Modifications That Dont Work

yeah.... maybe it worked since mitsu oredy publish its whitepaper in its web couple of months back and mentioned in http://autospeed.com/cms/A_3059/article.html (you gotta read the whole story... kinda techie)

but a vortex generator on a small flat backed hatch like kancil/viva/myvi? don't think so :stupid:

and then those 'tonggek' cars :banghead: personally I stayed away from them... once I've been tailgated by these monsters.... when thru corners, i see them gonna turn turtle and when on the straight if there's emergency brake.... the cars swivels a lot....

if i see them anyway, i'd stay good 3-5 lane away!

...malaysia got 5 lanes hiway aaa?

totaly Agree about your Post bro,Those car less then 100hp the Air flow cant really active the function for the Vortex generator,i can say the power are not qualify for the aerodynamic
just like those original myvi using big GT wing,look nice only la......but to me:rofl: he must be AH BANG!!!!!!!:rofl::rofl: ,1 more advise for them(better tight you Clothes Hanger harder i dont wish one day my windscreen damage by flying clothes hanger
ree%2520Standing%2520Clothes%2520Hanger%2520EH1000.jpg

Actually VG do works, 160kmh and above. But how well does it works on different car and is it a neccesity, thats an interesting question. All GT wings do works after 140kmh, and applied same as the statement above. It is a matter of beauty or ugly, subjectively.

i know one, swapping ur 14" ori rim to 17" or even bigger and nothing else.bloody impractical i would say even for just the looks hahaha

totaly Agree about your Post bro,Those car less then 100hp the Air flow cant really active the function for the Vortex generator,i can say the power are not qualify for the aerodynamic
just like those original myvi using big GT wing,look nice only la......but to me:rofl: he must be AH BANG!!!!!!!:rofl::rofl: ,1 more advise for them(better tight you Clothes Hanger harder i dont wish one day my windscreen damage by flying clothes hanger
ree%2520Standing%2520Clothes%2520Hanger%2520EH1000.jpg

sorry bro I'm newbie here but still have some opinion about aerodynamic effect...I believe that any type of ground vehicle that can go more than 80km/h already experience aerodynamic effect bro... If U don't believe me, u can do some search on the web.. or u can do ur own research by add something to ur car exterior (bigger item U add, give more differences) and test drive it and see the change of ur f.c before u add that item... and for ur info u doesn't need 100 h.p engine just to reach more than 80km/h..(but still need to take account weight of the vehicle)..but still, correct me I'm wrong...:hmmmm:

Anyone tried before those Sixth Element Ball thingy ?
http://www.sixth-element.com/english/product-e.htm
So multipurpose leh, can use in everywhere

haih....

y must all these products have... "researched and developed in Germany"??? if not Germany sure USA or Japan...

n what does "quantum physics technology" have to do with "increase the quantity of molecules"???

GOD ar?

freeman1314...if it sounds too good to be true...it isnt true.:biggrin:

sorry bro I'm newbie here but still have some opinion about aerodynamic effect...I believe that any type of ground vehicle that can go more than 80km/h already experience aerodynamic effect bro... If U don't believe me, u can do some search on the web.. or u can do ur own research by add something to ur car exterior (bigger item U add, give more differences) and test drive it and see the change of ur f.c before u add that item... and for ur info u doesn't need 100 h.p engine just to reach more than 80km/h..(but still need to take account weight of the vehicle)..but still, correct me I'm wrong...:hmmmm:

u r affected by aredynamics when moving in an pressurised atmospehere, but what most people dont know is, with downforce comes drag. if u arent in need of massive downforce for ur application, then dont get anything dat produces extra unneeded downforce for ur car. below a certain speed, drag is produced more then downforce, and dis drag is the one dat isnt good for everday application. even if u go up to speed, do you need dis downforce to keep ur car planted on the road, most dont imo. my charade made a 210 cruise with any help from such downforce producer, and it was planted on the road jer.. a wira evo went top flight at 260 without such thing fixed to it, selambaa.. in fact weve proven dat, it took more time to achieve the top speed with a wira 1.8 spoiler tiang gol, dats what drag does, it slow u down, and in the process, robs away ur precious fc.

so, the question really is, whether u need all dat downforce, or it is just for show jer? dont tell me dat evo has it laa, ferrari has it laa, or iam forced to lay down fluid dynamics here. they hit 200kmh easy fyi

u r affected by aredynamics when moving in an pressurised atmospehere, but what most people dont know is, with downforce comes drag. if u arent in need of massive downforce for ur application, then dont get anything dat produces extra unneeded downforce for ur car. below a certain speed, drag is produced more then downforce, and dis drag is the one dat isnt good for everday application. even if u go up to speed, do you need dis downforce to keep ur car planted on the road, most dont imo. my charade made a 210 cruise with any help from such downforce producer, and it was planted on the road jer.. a wira evo went top flight at 260 without such thing fixed to it, selambaa.. in fact weve proven dat, it took more time to achieve the top speed with a wira 1.8 spoiler tiang gol, dats what drag does, it slow u down, and in the process, robs away ur precious fc.

