sudden power loss..all sifu's!!

splitduck

i had sudden power loss and now my car cant move properly..
it sounds like a motorboat or like its running on 2 spark plugs..
mechanics here checked but cant find d prob..no lights popped up as well on dashboard..how.it boosts very early also..
some said ignition coil...???
help im using an evo 3..

hey bro check ur spark plugs N ur cable as well
if iam not wrong...

POWER TR unit
check compression
check ignitor
check ECU
lastly check compression, if compression gone, then u know u know u have to bang ur head on the wall lol

rndom guesses..hav u check ur fuel pump?

hehe , fuel pump wont cause two cylinder :D

splitduck : do this test , learnt it from a sifu , take out the spark plug cable from the head , test one by one, take the cable and fix a spark plug to the cable, touch the body, ask someone to start the car , if got spark, then got to next cylinder , test one by one, by this u know whether its fuel or spark problem. atleast eliminate something

i think ur rear brake lamp short to spare tyre... lol...

ur head gasket burn man... u want to know how.. start ur engine disconect ur plug cable 1 by 1 ... see how the engine run.. if the engine gone dead, mean it ok. if no change , u got to change ur head gasket. either ur no 2 n 3 piston, or 3 n 4,

lol , how do u come to that conclusion
he is already running less 1-2 cylinder already
removing the spark plug cable on the cylinder that is not firing will not give any effects , removing the plug cable from a firing cylinder will cause engine to stop

so lets say scenario 1
my power TR unit failed , causing only piston 2 cylinder to give out spark, so if i remove one spark plug cable the engine doesnt die
conclusion is head gasket burnt ? :stupid:

scenario 2
one of my injectors went dead
i take one spark plug cable for that perticular cylinder and engine doesnt die

scenario 3
coil pack cracked or damaged or oxidixed
i take out the spark plug cable for that perticular cylinder, the engine wont die of cos

to see for engine gasket burnt , u need to open ur radiator to see if it bubles up which actly means air is leaking from the chamber to the water jackets , next would be a compression check , and next is leak down test

hmm, dont give wrong assumptions please:hmmmm:

Do as Jinkl said, test the cylinders one at a time.

Since its running on new plugs now. After starting the car. Remove all the spark plugs and check which one is carbon sooted and whichones are not. If its not sooted but smells and looks wet form fuel, means plug is not firing. If its dry and not sooted, that means injector is not spraying.

How to check the injectors. Use a long screw driver and the tip end, put it onto the connector (just a touch on the injector saja) and listen to tapping sound at the holding end. You'll hear a tapping, indicating its closing and opening operation of the injectors.

Did i make sense there? Tried to make it understandable.

I agree with hiragana. I have experience this at my sunny. Cruizing in 5th gear around 80km/h at ldp highway. Suddenly engine lost power and i press the accelerator more but the engine die. I tried start the engine, it start. But no power at all. Max gear i can go is 3rd gear only. So, bring the car to workshop. tried change the spark plug but didnt solve the problem. Then i tried compression pressure test. i found out that my compression pressure in 3&4 cylinder is low. so it is confirmed that my head gasket is leak between the two cylinder. I open up the cylinder head and do top over haul. So, i suggest that u do compression pressure test to confirm.

bro's so sad...took to the mechanic..cylinder 1 spark plug was black as hell all sooted..so it is due to injectors le or some other prob...??
hey if it is just sooted and no petrol smell means...?? sei lor..

The easiet way to check whether your headgasket is blown is to check underneath the oil cap. If you see emulsion (normally light brown milky color), then your headgasket is blown and also a possibility of leaking waterjacket plugs in the head. Doing compression test may not necessarily indicate a leaking headgasket, it can also be due to worn out piston rings and etc...

How come you only checked cylinder 1 spark plug? How about the rest.

If its new plugs and condition is like below:

1- Black sooted = everything is ok, just that its too RICH in fuel.
2- New plugs but wet with petrol = No spark but injector is spraying fine
3- New plugs no change in condition= Injector is not spraying, ignition may be firing or may not be firing. you need to use JINKL's statement quoted

splitduck : do this test , learnt it from a sifu , take out the spark plug cable from the head , test one by one, take the cable and fix a spark plug to the cable, touch the body, ask someone to start the car , if got spark, then got to next cylinder , test one by one, by this u know whether its fuel or spark problem. atleast eliminate something

haiiiyaaaaa..........
why need to argue on simple things lorr...
wanna know how ur gasket burn..???
go find a shop who does have a compression tester.....
easy n simple way....
the goods compression reading will be at 80 to 130psi....
see 1 by 1 cylinder reading......
the one failure will give u low reading.....
n also the compression tester only cost for rm150.00

hey bro's checked all..ignition coil was the prob...
changed it..cables for plug is new and spark plug also done...
everything was running perfect...
testing the car d whole day and loved it...
now suddenly it re-occured....STERSSSSS!! sounding like a rotary or subaru again suddenly...

now the mechanic said has to open up the engine n might have to do top overhaul...coz he suspects 1 cylinder not working..
wat should i do...
compression test le..im in malacca..bit difficult to find la...been asking around for a while...

bro, have u check ur timing sensor and timing plate if ur engine has one? last time my car was like that on evo4 engine, sometimes at sudden when cruise or high rev at times after that sure the engine like boxer or gonna die,then check piping, it was all ok, no leak, check the plugs, 1 or 2 plugs not working, i did the same like wat u did, change the coil and ballast, then it was ok a while, then hangkang again, like gonna die the engine, then when off and start back after that it becomes ok back, go check ur timing sensor and timing plate, try to crank the crank pulley with a spanner and see if it touches, and check if ur crank pulley got free play or not...

hey bro's checked all..ignition coil was the prob...
changed it..cables for plug is new and spark plug also done...
everything was running perfect...
testing the car d whole day and loved it...
now suddenly it re-occured....STERSSSSS!! sounding like a rotary or subaru again suddenly...

now the mechanic said has to open up the engine n might have to do top overhaul...coz he suspects 1 cylinder not working..
wat should i do...
compression test le..im in malacca..bit difficult to find la...been asking around for a while...

wuish, sure malacca has it , i would say , dont do the top overhaul , ur mech just wants to eat the cash i guess , go do a compression check if u have to go to kl , if piston rings are gone , then no use doing a top overhaul , piston rings are not at the top , it might end up the same even after top overhaul, my suggestion is go to another mech , a more knowledged n experience mech

hey kenzo bro your right...same exact scenario im facing!i was actually driving at highway den suddenly it sounded like a demon boxter..and i did notice THE TIMING TO BE AT 1.3 TO 1.5 as i noticed when shifting gear idle was quite high...
ok will check timing plate and sensor..and d crank pulley...

jinkl sifu...can the car take the driving to kl...?? hmmmmm..any recommendations on which clinic i can go to..but the prob is piston rings all new 3-4 months back..just overhauled the engine bro..could it be the timing plate or sensor...??:confused:
awaiting your advise....

sorry another question...the mech replaced the plug cable with a wira 1.8 cable...i doubt it is enough for the conduction...?? any advise on type of plug cables to use..or are these good enough..having my doubts??