4G92 DOHC MIVEC wHP???

Aiyor... should have sold it to me instead. :)

Anyway, after my engine completed, got some knocking sound. Any idea what happened? The head had undergone port polish, throat cutting, and compressed/hardened valve spring with racing cam and 2 thin metal gasket installed. I wonder which modification causes the knocking...

Aiyor... should have sold it to me instead. :)

Anyway, after my engine completed, got some knocking sound. Any idea what happened? The head had undergone port polish, throat cutting, and compressed/hardened valve spring with racing cam and 2 thin metal gasket installed. I wonder which modification causes the knocking...

can be compression too high ...... or ignition not proper adj......
Since u had highcam inside, the ignition map must retune it ...

Thanks a lot. Fuel pressure seems ok. I use a 220L/H fuel pump. Oil pressure ok. Oil Temp ok. Mechanic says must be something mechanical and decided to reopen the head. I am worried.... I also believe it's too advanced in timing. But they don't believe me... Sigh... but one of my good friend, also mechanic, also says it could be something mechanical and not tuning. How???

Wat is the thickness of ur metal gasket?

Dude do not open your gasket try adjusting your ignition timing from static or from piggy back. the last resort should be to opne your head. it costs money but sometimes it may just as simple as adjusting the timing.

Yap .... deacon mention is right....
Since u hav highcam in ur car, how do u tune the ignition & fuel map ? ITC? AFC ?
not proper ignition map will not fully carry out the power of the highcam.... .:rock:

Thanks man. I decided to drive the car out from the workshop and head to Links for dyno tuning with emanage. If still can't solve the problem, then no choice but to buka balik right?

The metal gasket no idea how many MM....

Thanks man. I decided to drive the car out from the workshop and head to Links for dyno tuning with emanage. If still can't solve the problem, then no choice but to buka balik right?

The metal gasket no idea how many MM....

Wajafly,
Did u skim ur engine head??If u did skim ur head too much, using too thin metal gasket will cause knocking. Also wrong cams setting will cause knocking also....

Hard to tell without been at ur scene. But i'm guessing ur mivec is activate since u start ur car. Solonoid valve jam...

cooljas,

yes... skimmed head also. Maybe use thicker metal gasket as you say. Cam setting gotta check again also. Thanks a lot!

Heavyfoot,
Mivec still kick in at 5000 only. But thx for suggesting.

dyno result?

Congrate 4 your waja mivec project. very nice job...i'll be join u after bored with my waja BOT....:driver:
How is your dyno result?

i saw 1 satria with 1.8 blok and mivec head in gt auto sunway yesterday dynoed his car,and the figures is 157.++ps.

izzit there haf a stroker kit 4 mivec available in the market? price?
emmmm...i'm noobie here....tq

raja emeperor, thx for that dyno result.

noeydeer, saw someone using TX3 conrod as a 1.8 stroker kit.

Can I add?

I dunno, but is this a common thing with 4G93 1.8 MIVECs?
I ran such setup in my GTi. B4 my ECU was properly tuned, I experienced pinging too, but was somewhat fixed with whatever magic they work out with the computer lah.

But if you still want, I can share my dyno results. IF you want.

Post your dyno results too bro

Me? uhh, anyway, nah. Enjoy!
From a 1.8 MIVEC. as the topic sez, this is wheel HP.
I think I post b4, but can't remember.

• dynosheeeet.JPG
    dynosheeeet.JPG
    29.7 KB · Views: 260