Choices of cars to buy?

RM100k and brand new car. Which one would you choose?

• VW Polo Sedan 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Kia Forte 2.0

• Ford Focus Sedan 1.8

• Nissan Sylphy 2.0

• Toyota Vios 1.5

• Chery Eastar 2.0

• Mazda 2 Sedan

• Total voters
If you come KL, can bring you go see that Kelisa. I havent pop the hood before to see but is
a no joke car.

Not exactly same. At least 20hp+ difference :rofl:

Also the 3SGE Beams engine in Altezza have the title of Beemer Killer for a reason. But not 2ZZ-GE.
Even so, 2ZZGE is actually good enough. Can further tune this great engine as well.

Your friend's Kelisa is it?

2ZZ-GE is also a big leap over the current 1ZZ-FE. If you make it manual, even better.

I'm worried it'll carry over the DSG. If they follow what the CKD polo hatch is doing and remove the DSG, I might be interested.

Me likem all Jags. Polestar Volvo however is a 'family car' favorite.

Too bad this is not like Europe where most VW buyers opted for the manual variant.

wah.. the Jetta is gonna be CKD soon. I wonder what the new price will be. KCNG must be kicking his own ass right now. :biggrin:

I had a dream yesterday that I was driving a new car. For the life of me I can't remember what it was but it felt like it was a conti. I wonder when I can afford that Polestar Volvo

i tried to... but my leg cant reach my ass....
:biggrin::biggrin:

btw DSG got what issue?

been sepang 8 times now in 14 months..
monthly touge...
3 competitive events...

Polestar Volvo..too loud. You drive Audi RS6..too obvious. Should get a Volvo V50... sleeper to the max..

V50 is boring. I like loud and blaring... but still be a Volvo. Bwahahaha.. RS6 nobadtoo. But I prefer the super loud light blue colours - Polestar.

Yah! they remove back disc and give you the drums.....:biggrin::biggrin:

I'm actually ok with that. More things to mod. :biggrin:

i tried to... but my leg cant reach my ass....

btw DSG got what issue?

monthly touge...
3 competitive events...

Actually.. I'm surprised you haven't had any DSG problems.

Stupidcar/supraF : The Q5 is the most boring car on earth. I've been in one, I've been driven in one, I've driven the same one and I hate it to my core. It's so dull inside and the drive is so dull. For the same money give me the Evoque anyday or the Golf GTI. Heck I'd trade any of those for the Civic Type R and rattle the shit outta my bones... but at least I'd have a smile on my face everyday.

I'm worried it'll carry over the DSG. If they follow what the CKD polo hatch is doing and remove the DSG, I might be interested.

btw DSG got what issue?

monthly touge...
3 competitive events...

Based on this guy experience, apparently DSG is not the only major issues for VW. Compression can also be a major problem for the 1.4l engine.
http://geligalabs.com/Ramblings/2014/01/15/the-long-and-arduous-process-of-vw-malaysias-warranty-claim.html

Anyway just recently I also got a ride in my colleague's Jetta which only has vibration and a jolt every time it starts moving from stand still. I'm quite sure it was not like that when I rode in it a few times when she bought it new last time. Not sure if that's normal or not.

Based on this guy experience, apparently DSG is not the only major issues for VW. Compression can also be a major problem for the 1.4l engine.
http://geligalabs.com/Ramblings/2014/01/15/the-long-and-arduous-process-of-vw-malaysias-warranty-claim.html

Anyway just recently I also got a ride in my colleague's Jetta which only has vibration and a jolt every time it starts moving from stand still. I'm quite sure it was not like that when I rode in it a few times when she bought it new last time. Not sure if that's normal or not.

Apparently it's normal. I've driven my friends 1.4 Golf, Polo GTI and they all drive that way. The worst thing is if you're on a slope, the car will roll back even in gear. You have to drive it like a manual.

