first car- evo 7 or dc5?

If earning RM5k per month and u still want to get an e7 or dc5, you can! Provided you park the car at home without going anywhere.. Save tyre and petrol yet u still own the car!

That beats the purpose of having the car, might as well just buy a 1/8 Scaled Die-Cast Model or
if rich enough, just buy the whole empty chassis without engine and place it at home.

That's if your house has that much space if not it would end up as piece of trash blocking the way. :smile:

DC 5 no doubts bro (since ur planning on daily driving it..it should consume like ordinary Honda 2.0L Vtec if engine is stock or still in good state..and of coz...not high revving after all traffic lights =) ) ..but like others said...homework needs to be done about the car before committing coz once its yours...somehow cars are like very sporting gf's / wives / mistress....never complain when u desire to 'f**k em hard' but will punish ya if u dont 'spoil' them with loads of tender loving care (one and only way to do it.... $$$$!!!!!) hehehehe....

i always wanted to buy an evo7 but unfortunately cant afford yet. the longer i wait the older the car becomes
& the loan margin is lower too means higher downpayment. at least rm30-40k for evo 7, evo 8-10 lesser d/p.

but my dream car will be the evo6 or 6.5 - if i had cold hard cash, if loan will be evo8 MR.

i always wanted to buy an evo7 but unfortunately cant afford yet. the longer i wait the older the car becomes
& the loan margin is lower too means higher downpayment. at least rm30-40k for evo 7, evo 8-10 lesser d/p.

but my dream car will be the evo6 or 6.5 - if i had cold hard cash, if loan will be evo8 MR.

No longer FD3S ar bro? Road tax cheaper :rofl:

I had one FD3S. Nothing beats ripping down the highway in a ultra lightweight car with that much boost. But it was one helluva car to maintain. Not many rotary experts out there and the one that I knew was good was too far. Whats more mine started to have issues with the Apex seals.

But given the chance again to own it, I will. But for 'older' folks like myself and Danz, family will always come first.

I had one FD3S. Nothing beats ripping down the highway in a ultra lightweight car with that much boost. But it was one helluva car to maintain. Not many rotary experts out there and the one that I knew was good was too far. Whats more mine started to have issues with the Apex seals.

But given the chance again to own it, I will. But for 'older' folks like myself and Danz, family will always come first.

Yup, if there is a choice, we would want both family and dream cars, but then life is getting tougher and tougher. Worry about our future and also the kids. Money is never enough nowadays. Is getting smaller.

im thinking of buying the car cash.. got some durian runtuh.. can afford rm90-100k.. thts y im curious bout the maintenance of the sport cars..

---------- Post added at 12:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

but then.. from all of the sifussss comment, sounds like, i shld just go for lancer gt or civic fd2, is it???

sf, fd3s still my dream car....but those in mint condition can buy an evo7 edi.....
but no matter wat family comes 1st.....like izso said.....

mista,
can show me how to get durian runtuh like u....:hmmmm:

Internet world is full of info even in zth alone u can find tons of info regarding those cars....If I have that kind of money, i wont be going around asking for opinion or suggestion instead I'll beef up my knowledge through Mr. Google and straight go for it....usually this kind of thread will make the TS more confuse in the end of tons of suggestion/opinion....

My money will be on E7 but back to real world, I wont place anything on those 2 as my 1st car :biggrin:

sf, fd3s still my dream car....but those in mint condition can buy an evo7 edi.....
but no matter wat family comes 1st.....like izso said.....

mista,
can show me how to get durian runtuh like u....:hmmmm:

Buy 4D, 3D and Toto. :biggrin:

im thinking of buying the car cash.. got some durian runtuh.. can afford rm90-100k.. thts y im curious bout the maintenance of the sport cars..

---------- Post added at 12:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

but then.. from all of the sifussss comment, sounds like, i shld just go for lancer gt or civic fd2, is it???

Between the two you've just listed out, the Civic FD2 is a better choice. I think you can find a few FD2R for sale going for 130k to 150k in the ZTH buy/sell. That would be an awesome 1st car. But not knowing your age or preference, you may or may not find the suspension a little bit too hard for everyday use.

always never kena wan...waiting for u to encounter a ghost then ask for 4D...i share with u...:biggrin:

Cuz there is a reason why people say money don't fall from the sky and still there are people buying
and hoping the money fall from the sky ma :laugh:

I bought before also never strike just for fun RM1. :rofl:

Even if you got durian runtuh, I suggest you not to spend most of it just to buy old sports car. Spare some cash for emergency etc. I also don't know how much you earn and what other commitments you have but owning cars like those will be more expensive than regular cars. So you need to seriously think about that. You don't want later to drive fancy sports car but forced to be stinggy when taking out your girlfriends, right? :biggrin: Think about buying house first before buying cars cause cars will loose you money no matter what, while house can be an investment.

