upgrading turbo

drill

hi..i am planning to upgrade my stock turbo to a bigger one...can i just dump the new one just like that or izzit a must for me to prepare for wastegate,bigger exhaust pipe(mine is still standard) etc etc....for the time being,i only had the injector change and dumping in a bigger turbo...well may be an afc will do later....but what about other things??plzz help...

Boss.. when you say to upgrade to bigger one.. do you mean those HKS GT type or just a larger one from the same family of turbos say TD04 to TD05..

If you go for large aftermarket Garrets or HKS yes, you'll prolly need pisang, external wastegate, bigger exhaust, fuel pump, intercooler, yadda yadda and the list goes on and on .

If you're just bolting on a larger unit from the same family, then, no need. Just make sure you get enuf fuelling and that EGT and A/F is ok with the new boost you planning to run. Most prolly you need to re-do your exhaust after the downpipe to accomodate the larger snail.

Good Luck :)

In fact, why don't you upgrade your exhaust first, and only do the snail later? Exhaust really makes a big difference on turbo cars.

Agreed ... cannot describe how happy it felt with the larger downpipe! :lol:

alucard how bigs ur pipe (<_< no dirty thoughts pls)...mines 2.5" (i said no dirty thoughts)

If you're just bolting on a larger unit from the same family, then, no need. Just make sure you get enuf fuelling and that EGT and A/F is ok with the new boost you planning to run. Most prolly you need to re-do your exhaust after the downpipe to accomodate the larger snail.

Good Luck

AlucarD, just want to know, let say I'm going for TD06 20G to replace my existing TD05H 16G, do you think it is neccessary to put a wastegate and the banana?

Need advise, thank you very much.

p/s: Sorry Drill to "tumpang" ur topic, hope you dun mind. Thanks

Dolly ah... Urm ... my pipe? U mean the bottom one? Ooohh, That one is huge leh .... :lol:

Anyway, my exhaust piping its 2.5inci but I have a larger/custom O2 sensor housing/downpipe.

Cypress, TD06 20G :o wahh, large snail man. Might lag a bit if you're on a puny 4G93 but dun think the ext manifold will fit without mod. You must be on 4G63. The TD06 should be internal wastegated. If you are happy with the existing set-up then no need banana n external wastegate. If you want more response and going for higher boost then by all means the banana and external wastegate is a good addition but not cheap.

Hey AlucarD, thanks for the reply.

Yup, I'm having a 4G63. Currently thinking of upgrading the snail. I got a few things in my mind.

- TD05H 16G to 18G
- TD05H 16G to 20G
- Ball bearing turbo

I just got a reply from Tong Turbo. According to them, it is possible to upgrade the turbine from the 16G to 20G using the TD05H housing. Estimated horse power produce would be around +/- 350bph.

So now, I would like to know what are the pro and cons if I'm going for the TD05H 18G/20G.

Thanks in advance.

i would think hybrid is a big no no unless u clipped the exhaust turbine wheel as well.......

if not engineered properly with boost of 1bar... i doubt the turbo will last longer than 3-5 months

those thinking of upgrading their turbines to bigger ones do let me know, I accept trade ins (td05 twin fin and above) for any purchase of brand new Garett units. As an indication new 20g only costs RM2650 (without trade in).

Originally posted by AlucarD@Oct 26 2004, 12:12
Boss.. when you say to upgrade to bigger one.. do you mean those HKS GT type or just a larger one from the same family of turbos say TD04 to TD05..

If you go for large aftermarket Garrets or HKS yes, you'll prolly need pisang, external wastegate, bigger exhaust, fuel pump, intercooler, yadda yadda and the list goes on and on .

Good Luck :)
ermm..i dunno what turbine am i using now....had never check it before..but fr what i heard..the factory fitted one(like mine) shud be garret t15...anyway..physically its smaller than a mira turbine....and going to dump in an rb20 turbine...izzit in the same family??

i am not going to do exhaust first becoz my turbo needs repair so i think might as well i jez upgrade it....so far...i think its ok for me as my fueling is rich reading thru afr..i know its not that accurate to compare with egt....

hmm what about the force pressure that feeds into my engine??wud it kacau the internal parts?

Cypress... OK ok .. lets take a step back and see wats your plan and target to upgrade your snail? Are you looking for top-end? Accleration perhaps? Or like drill, he just want to replace a kong turbo.. a hybird is ok. Getting it clipped is a good idea as you'll get better top end at expense of low rev.

Lots of 4G63 runs ok on a 20G.. shouldn't be a problem. Work with your tuner and not think about puting the largest turbine that you can find. He should be able to advise you to get the bestest result based on your target, budget, engine codition and type of mod necessary to fit in the larger turbine.

Drill.. if not mistaken the RB20 is on a T25 or T28? Should be ok gua. But its still quite big compared to your T15.. you might get some lag, but good top end lah. BTW, what car you driving?

Wah, Bro ... Danny you make my 'see fat' itchy leh!! I got a small 16G working fine. How muchie to upgrade to BIG 16G new?

Originally posted by cypress8@Oct 27 2004, 11:47
Hey AlucarD, thanks for the reply.

Yup, I'm having a 4G63. Currently thinking of upgrading the snail. I got a few things in my mind.

- TD05H 16G to 18G
- TD05H 16G to 20G
- Ball bearing turbo

I just got a reply from Tong Turbo. According to them, it is possible to upgrade the turbine from the 16G to 20G using the TD05H housing. Estimated horse power produce would be around +/- 350bph.

So now, I would like to know what are the pro and cons if I'm going for the TD05H 18G/20G.

Thanks in advance.
How much tong qoute the price..
last time he said less than RM1500.. 16G to 20G

Some of my friends said that thong not really using the 20G..
He using the 19C from TDO6 Diesel Engine..

there's no clarification here.. so don't wanna to trust both.

drill, if u want an rb20 turbine let me know, I have a spare one, don't mind charging you RM50 less than 2nd hand price coz it's just lying around.

AlucarD, your small 16 is from what car, vr4 rs, evo 1 or 2? Why u wanna upgrade to big 16g, when 18g is only RM400 difference? It uses the same housing as 16g but the turbine is bigger. Brand new price (without trade in) big 16g RM1900, 18g RM2300.

yup eterna2772...stock internal....y??will it be damage??

Alucard..check it..yup its t28....looks much bigger than my original one...give me a little chill thou...hehe...oh ya..my car...is a hyundai scoupe series 2,1993 model...aka known as LS GT series...
yeah i got to know earlier that i might face some lag...maybe a major one...(current boost come at 3k rpm)..may be its gonna be something like 4k -5k rpm...dunno yet ler...

erm danny...do u mean i can get fr u like around rm150??? sigh..anyway..my mech edi got it for me for rm180...hv a little look at it..it seems ok...no dent,no visible crack, or chipped fin....anyway...will be getting back my car probably on Sunday...cross fingers for now...

Bro Danny... my Small 16G twin fin is from the EVO. U mean the 18G has the same housing as the Small/Big 16G! Just a larger turbine? How about the compressor? Anyway, just toying with the idea of a larger turbo when its time for an upgrade.

U no lah, the TD05 is notorious with the cracked turbine housing near the wastegate flap and mine is no exception. ;)

Drill, you might get lag ... since its a T28 unless it has a BB core... B)