What's time tuning?

Seabiscuit

Went to an ICE shop in puchong yesterday. The sifu there ask me to do computerize time tuning for my ICE. He said they can tune till all speakers produce exact frequency it should wor...and lots of ice term I never heard before for RM150. He also suggested me try unplug my 6x9 see if can produce better sound wor... or put in comp set to the rear wor...

My current setting:
front JBL 6" + JBL tweeter + 2ch ayam brand amp
rear JBL 6x9 + 2ch ayam brand amp
Boston generator 10" + GT20 2ch amp
Pioneer DEH7650MP HU

Does my current settings worth to spent another RM150 for computerize time tuning? FYI, I install all the equipment by myself.

Tell him you only pay if you see the different result after tuned.

appleyard said:
time tuning. As I know its like tuning your watch :)

Are you referring to time allignment???

Haha... I think the proper term should be time alignment. like synchronise midbass with subbass sort of thing?

this better be good or else RM150 can buy a good RCA cable already...

if your HU is capable of time alignment, sifus in TT can help u for free, the RM150 better u save up to get better equipment...

RM150 for time alignment... no need lah... go TT belanja the sifu RM1.50 for teh tarik and he will do it for you some even will ask you to bring measuring tape

:wink:

Possibility it's RTA tuning kot
Dunno la good or not
but most of the time the sound still not that good since sound is a bit subjective
Tune by ear would be better

if you use the RM150 to buy a session of tt,
not only time alignment but x-over and eq
will also be done too... ha ha ha

he doesnt have a 31band eq, how to tune RTA...? but the shop can use the RTA and tell him all the shortcomings of the system, and then try to sell this n that on top of charging the 150...hehe...

Seabiscuit said:
Haha... I think the proper term should be time alignment. like synchronise midbass with subbass sort of thing?

I think what you meant is xover settings as to blend the mid bass and the sub bass. Its tuning your mid bass xover and subs tuning freq.

Or are you referring to group delay????

Zenn said:
if your HU is capable of time alignment, sifus in TT can help u for free, the RM150 better u save up to get better equipment...

I saw my friend check my HU, he said all pioneer DEH series capable of time alignment. Any sifu here wants to do my ICE time alignment? I belanja bak kut teh.:regular_smile:

ISWARA GT-R said:
Possibility it's RTA tuning kot
Dunno la good or not
but most of the time the sound still not that good since sound is a bit subjective
Tune by ear would be better

What's RTA? sorry for asking basic question, me very very rookie in ICE.

built said:
if you use the RM150 to buy a session of tt,
not only time alignment but x-over and eq
will also be done too... ha ha ha

1-Time alignment?
2-x-over?
3-eq?

Why play ICE so mafan wan? Anyone here can teach me what's that 1-2-3 all about?

of coz la maa fan, this how u separate the men from the boys, not easy to get good SQ from your system, even if u buy all high end stuff, without tuning its nothing...

RTA is an equipment to analyze the sound level in your car accross all the frequency spectrum, like spectrum analyser u find in some in-dash eq. with this u know how inbalanced your system is, where needs boosting, where needs cutting (see eq below)

time alignment is a function from your HU to give delay to certain channels/speakers to adjust the time the sound reaches your ear (tweeter fast, sub slow, so delay the tweeter to match the sub) some ppl dont like to do this bcoz lose out on natural sound. some ppl like to do it to improve sound stage.

xover or crossover, in this case electronic crossover (active, not passive like the small box u find with your component speakers). it is to divide the frequencies to different speakers, so that each gets the correct one (high frequency go to tweeters, lowest frequency go to subs). if your tweeter plays the low frequency instead, rosak laaa....

eq or equiliser, the simple type is called parametric, only has around 7 bands of eq, the complicated ones are graphic eq, usually in 31 band, but can find some 10 or 13 band etc. this item adjusts the strength of signal in each frequency band. if in that frequency u feel is lacking, u can boost it up, or if u feel this frequency is too much, u can cut it down. for me the most useful item after elec. xover in tuning your system. in fact once u kautim the xover settings u will be playing with the eq non stop. of coz u need good ears to notice all the small changes...