so, the question really is, whether u need all dat downforce, or it is just for show jer? dont tell me dat evo has it laa, ferrari has it laa, or iam forced to lay down fluid dynamics here. they hit 200kmh easy fyi

mine made nowhere near that with lotsa giggles n shakes! damnit!

aero drag is everything la.
i quote james may when he tested the veyron:

"it's not difficult to reach 150mph (?), the veyron only uses a piffling 270bhp, but to reach the next 50mph, it requires an extra 700 hp"

well something like that. see fer yurself la on streetfire videos. :P

up to speed, yes.. below dat threshold, no. what i learned when studying aviation is, if an aircraft can shave drag in any way possible, the engineers wudve done it, even though if dat means shaving sum lil value of lift.

and the veyron spoiler isnt activated if a certain speed isnt achieved, its not activated 247, fyi. recheck please adie

which part did i mention the spoiler la?

it's activated on certain speed & during braking it turns to an aircraft like flap that acts as an airbrake. i'd kiss that sort of spoiler if i could!

in one side of ur opinion, I agree, where extra downforce and drag create extra load to ur engine.. means reduce in performance... but for me there is 2 type basic of aerodynamic effect first is downforce, second is drag.. downforce is used to hold firm Ur car in the road and drag is actually the force develop to give resistant force to ur car forward movement... and both relate to each other.. as for ur information the whole body design of the car actually create aerodynamic effect which contribute to downforce and specifically design to give less drag for forward movement.. As for straight cruise speeding, of course U doesnt need the spoiler or other accessory to give extra downforce (unless ur car design not sufficient enough to give certain downforce to hold firm ur car on the road). in other hand extra downforce give better brake performance and cornering performance.. and sometime used to hold firm ur car for straight line acceleration (so ur car will not wobble with the high speed acceleration ex. drag race car) and also contribute to traction also for sudden speed acceleration, for summary aerodynamic effect have many type of rolls in vehicle development in handling. If not, why many international motorsport division for example F1 waste million maybe billion of dollar for the aerodynamic RnD.. but still I have to agree with U in some point if U said that many of the modification out there is just for show even though it have its function.. but the thing that i have different opinion from U is that the accessory for aerodynamic is only for the car can go faster than what 300km/h ++ and car that have engine h.p more that what 500h.p and above.., maybe I'm not good with fluid dynamic so that's why I say it like that :hmmmm: but still correct me if I'm wrong...I'm still newbei in this aerodynamic things heheheheh...:biggrin:

from my experience with a GT wing, it does help in keeping the back of the car firmly on the road at speed about 100km/h. especially felt when going at highway bends (not corners). i don't feel the back like wanna slide out. but there is a thin line between downforce and drag. have to adjust the angle of the wing to ensure its not becoming a drag instead...

its because of the original design of a car was made to provide sufficient aerodynamic effect, dat makes me think most cars on the road deosnt need any extra downforce dah.. the thing is, braking system is made to be able to handle more then twice the maximum momentum dat ur car is able to achieve so i wont be creating extra drag to assist in my braking. drag does not used for stabilizing, its a parasit when speed is concern.

ive calculated the downforce created by a normally sized GT wing in the market, and at 80kmh, it doesnt provide sufficient downforce to keep a say wira, planted on the road. at 160, naah.. the effect only shows adequate force at around 200kmh, even at dat speed, the weight of the car is more important then the downforce. in an F1, they are using a 600kg racing car, and blasting at speeds up to 300kmh, the weight of the car alone wont keep the car down, hence the extensive research in aerodynamics.

the issue is here, not whether downforce is any good, but rather iff most of us need it on the road. most of the time, my answer is no

its because of the original design of a car was made to provide sufficient aerodynamic effect, dat makes me think most cars on the road deosnt need any extra downforce dah.. the thing is, braking system is made to be able to handle more then twice the maximum momentum dat ur car is able to achieve so i wont be creating extra drag to assist in my braking. drag does not used for stabilizing, its a parasit when speed is concern.

ive calculated the downforce created by a normally sized GT wing in the market, and at 80kmh, it doesnt provide sufficient downforce to keep a say wira, planted on the road. at 160, naah.. the effect only shows adequate force at around 200kmh, even at dat speed, the weight of the car is more important then the downforce. in an F1, they are using a 600kg racing car, and blasting at speeds up to 300kmh, the weight of the car alone wont keep the car down, hence the extensive research in aerodynamics.

the issue is here, not whether downforce is any good, but rather iff most of us need it on the road. most of the time, my answer is no

The last statement i have to agree with U la... and I also does not said that with 80km/h aerodynamic force already provide sufficient downforce to planted the car on the road but I said it already started to give effect on the car.. and if it does not give effect on handling than why even in the rally or race car on the track used it.. I do not believe it just for the high speed but it also used for the cornering improvement also.. still when U said U calculated it can I know how... what type of software U used... or U calculated manually? really I want to know more about it...

