1JZ Turbo upgrade - Need Advise

SAO 6418

Jun 11, 2005
Dear all force induction sifu,

I wanna get some advise regarding the suitable turbo upgrade for 1J. I would like to have 350whp single turbo setup from tis motor wif daily street driven, izzit possible? My intention is to upgrade turbo, adj. fuel regulator, adj. cam pulley, 2J injector maybe, piggyback ecu like e-manage.

Base on tis, wat single turbo tat suitable to achieve 350whp @ 0.8/1.0 bar? i prefer those from factory not hybrid one. Pls advise. Thanks

alex5718

Jun 9, 2008
garrett gt35r for sure..visit turbo shop to get more opinion

jada_bloom

Jun 1, 2009
im sorry, i dont know about the housing sizes. :bawling:
those suggestions were based on my friends car...hehe...but most of them prefer the
t78-33d with HKS cams...they did 11 sec in quarter mile

dont know about the spool effect also...sorry again

SAO 6418

Jun 11, 2005
im sorry, i dont know about the housing sizes. :bawling:
those suggestions were based on my friends car...hehe...but most of them prefer the
t78-33d with HKS cams...they did 11 sec in quarter mile

dont know about the spool effect also...sorry again
i think, wif tis setup, idling will be high n quite difficult for street driving coz i saw 2J wif T76 (if not mistaken) along wif haltech, wah the idling quite high & need to play some throttle in-order for proper launching.
Ok, if 350 flywheel hp leh, how? wat turbo choice? In my mind, also come across tat if i put twin stock S15 BB turbo or twin stock E3 turbo n run together not sequential, i wonder wat will d achieve hp?????:stupid:

3rd GearPerformance House

Nov 5, 2008
I think this is not Extreme set up.Dont say haltech,microtech or motec cant control the good idle.We run T78 33D on the RB25 still good idling 900rpm and 1100rpm when onn the aircond the boost come in 4500rpm.Look what your tunner can do or not.:bawling:
i think, wif tis setup, idling will be high n quite difficult for street driving coz i saw 2J wif T76 (if not mistaken) along wif haltech, wah the idling quite high & need to play some throttle in-order for proper launching.
Ok, if 350 flywheel hp leh, how? wat turbo choice? In my mind, also come across tat if i put twin stock S15 BB turbo or twin stock E3 turbo n run together not sequential, i wonder wat will d achieve hp?????:stupid:

jada_bloom

Jun 1, 2009
mr sao, the idling is ok because its a street set up...and mostly are running on HKS Fcon V-Pro
well like mr 3rd gear performance said, it depends on the tuner too...happy modding n boosting
:driver:

alex5718

Jun 9, 2008
play throttle high cost hes using twin or triple plate clutch lerrr
i think hes asking for street mod la brothers..e-manage + gt35r boost 1.5 like tat sure got liao bro sao6418..t78 wil be lag for ur street mod..
greddy turbo is outdated turbo to me...heavier sub movement..outdated aerodynamic or turbine wheel..try garrett ball bearing turbo u wil know tat..

jada_bloom

Jun 1, 2009
i think hes asking for street mod la brothers..e-manage + gt35r boost 1.5 like tat sure got liao bro sao6418..t78 wil be lag for ur street mod..

i was telling mr sao about the street spec too....:biggrin::biggrin:

greddy turbo is outdated turbo to me...heavier sub movement..outdated aerodynamic or turbine wheel..
dont be bias....every turbo has its own unique performance n strength.:driver:

jinkl

May 22, 2004
lot of ppl take this wrongly

t76 = garrett
t78-33d = mitsubishi greddy turbo

T70: Inducer 2.720 (69.08mm) Exducer 3.850
T72: Inducer 2.840 (72.12mm) Exducer 4.030
T76: Inducer 3.020 (76.70mm) Exducer 4.030
T88: Inducer 3.460 (87.88mm) Exducer 4.600

Here are the dimensions for the Greddy (Mitsu) T78, T88 33D and T88 34D. The T78 and T88 33D use the same compressor but different turbine wheels and housings.

T78 33D: Inducer 2.598 (65.99mm) Exducer 3.543
T88 33D: Inducer 2.598 (65.99mm) Exducer 3.543
T88 34D: Inducer 2.744 (69.69mm) Exducer 3.740

u can see how much diffrence it has , the greddy T88 34D is still much smaller than the T70 garrett

hope it cleared some of the misinformation

renxun

Jul 4, 2006
i vote for the gt35.... streetable wid plenty of meet in it... turbine housing option is enough for differant application in your case. and you dont need e manage to 350whp on 1jz... been there and did it without it. a normal fuel controller, jdm 2j injectors, boost cut defencer.. kawtim

Anyone knows where to get Ferodo DS3000 brake pads in KL ?
I know where to get them in Singapore but don't want to travel so far la.
These are for AP Racing 6 pot calipers. Do let me know asap..