What is your first car?

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
Too much adrenaline. :biggrin:

Easy? I thought you need to install some kind of chip/ECU thing to remove the limiter?

So, I guess I was correct earlier. :party:
depends on the car, some potong cable dah, some need to reroute one wire.... others u can rechip or install a rsm.... when i first intended to get a car, i was already prepared to delimit and all... but after actually getting it and driving it around i realized, 6 months down the road, i never actually took the car pass 110.... never ever.....

dont understand why i tried pushing my saga pass 150 but in this car which can easily speed, i dont feel like doing it:confused:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
depends on the car, some potong cable dah, some need to reroute one wire.... others u can rechip or install a rsm.... when i first intended to get a car, i was already prepared to delimit and all... but after actually getting it and driving it around i realized, 6 months down the road, i never actually took the car pass 110.... never ever.....

dont understand why i tried pushing my saga pass 150 but in this car which can easily speed, i dont feel like doing it:confused:
Driving safe after getting sports car, hahaha. :biggrin:

My friend did give me a unit called speed limit defender. Just hook up to ECU but I did not do it....lol
For free? That sounds good. :biggrin:

azlan96

Sep 21, 2011
Ampang
Started learning to drive at around 8 years old in a Kia Spectra while sitting on my grandpa's lap, controlled the steering and accelerator around taman, then at age 15-16 started driving parents civic fd2 round and round parking lots, got my license at 18 and drove a Suprima S for about a year then currently driving a Fiesta Ecoboost

The story you told few times about a 4G63T Satria that crashed badly?
Yup, that the one. He saw my VR4 then he say he got no use for the limiter defender so gave it to me. Initially thought of hooking it up but later thought how often run pass 180......lol:biggrin:

Started learning to drive at around 8 years old in a Kia Spectra while sitting on my grandpa's lap, controlled the steering and accelerator around taman, then at age 15-16 started driving parents civic fd2 round and round parking lots, got my license at 18 and drove a Suprima S for about a year then currently driving a Fiesta Ecoboost
Fuh! nice cars you drive after getting your license.....:driver:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Seems like you have a long history of driving even at such young age. The examiner for your licence test was probably surprised by your driving skills. :biggrin:

Yup, that the one. He saw my VR4 then he say he got no use for the limiter defender so gave it to me. Initially thought of hooking it up but later thought how often run pass 180......lol:biggrin:
Scary accident. Other than the limiter defender, what other parts did your friend manage to salvage from the total lost car?

Fuh! nice cars you drive after getting your license.....:driver:
Agree. Drove so many cars before getting licence too. :biggrin:

azlan96

Sep 21, 2011
Ampang
Seems like you have a long history of driving even at such young age. The examiner for your licence test was probably surprised by your driving skills. :biggrin:

Agree. Drove so many cars before getting licence too. :biggrin:
But then all of it is auto, learned manual through YouTube, probably made my driving instructor's life much more easier haha. Haven't touched manual cars since JPJ test so really miss driving a stick

Scary accident. Other than the limiter defender, what other parts did your friend manage to salvage from the total lost car?
Don't know. He actually is an ex colleague, bashed his car before he join the company. Only saw the picture he showed me, really bashed up. Looking at picture, you will think he did not survive dy.....lol

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
But then all of it is auto, learned manual through YouTube, probably made my driving instructor's life much more easier haha. Haven't touched manual cars since JPJ test so really miss driving a stick
Well, at least you know how to steer the car and perhaps controlling the brakes despite being an auto. Learning to drive a manual is just adding on a bit of extra work.

Don't know. He actually is an ex colleague, bashed his car before he join the company. Only saw the picture he showed me, really bashed up. Looking at picture, you will think he did not survive dy.....lol
Means he crashed before you know him? Must be very lucky to survive that. Did the whole front portion of the car is squashed up?

Not front part but whole car squashed, that is why I mentioned you see the picture you would think he did not have survived.....lol

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Not front part but whole car squashed, that is why I mentioned you see the picture you would think he did not have survived.....lol
That sounds worse than what I actually thought. I guess it is a miracle for your friend. Not many have such luck.

mnymy

Jul 2, 2012
simply couldn't resist to add on this first car thing....:biggrin:

My first car was a Ford Escort 1.6 Sport, last model..pale yellow...offered to me by close friend for 3K.
After a few kms run and my ears exploded..the carburetor will choke and need to clean. That's why I do not dare to drive it all day because I just don't know much about repairs...only to feel like a champion when I am on the steering and the power is no limit..except the carburetor..hate it when it's cut the throttle. The only mods done were the new paint and install Toyota Celica front seats..lost it to my big brother...he said that he suits the car better..

My second car (sorry..out of topic)..a wira 1.5 manual..good car, a malaysian pride..but I am not good for wira though..after a few month owning it,install a compressor..the water tank exploded in the 3rd gear and got to change the head too..exchange it with VR4.

One thing I know..the style of driving the Ford Escort still stuck with me until today..carry on with my VR4 but very much less worry of fixing anything after a long high speed run even from Karak to Kuala Terengganu...done it and can talk about ..but not here lah.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
simply couldn't resist to add on this first car thing....:biggrin:

My first car was a Ford Escort 1.6 Sport, last model..pale yellow...offered to me by close friend for 3K.
After a few kms run and my ears exploded..the carburetor will choke and need to clean. That's why I do not dare to drive it all day because I just don't know much about repairs...only to feel like a champion when I am on the steering and the power is no limit..except the carburetor..hate it when it's cut the throttle. The only mods done were the new paint and install Toyota Celica front seats..lost it to my big brother...he said that he suits the car better..

My second car (sorry..out of topic)..a wira 1.5 manual..good car, a malaysian pride..but I am not good for wira though..after a few month owning it,install a compressor..the water tank exploded in the 3rd gear and got to change the head too..exchange it with VR4.

One thing I know..the style of driving the Ford Escort still stuck with me until today..carry on with my VR4 but very much less worry of fixing anything after a long high speed run even from Karak to Kuala Terengganu...done it and can talk about ..but not here lah.
2 door Ford Escort? Is your brother still using the car? :biggrin:

Wira 1.5 manual okay I think. That is my first car and I'm still driving it now. Bought new back in 1999.

Ford Escort if not mistaken have the carb over the exhaust manifold. When carb wear down and got leak, petrol will drip onto exhaust manifold and can catch fire....must be careful......

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
sorry lah..long gone already. hot car..
Stolen?

Ford Escort if not mistaken have the carb over the exhaust manifold. When carb wear down and got leak, petrol will drip onto exhaust manifold and can catch fire....must be careful......
I find it weird that old SOHC engines have their intake and exhaust located at the same side. Won't that be less efficient?

mnymy

Jul 2, 2012
My brother sold it..after few years.

Yes some cars do..even VR4. Just need for to know ur car better to avoid major damages.

Guys

Im planning to buy a 2010 Toyota car direct from owner. Since this is my first time buying car, i tried to google for some info and found this: http://nextimelah.blogspot.com/2014/02/buying-used-car-in-malaysia-from-direct.html

If anyone has epxerience buying used car from owner, can you please advice since this writing is 2014, maybe some changes recently on the processes, or things that not covered by the writer of the blog. or maybe, if anyone can simply advise me point...