calcualtion was conducted manually, if ur car goes unstable without it at a comparatively low speed, then its a suspension issue. rally cars? racing cars? they know what the downforce is for, when its needed, only then its needed. acceleration wise, its causing drag and wud only slow u down. u have to remember, dats for motorsports, real motorsports sir. not like wannabies dat employs dis technology just for show. it helps at corners, but again, up to a certain speed. grips in corners are more towards the suspension and chasis. for example, weve tried taking a fast 90degree corner with a citroen xantia and the car doesnt give any issue whatsoever because it has a very, very good hydro-pnuematic suspension, and it doesnt even have a boot spoiler. vibration felt without a spiler or the bombastic GT wing tells me there are sum issue on the suspension instead of a lack of downforce.

weve tested awira evo on straights and the car accelerates better without a spoiler, no issue on stability, no matter on straights or around corners. max was around 260, limited by the revv in 5th, evo3 gearings are short, or it cudve gone faster, no issue on stability at dat speed. nuff said sir, iam reserving on the fluid dynamics lecture, tq

calcualtion was conducted manually, if ur car goes unstable without it at a comparatively low speed, then its a suspension issue. rally cars? racing cars? they know what the downforce is for, when its needed, only then its needed. acceleration wise, its causing drag and wud only slow u down. u have to remember, dats for motorsports, real motorsports sir. not like wannabies dat employs dis technology just for show. it helps at corners, but again, up to a certain speed. grips in corners are more towards the suspension and chasis. for example, weve tried taking a fast 90degree corner with a citroen xantia and the car doesnt give any issue whatsoever because it has a very, very good hydro-pnuematic suspension, and it doesnt even have a boot spoiler. vibration felt without a spiler or the bombastic GT wing tells me there are sum issue on the suspension instead of a lack of downforce.

weve tested awira evo on straights and the car accelerates better without a spoiler, no issue on stability, no matter on straights or around corners. max was around 260, limited by the revv in 5th, evo3 gearings are short, or it cudve gone faster, no issue on stability at dat speed. nuff said sir, iam reserving on the fluid dynamics lecture, tq

well sorry if I'm question Ur knowledge sir.. and I agree with U, cornering effect is more tend to the suspension, tire, and body stiffness performance but aerodynamic also play major rolls in handling in addition to create better performance in handling...
but still who am i to question U.. sorry again...and for U info i'm not lecturer but a student in automotive engineering (even not yet finish my master) and I have little knowledge about it because i'm not major on it... and most of my knowledge come with my friend research on aerodynamic in my Uni sir.. which is UTM skudai... but still not fully understand the analysis of it... maybe just hope U can share with me thats all.. and as far as I said is all based on knowledge from my friend research which is some on wind tunnel and some on software....
and lastly.. I really quite amaze with your wira evo can go up to 260kmh without any issue on stability.. because last time I tried my wira (standard one) up to 180kmh it already have a problem in stability when i passed by big vehicle on highway also went cross wind occurs...well maybe I'm wrong la sir...:biggrin:

speaking of downforce how does ground effect apply to a road car? from what i learn, making the air flow under the car smooth produces greater ground effect (pulling effect towards the ground) by putting a cover under the car to make the air flow smooth.. i've seen someone here in zth who put an aluminium sheet under his MR2 (forgot the link sorry)..

my question is, will this be better than a spoiler?

as the only increase in drag is caused by the tire.. imo, this is better than a spoiler as it doesnt produce drag at low speed, only when the air flow around the vehicle is fast, the effect takes place.. im still learning so please add on or correct me if im wrong..

well sorry if I'm question Ur knowledge sir.. and I agree with U, cornering effect is more tend to the suspension, tire, and body stiffness performance but aerodynamic also play major rolls in handling in addition to create better performance in handling...
but still who am i to question U.. sorry again...and for U info i'm not lecturer but a student in automotive engineering (even not yet finish my master) and I have little knowledge about it because i'm not major on it... and most of my knowledge come with my friend research on aerodynamic in my Uni sir.. which is UTM skudai... but still not fully understand the analysis of it... maybe just hope U can share with me thats all.. and as far as I said is all based on knowledge from my friend research which is some on wind tunnel and some on software....
and lastly.. I really quite amaze with your wira evo can go up to 260kmh without any issue on stability.. because last time I tried my wira (standard one) up to 180kmh it already have a problem in stability when i passed by big vehicle on highway also went cross wind occurs...well maybe I'm wrong la sir...:biggrin:

well, iam not here to compare credentials sir:sleep:

aerodynamics plays a role in cornering, yes, but up to a certain speed, below dat u dont bother about downforce but rather the dynamics of the vehicle as a whole. wait, i think ive posted dis before, hmm..

as to ur wira went unstable when passing vehicles and while experiencing cross winds, i dont think there is a need for me to respond to dat, do you? seeing u are a student of automotive and all, u shud know better.. i will draw my line here on this subject matter, tq for ur time sir