Maybe that's what KCNG is doing right.

actually compression also is another issue for the 1.4L twin-charge engine...
mainly because of the 15k km service interval and the condition of our climate/driving condition...

u see, those who has compression issue with the 1.4L twin-charge engine, i dare say they drive like their balls is on fire (and mod like their balls on fire, stage 1 or stage 2 map etc) but service at 15k km service interval instead of the more costly 7.5k km interim service (which i religiously do) in between the major 15k km service.
not only they don't do interim service, they most likely don't bother to check their engine oil level too (i check mine every weekend)...

all this factor will cause accelerated wear and tear on the piston ring etc and voila, compression loss or worst case, piston berlubang or scratched cylinder wall...

so is this the case of blaming sorely on poor quality?
i personally think its both parties that need to shoulder the blame...

VW for coming up with such low tolerance materials and owners who only know how to mod but dunno how to take care of the hidden parts like engine...

Apparently it's normal. I've driven my friends 1.4 Golf, Polo GTI and they all drive that way. The worst thing is if you're on a slope, the car will roll back even in gear. You have to drive it like a manual.

for the golf and jetta onwards, it comes with hill hold control to hold the car in position while u take your own sweet time to move from brake to accelerator...

P/S - actually the hill hold will hold your car for only 2 secs after u release the brakes... after which u will roll backwards until u hold the brakes again to activate hill hold.. hehe...

mainly because of the 15k km service interval and the condition of our climate/driving condition...

u see, those who has compression issue with the 1.4L twin-charge engine, i dare say they drive like their balls is on fire (and mod like their balls on fire, stage 1 or stage 2 map etc) but service at 15k km service interval instead of the more costly 7.5k km interim service (which i religiously do) in between the major 15k km service.
not only they don't do interim service, they most likely don't bother to check their engine oil level too (i check mine every weekend)...

all this factor will cause accelerated wear and tear on the piston ring etc and voila, compression loss or worst case, piston berlubang or scratched cylinder wall...

VW for coming up with such low tolerance materials and owners who only know how to mod but dunno how to take care of the hidden parts like engine...

for the golf and jetta onwards, it comes with hill hold control to hold the car in position while u take your own sweet time to move from brake to accelerator...

P/S - actually the hill hold will hold your car for only 2 secs after u release the brakes... after which u will roll backwards until u hold the brakes again to activate hill hold.. hehe...

So the climate rumours are true eh.

Hahaa hope those owners know their own cars' features.

i mentioned climate in blanket but this climate don't only refers to well, climate...
it also includes driving condition (as u can see by my /)
driving condition like stop and go traffic, heavy gridlock, dusty condition etc will somehow require u to service your car more often instead of the specified interval...

so taking this into consideration... no chances is taken when it comes to my altis maintenance...
haha...

I see, just seems a bit odd coz it's quite noticeable.

Well, just need to practice left foot braking, no problem.

---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:50 PM ----------

Maybe VW should've shorten the OCI to maybe 10k kms. Coz that 15k km OCI is one of their main selling factor to say that VWs are cheaper to maintain.:biggrin:

I don't get it. The piston rings are that weak? And driving it like your balls on fire - isn't that what you do when you track your 'Altis'? So the TSI engine isn't for thrashing? Why twin charge if it can't be thrashed? I mean, gotta outrun that goddamn Proton tionging me right? (Hehehehe)

As for the 15k service interval, I think BMW had the same issues some years ago. Theirs was 20k km and a lot of cars came back with issues. They reduced it to 12k or 15k (I think) and problems started to go away.

Oh and good luck to VWs. I heard Magnatec is the oil of choice by VW service centers?

the issues with BMW was the ATF, it stated something like lifelong ATF. bmw owners think that should not change the ATF at all since its lifelong, but actually its longlife (change every 70k kms)

I don't get it. The piston rings are that weak? And driving it like your balls on fire - isn't that what you do when you track your 'Altis'? So the TSI engine isn't for thrashing? Why twin charge if it can't be thrashed? I mean, gotta outrun that goddamn Proton tionging me right? (Hehehehe)

As for the 15k service interval, I think BMW had the same issues some years ago. Theirs was 20k km and a lot of cars came back with issues. They reduced it to 12k or 15k (I think) and problems started to go away.

