Why upgrade to high performance camshafts??

heyhei,anybdy knws hw much PZ sells der camshafts 4 4G91??? izit trade in wit our old ones o can jst buy it frm dem?? or does anybdy hav camshaft 4 4G91 4 sell?? hehehe...

tot PZ cams r reprofile.... take ori n reprofile it???

if im not mistaken the cams is rm1800.. 264 degree... but dun forget to add in adj cam gear also :) :driver:

aril, r u using it?? hows the improvement???

not yet, still considering whether pz, matspeed or piper... i only went to pz before raya and asked them about the cam...

how if we tt to pz or matspeed, then we can get info about their cam, then maybe we can get better/lower price if we buy in group.. :)

so we cnnt keep our own ori cams eh?? darn... rm1800... tats kinda expensive,dnt u guys think....
wat abt matspeed?? is it s good s PZ,has anybdy tried both, do gve feedbck guys..hehehhee... price n all... matspeed do hav cams 4 4G91 engines s wel right?

eiiii...i knw this thread kinda old but do matspeed hav high cam for 6a12tt?

- for a DOHC engine, 1600cc, 4 speed automatic transmission.

- what benefits are there if the camshafts were upgraded from the stock unit to a high performance unit?

- what shortcomings will there be? (example, increase in petrol consumption?)

- what about ported & polished cylinder heads? What does it do?
- adjustable cam pulleys? What does it do?

hope to know more ....thank you..:redface:

Camshaft changes the timing of opening/lifting and closing of the intake/exhaust valve. Increasing the timing that an intake valve stays open, allows more air to come in per cycle per cylinder.. since more air, ur ECU gonna detect extra O2 at the exhaust and hence adjusting back to squirt more fuel to retain the 14:1 air to fuel ratio. Thus, expect higher fuel consumption, but of course, ur car also more torque/power.. in order to make it fuel efficient, use the blardy piggyback like simple one is the SAFC. then u can adjust fuel more efficiently, while gaining power. But dont use a too high performance one, bcos, your idling will not be stable..

Port n polish (PnP) is like smoothing off the path of air intake and exhaust. think of it as sandpapering the inside of tube.. more smooth tube will blow air smoothly. PnP is to make your engine breathe better.. thus also smoothing the engine response.

adj cam pulley is necessary if you change camshaft, because you need to adjust the timing of the camshaft using the cam pulley..

my 2 sen nia.

270degree cams will do good, with a piggyback. but for auto, forget about it, if u want to powerful auto, turbo charge it. dont waste time on cam.

or throw in a manual tranny for better power

AT not good if use cam???

i tot since AT driver normally play high rev, then it is good to mod on cams no? (i mean alternative to turbo lah)

so we cnnt keep our own ori cams eh?? darn... rm1800... tats kinda expensive,dnt u guys think....
wat abt matspeed?? is it s good s PZ,has anybdy tried both, do gve feedbck guys..hehehhee... price n all... matspeed do hav cams 4 4G91 engines s wel right?

1800 is expensive, and u dont even get enough kicks, hehe..... for about RM3000, u can have a simple bolt on turbo and makes as much as 180whp/220wtq on 4G91 with piggyback.

cams swap should be the last on ur list, after u pnp, enlarge cylinders and hook up a piggyback. no piggyback, resulting slightly better power but heavy FC, possibly screwed-up A/F ratio.

---------- Post added at 03:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:25 PM ----------

AT not good if use cam???

i tot since AT driver normally play high rev, then it is good to mod on cams no? (i mean alternative to turbo lah)

Auto can highrev meh ? Wanna kill the torque-convertor ?

Focus on torque improvement with turbo is better. Coz u don need to rev high, the power already kicks in, and FC better too :)