Accident Do & Dont`s

RPM_freak

Hai guys ... Just wanted to post up a few do and donts on what to do when you have an accident ... (saddly i just had one recently and it was my 1st serious one)..and i was blurrrrr .. about what to do .. hope this might help .. anyone else with good suggestions and recomendation are free to share your toughts ..

1) DO NOT PANIC !!!! STAY CALM EVEN IF THE OTHER DRIVER IS BARKING AT YOU !! Try to estimate the damage done to your car and the other parties car, see if a settlement can be reached. If the damage is to expencive then there aint much choise but to make a police report.

2) Of coz by now, the call guys would have spotted you and crawling all over you. TRUST me ! .. do not fall for their trap .. they promise all kind of SHI* just to get you to use their service. If you think that your car is driveable and need to make a police report, imediately go to the nearest police station and make a report with the other party. If your car cant function, ask the tow guy to bring it to the nearest police station (say "bawa sampai sana cukup..aku bayar").

3) Remember do it at the nearest police station, if you do it at some other ones, YES they can do it, but they can only write the report but cannot do the investigation of the accident. SO REMEMBER TO DO IT AT THE NEAREST POLICE STATION ! .. there they will ask you to make a report, u need your driving license and IC. You will be hit with a fine (if you are guilty) for about RM300 but i think they kasi discount RM150 (which is what i got, accordingly because MERDEKA MONTH DISCOUNT) ..

4) Once you make your report, identify your insurence company that insures your car and give them a call. Tell them you have been in an accident, and they will ask for your car plate number. If you know a personal workshop that is a panel for your car tell them you are taking it to that place. If not ask them for their panel shops.

5) Bewarned, some of the call guys are from the panel work shop are bunch of money grabbers..they will just say they will do that, do this,change new tyre for you, cange rim for you,
DO NOT BE FOOLED. Some might just use parts from the kedai potong and ketuk/repaint and pasang it to your car while the insurence claim is sky high. My best opinion is to send it to the offical car service company of your car eg. ( proton eder service center / EON service center ). YES it might be abit slow, but at least you know you get original parts for your car.

6) When you bring your car to the workshop bring a photostat & original copy of the CAR GRANT,INSURENCE POLICY,IC,DRIVERS LISENCE and POLICE REPORT !!

7) The adjuster will come to look at the car, make sure you also have a rough estimate of the damage done and the cost of ori parts...adjusters are known to claim higher insurence claims for unnesassary things and they they slipt the extra money with the shop guy .. (asking personal mechanic opinion on the car will also help)...

8) Now all you got to do is sit and wait for your car to be repaired .. Arrg ..

!! Iam dem tension now cause, one call guy is calling me and telling me that i promised that I will send the car to his shop, so he went took my police report,drivers license all from the polis station,but i dint send to his shop..so now he want to kacau my insurence claim !! .. F*cking tension now !! anyone know if this guy is talking the truth !! is it possible for him to do that .. i dint sign anything with him !! .. HELP !!!! ...

Just ignore him la. Or make another police report because of harrasment.

Anyone else had accident experice which u all wish to share ? ... Anyone one of you all had a accident which involved serious injuries to one of the parties ? What do you do then ?? ...

Can somone tell me what "first party" "third party" "No claim discount" .. iam NOT sure how this works .. is there any other insurence terms ??

:bath:

Onces meet a serious accident at mrr2 2 years ago.
my pov is...yes never ever panic.regardless of your car like milo tin crush or wat...it's ok. call man service,you need to be clever.First because you are not panic,if you feel the situation need the help of call man..nego with him..
for me....get myself out from alot of saman and compensate for the tiang lampu i destroyed through the call man...of course duit kopi..
just remain calm

bring any disposable camera in your car,might be handy when the accident occurs,just snap the car condition during the accident if can,this is to show the police officer who`s car hit who`s...you can also snap the driver face or take pic with her/him,even after slow talk with the other driver who cause the accident,some of them may tend to escape and give false contact no to you,just snap their face and paste it anywhere,or you can just hand it to the police station.
just my 2sent opinion.

Yeah.. good idea .. just incase got no police there .. Better to have camera to take picture of the accident . Also if got any witness of the accident, ask them if they willing to give statement if needed. Get their name and contact number. At least if possible get two. Just in case there is a dispute over the accident later.