Which Proton is Good.

Geon323

i plan to buy my 1st car, in my mine, i have 3 choice;
1.proton saga LMST
2.Proton wira 1.5 sedan
3.Proton wira second edition.

Reason i choose proton is just because cheap and spacious at the range of price. my budget is not over 48K.

So sifu-sifu pls give me ur opinion, avantage and disadvantage of that car and which car is the most good deal 1. thank

if you get no.1, you'll still have around 10k balance.

if just for your daily normal driving....no.1 is sufficient la...

it all depends on your needs....

Good thing you're asking for opinions here...if in that Au**Wo*** forum...sure kena bashed already.

ask opinion from that forum..... won't get answer 1..... cause there hate P..t.n too much... no choice, poor ppl buy cheap thing loh... i also wish to own toyota,honda... but no money...

XaMax,
thanks for answering, saga LMST actually is my choice but think back the car start selling since proton found... history car... 1 i don't like is drawer
inside the car very very very less... know lah young ppl have alot of hidden thing 1 mah hehehehehe....

Originally posted by sarcastic@Mar 24 2005, 12:02
ploton jamban. err i mean jumbuck
[snapback]836491[/snapback]​

Curious, what do you drive?

Actually it all depends on what you want to do with the car. Maybe can tell us so much more easier to advise.

My personal preference would be the Wira SE. By the way, wira SE got 1.5 right?
Currently I own the Iswara SE. Since it's still in stock condition and only 1.3, I am having some difficulties in hill climbing :) So, maybe you can take note on this.

i'll take the WiSE. saga is too old already. but u should consider 2nd hand cars also.. 48k can get a good condition toyota SEG or honda civic. better spec too.. the only disadvantage is they are 2nd hand. but reliability is good.

Originally posted by Geon323@Mar 24 2005, 11:45
ask opinion from that forum..... won't get answer 1..... cause there hate P..t.n too much... no choice, poor ppl buy cheap thing loh... i also wish to own toyota,honda... but no money...

Which Malaysian can hate protons :o I bet everyone in M'sia has at least sat in a Proton b4. ;) Some people

Originally posted by muskasim@Mar 24 2005, 11:58
From my opinion, go for 2nd car..... 48K you can get a Honda and toyota.....
[snapback]836469[/snapback]​

second hand... now i drive a mazda 323 year 90' BF model, i bought it year 2000 within this 5 year repairing fees already cost me over 10k... all part use OEM and not performance part... so now i scare buying second hand car just like depend on luck.

new car at least can serve u 3 year without repair...

he he .. if like dat buy motorbike la then .. malaysia so many cars oledi.. he jam there jam everywhere jam .. we reduce jam .. all buy motorbike .. kekekekekek

Originally posted by Geon323+Mar 24 2005, 12:30 -->
QUOTE(Geon323 @ Mar 24 2005, 12:30 )
--QuoteBegin-muskasim
@Mar 24 2005, 11:58
From my opinion, go for 2nd car..... 48K you can get a Honda and toyota.....
[snapback]836469[/snapback]​

second hand... now i drive a mazda 323 year 90' BF model, i bought it year 2000 within this 5 year repairing fees already cost me over 10k... all part use OEM and not performance part... so now i scare buying second hand car just like depend on luck.

new car at least can serve u 3 year without repair...
[snapback]836620[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

seems like you got yourself a lemon.
If you are not fated with the car, even a new one would be problematic. ;)

3rd choice would be my preference la... coz the look also kinda cool ma... saga LMST would save u some money for some modd later... but remind u that no matter how much u modd, it is still a saga (weak chassis, weak performance, terrible handling, but much lighhter than the others)...

up to u to think about it lor.... really depends on ur daily use...

I guess diff ppl have diff opinions / diff taste buds. My $.02 :

= New Proton - sure got minor problems but got warranty. Easy to maintain. Parts are cheap. "Serviceable" anywhere, anytime.

- Saga is ok but like the others say, kinda outdated but saves you more than 10+k!
- Wira is a better choice, better comfort, handling and looks ok. Not much saving.
- 2nd hand Japanese cars are good but for a 48k budget, you're better off going for local. Not gonna be sure what you're getting unless you know the ownber personally.
- Continental cars are far better than the JAPs but maintanance is higher.

I was in the same shoes as you were bout 2 yrs ago, was shopping for a good car @ 50k budget. Finally I got a 2yr old WIRA 1.8EXI DOHC from Proton Glenmarie, Shah Alam. It had 25+k on clock and was still under warranty. I got it @ RM44k

1st owner was EON and these cars were used for sponsorship purpose. I took it back to Proton after 2 months (2 more days for warranty to expire) and got lots of parts, ie, absorbers, link rods, lower arms, bushes, meter, steering rod and some other stuff, all changed for FREE as it was still under warranty! Some parts had NO problems whatsoever but was changed too since it was all still under warranty. Till todate, the car is as good if NOT better than most JAP/Continental cars the same age. Performance is far better & Maintanance is super cheap compared to my other cars.

b4 i plan to buy new car,sr-4,seg,323 BG sedan,is my choices but i think back the history of my old 323 damn scarry... i donno after i bought a second hand car will be like the same as my old 323 or not...

my family,my GF all ask me to buy new car,they reason is; why u use the value of a new car to buy a second hand car?? quite true lah what there say so i decide to buy new car loh...

i know in ZTH many people have the same experience like me right so pls give me some advise

ha ha .. dude Geon323 .. up 2 u larr.. even u budget 200k buying a skyline gt-r oso will have problem one .. hard to estimate ..

CAR = PROBLEM
PROBLEM = MONEY
MONEY= HEADACHE

CAR+PROBLEM+MONEY+HEADACHE = DRIVER

i use 3yrs old wira.. i never go servicing to proton since i bought the car .. if u want i can show u guys the service booklet .. all i do is myself.. he he .. cause i dont like other ppl touch my car .. i even never let other ppl drive my car including my dad .. ;)

car care, maintenance, how we use the car is also important oso .. we cant blame car all the time, sometime driver oso got problem one .. u ppl know larr human, very hard to accept their mistakes .. correct or not? ..

:) proton up prices...
to me u did b rather off buying a 2nd hand car..
get a recon car dealer...
better if u noe any dealer..dey can..cut u on better deals...

but proton er...no comment..nice car...but u muz c u wanna mod the car or jz for daily driving... :D

2cents oni..
jgn tembak

sakura guy,correct correct agree what u say...
recon ahh.... i think recon car price is not lower than 50k right so think also not dare to think to own a recon car....

so guy,year 2004 up proton car still have any problem ahh...

Write your reply...