Another thing is how much knowledgable are you about cars. Like many had suggested, if you're very new to cars, probably not wise to own high performance cars which are already quite aging. Between Evo 7 & DC5, of course the DC5 will be easier to maintain as it has less things (no turbo, no active diff, no AYC like the Evo) but still it's quite old, mostly have been trashed around, needs high octane fuel, parts are more expensive than normal Hondas.

Then last but not least how good or how experienced are you to handle fast cars? DC5 might still be ok but Evos are damn fast even in std condition! Even people who already drive for a very long time might not dare to drive such fast cars, or probably can but just trundle around at low rpms/low speeds, but then what's the point of having fast cars? Unless just want to show off and look cool like msot rich people, then different story there. :biggrin:

So yeah, buying normal newer (<5yrs old) cars I think is better for people who are not experienced enough. Used FD2 (not FD2R) is a good choice, as it has decent performance in it's class, and got many options to improve further if got more money. Or maybe buy something more sporty like CRZ? Seems fun to drive, looks sporty if you like that kind of look, saves fuel, got many options to mod, got manual transmission some more, and should still be under warranty even if used cause still very new.

:biggrin: I very chill la. Btw there's a few things you can do to improve braking performance. Chat elsewhere.
Wah! away a few hours this topic 3 pages already....hot hot.....:biggrin:

Read your DIY brake improvement topic loh......:adore:

---------- Post added at 02:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:47 PM ----------

ya bro...for sale edi..check out marketplace - cars for sale.

Wah! weekend drive also sell ah?

---------- Post added at 02:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:48 PM ----------

Between the two you've just listed out, the Civic FD2 is a better choice. I think you can find a few FD2R for sale going for 130k to 150k in the ZTH buy/sell. That would be an awesome 1st car. But not knowing your age or preference, you may or may not find the suspension a little bit too hard for everyday use.

FD2 is nice car to have and drive.

Turbo, once tried, the oomph can be very poisonous..... :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 02:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:53 PM ----------

always never kena wan...waiting for u to encounter a ghost then ask for 4D...i share with u...:biggrin:

This weekend try staying in Amber court.....:rofl:

go for evo7 (turbo is totally different league with NA)

hmm.. let's mk it easy to count..
Before u throw this question, u should know the car's price..

• Monthly installment (RM1k or 1.5K maybe?) +
• Ron97 fuel Daily use (RM 600++) +
• 1 yr Insurance & Rd Tax (RM 200/mth) +
• Monthly maintenance (RM200 maybe?) +
• Emergency Fund - Kena hit & run/ thieft/ parts fail =Countless....

taa daa !!! pls deduct at least RM3000++ on ur monthly salary...
And this is only spend on vehicle...

Hope with my little agak-agak guessing will gv u some idea..
Oh.. happy modding .... (pls plus Extra $$ for Modding on ur monthly expences~~~)

correction bro. roadtax RM384. insurance about rm1.5 to rm2k =) if services. Engine Oil about RM140-rm200 , all gearbox oil (centre diff , rear diff + ayc up and ayc middle) about RM650. (diaqueen, motul) this sure u will spend if u change all oil. ayc oil very important =)

i'm surprised no one has mentioned security? ... or did i miss it?
These cars aren't exactly common on the road and for a daily, you'd better have some pretty secure parking.

my 8 is daily driven and although i'm not based in M'sia, i still cannot leave my car anywhere i like, suburbs and roads (cops and carjackers) which i avoid also it never sees the carpark of a shopping centre. Heck i've been toying with the idea of dewing'ing it and slapping on a GLi badge for shits and giggles. Basically, it only sees the road on weekdays and weekends if its a countryside drive.

Yes everytime i plant it i get a grin from ear to ear but i think the power is overrated. Probably coz mine's a stocker and thats how i like it. :rofl:

- 7's have the stronger 5sp gbox.
- Transfer case, clutch all needs to be taken into consideration when you dump it at 6k to get that fully sik launch.
- AYC problems can be hard to resolve unless you buy a new pump or recondition it. (plenty of guides on the net, time consuming job and the car is off the road unless you have a spare pump). people hide the issue by taping up the lights beneath the dials.
- air con compressor can be problematic. Again cheap fix guide available on internet
- recaro's in there aren't the best. Its essentially a "cheap" recaro. I've taken mine apart to repair it and i was NOT impressed.
- stock ecu is programmable to an extent. many have taken advantage of this. (evoscan)
- produces very good results if tuned on e85 (not sure if avail in malaysia?)
- underbody rust. particularly if the car comes from north of japan
- it is a 11 year old car for alotta money (m'sia landed costs for an evo)

just my 2c.