Oh and good luck to VWs. I heard Magnatec is the oil of choice by VW service centers?

not to say it cant be trashed...
it can be trashed and the engine loves to be trashed...

problem is, being a turbo engine, the more u trash it, u need to check your engine oil level more often to ensure that it is always at the optimum level/amount...

and this is where problem begins.. many users don't bother to really check their engine oil level often.. and what happens when your engine oil level is low or below optimum level?
accelerated wear and tear right?

its like running your engine with minimal engine oil... engine will still work... but you just accelerate the wear and tear of the piston ring etc... regardless your engine is idling or being rev to kingdom come...

yup VW official oil is Castrol... but my recently done interim service last weekend (7.5k km interval) is using minyak batu 5w40....
:biggrin:

Your friend's Kelisa is it?

2ZZ-GE is also a big leap over the current 1ZZ-FE. If you make it manual, even better.

Too bad this is not like Europe where most VW buyers opted for the manual variant.

Not really a friend, just a guy I know who owns a workshop and owns that kelisa. More like modding specialist. K-cars or anything, they can get it done for u according to what you want.

BOT Kelisa seems to be recommended to me instead of YRV. Lower boost but good enough to take care of myvis and some cars. :biggrin: Kena poisoned already me.

Stupidcar/supraF : The Q5 is the most boring car on earth. I've been in one, I've been driven in one, I've driven the same one and I hate it to my core. It's so dull inside and the drive is so dull. For the same money give me the Evoque anyday or the Golf GTI. Heck I'd trade any of those for the Civic Type R and rattle the shit outta my bones... but at least I'd have a smile on my face everyday.

Ya design wise Evoque is much better. I would take Evoque any day over Q5. Audi TT, not really. Prefer Audi TTS. But definitely enough power for normal street use. At least better than my Jetta a lot.

Audi RS6, Audi A5, A7 or S5, those really nothing to say lo...RS6 especially...monster man...

Not really a friend, just a guy I know who owns a workshop and owns that kelisa. More like modding specialist. K-cars or anything, they can get it done for u according to what you want.

BOT Kelisa seems to be recommended to me instead of YRV. Lower boost but good enough to take care of myvis and some cars. :biggrin: Kena poisoned already me.

Ya design wise Evoque is much better. I would take Evoque any day over Q5. Audi TT, not really. Prefer Audi TTS. But definitely enough power for normal street use. At least better than my Jetta a lot.

Audi RS6, Audi A5, A7 or S5, those really nothing to say lo...RS6 especially...monster man...

At least BOT you dont need to go to endorsement. But you need to reinforce the engine internals though. Still, not a small task.

Of course Evoque is nice. It is the car of the year for top gear in year 2011. :biggrin:

At least BOT you dont need to go to endorsement. But you need to reinforce the engine internals though. Still, not a small task.

Of course Evoque is nice. It is the car of the year for top gear in year 2011. :biggrin:

Ya that's what that guy told me. No need hassle go endorse. Just drive. RM5K+ can do it :biggrin:
Not too expensive and not to cheap but satisfaction guaranteed.

Because remain NA also mod will be RM5K but not as good as BOT but will have lots of improvement as well.

Low boost only, so not much things need to mod. He will just mod the necessary things.

Evoque is nice, but somehow I find the power it has is kinda low for its looks. It looks faster than that :biggrin:

choices super wagon second hand to buy

Volvo V50 T5 2005 RM80K+
Subaru Legacy BP5 2004 RM80K+
Toyota Caldina 2004 RM80K+

Some suggestion will do, Price range below 90K.

choices super wagon second hand to buy

Volvo V50 T5 2005 RM80K+
Subaru Legacy BP5 2004 RM80K+
Toyota Caldina 2004 RM80K+

Some suggestion will do, Price range below 90K.

Subaru Legacy. Rare, powerful and cheaper to maintain :listen:

or this? :biggrin:

articleimage_62913.jpg