and inform the owner that she needs to settle those.
3. I paid a deposit of rm500 and get a receipt. I also asked for a copy of the owner IC, name card, and can also ask for full address if you did not go to the owner house when checking the car.
4. The owner arranged to pass puspakom inspection and settle all summons.